Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 13:03:27
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
I have 2 questions regarding this.
1. If the Land Raider moves can someone inside call down an orbital bombardment?
2. If the land raider has bo fire points regardless of wether it moved or not can someone inside call in orbital bombardment?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 13:17:03
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dominar
|
Orbital bombardment counts as firing a ranged weapon, which can be loosely taken to mean as follows the rules for shooting.
Since there's no firing points in a land raider, it can't be done.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 13:26:49
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
Okay and does the person calling it down need LOS to the point he's targeting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 13:43:25
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dominar
|
As there is no indirect fire allowance for OB, yes he still needs LOS.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 13:45:33
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
Thamkks that cleears some things up.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 14:07:15
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
If the model is in terminator armor it can move and call down an OB.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 14:17:31
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dominar
|
No, it cannot.
Orbital Bombardments specifically say that they cannot be used if the model moved prior to its shooting phase. The Terminator Relentless USR would not override this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 14:17:46
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
No it Cannot Green Blow Fly, the rules are quite clear on this. "This ability can be used once per game in his Shooting phase, providing that the Chapter Master did not move in the preceding Movement phase... Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as firing a ranged weapon" While it counts as a ranged weapon in other regards, it's own special rules are applied on top and they require that the chapter master is stationary, without making an allowance for terminator armour. This is because of the specific use of the word "otherwhise" which makes the prior rules override any normal shooting rules. sourclams wrote:As there is no indirect fire allowance for OB, yes he still needs LOS. The allowance is in the fact the OB is classed as a barrage weapon, which have rules in the core rule book allowing them to be used indirectly, In fact, because the orbital bombardment scatters 2d6 and ignores the chapter master's BS anyway, there is absolutely no penalty for using it on a unit that you cannot draw line of sight to since ignoring the users BS is the normal disadvantage.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/20 14:19:28
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 14:25:36
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dominar
|
Drunkspleen wrote:The allowance is in the fact the OB is classed as a barrage weapon, which have rules in the core rule book allowing them to be used indirectly, In fact, because the orbital bombardment scatters 2d6 and ignores the chapter master's BS anyway, there is absolutely no penalty for using it on a unit that you cannot draw line of sight to since ignoring the users BS is the normal disadvantage.
You're right, sir. My bad for not having the codex on hand while quoting rules from memory.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 16:03:29
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
So... It can or can't be used in a LR?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 16:06:49
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
Colorado
|
Cannot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 16:49:43
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
You don't need LOS as you can fire indirectly but you still need a Fire Point to use shooting weapons while embarked in a vehicle, even when LOS doesn't matter.
Land Raiders have no Fire Points so it can't be done.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 22:01:23
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
are you sure? I think the 5th ed core rules FAQ disagrees with this.
I think you CAN use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/20 23:17:23
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
frgsinwntr wrote:are you sure? I think the 5th ed core rules FAQ disagrees with this.
I think you CAN use it.
I can only assume you are basing this on the FAQ that states that psychic abilities that do not require line of sight can be used from a vehicle without fire points. Unfortunately, this is not a psychic ability, but is rather the act of shooting a weapon for all intents and purposes. Think of it like using a mortar, you couldn't fire a mortar from inside a tank with no fire points just because "it doesn't require line of sight" so the same applies to the Force Commander.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 00:52:54
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
frgsinwntr wrote:arf arf you sure? I think the 5th ed core rules FAQ disagrees with this.
I think you CAN use it.
I agree with you frg. I think more research is needed. I don't agree on the rules overriding relentess either... a WGBL with a heavy in TDA can move and shoot while the rule for heavy weapons forbids it.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 01:38:40
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
The ability states that he has to not have moved. That is why I believe it overrides Relentless.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 02:21:14
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Codex > Rulebook. So the codex rule "did not move" trumps the rulebook rule "relentless".
In the case of the WGBL, you have one rulebook rule (relentless) providing an exemption from another rulebook rule (heavy weapons). So this is not a comparison of like things.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/21 02:22:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 02:51:15
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This has nothing to do with Codex>rulebook.
Relentless is very specific, it *only* helps with Rapid Fire or Heavy weapons.
Orbital Bombardment is neither.....
Relentless has no effect.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 02:58:34
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
what is your basis for that interpretation? I am open to this.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 03:01:53
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
coredump wrote:This has nothing to do with Codex>rulebook.
Relentless is very specific, it *only* helps with Rapid Fire or Heavy weapons.
Orbital Bombardment is neither.....
Relentless has no effect.
Very true.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 03:32:19
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
OK from what i've gathered revolving the main questioons of this thread is that...
1. The tank may move so losg as the Chapter Master doesn't the bombardment may still be used.
2. Their must be fire points if it's done from a vehicle.
3. No LOS is needed.
Correct?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/21 03:50:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 03:43:58
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
What is the point of one, since if the vehicle moves the chapter master also counts as moving?
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 03:50:07
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
I'm clarifying that the vehicle can move but the chapter master can still use it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 04:10:44
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
No, he can not if the vehicle moves.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 10:35:53
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
yermom wrote:I'm clarifying that the vehicle can move but the chapter master can still use it.
No the core rules say, "Models firing from a vehicle count as moving if the vehicle moves" and since the Orbital Bombardment rules say that using it "counts as firing a ranged weapon" then the chapter master using the Orbital Bombardment from a moving vehicle would count as moving and be unable to use it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/21 13:36:39
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Somewhere in the confinds of central Jersey
|
Okay thank you for clearing that up aswell.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/22 14:24:23
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Why do you not need LOS for this power?
|
1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/22 15:32:48
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
yea... thats what I was thinking. I think you can use it from a LR that doesn't move. Albeit cheesy
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/22 15:34:57
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Someone told me you don't need LOS and I was to lazy to read the rules in the Codex but how can an IC target something that isn't in LOS. I'm talking total lose of LOS. Not on the other side of a building but you can still see the model through a window.
|
1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/22 16:00:26
Subject: Orbital bombardment from a land raider?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
From a fluff point of view there is no need for LOS.
G
|
|
|
 |
 |
|