Switch Theme:

Orbital bombardment from a land raider?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





frgsinwntr wrote:yea... thats what I was thinking. I think you can use it from a LR that doesn't move. Albeit cheesy

You can't fire any shooting weapon when embarked in a transport without a Fire Point, there are no rules for it. So even if you don't need LOS for your shooting weapon and it logically would seem possible it's not allowed by the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/23 09:50:41


In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Look at the DH and WH codices for precedence. They both have orbvital bombardment and neither require LOS.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




DH and WH orbital bombardments are not the same thing as the SM one. For one thing, the Inquisition's is a heavy support choice in its own right. It's not shot by any model on the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/23 14:59:17


 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

and the new SM one is better :p

 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

As has already been hashed out, SM OB counts as a barrage shooting weapon. To use a shooting attack while being transported in a vehicle you need:

1) LOS
2) A Fire Point

The Barrage rule exempts a model from needing LOS when shooting. It does not exempt a model from needing a Fire Point. Therefore, a model transported in a vehicle may not fire a barrage weapon if the vehicle lacks a fire point.

Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

I have heard of RAW. I have heard of RAI. But Rules as Fluff? RAF? Come on.

Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I'm going to make one statement. Fluff does not equal rules. So please no mentioning of fluff and rules. They are two different things.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




wyomingfox wrote:The Barrage rule exempts a model from needing LOS when shooting. It does not exempt a model from needing a Fire Point. Therefore, a model transported in a vehicle may not fire a barrage weapon if the vehicle lacks a fire point.


It strikes me as a bit silly, but it is the rules. I'd think anyone wanting to use this attack from a Land Raider had better do some talking with their opponent before the game. Perhaps an exchange of exceptions to things that seem silly can be worked out?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




wyomingfox wrote:I have heard of RAW. I have heard of RAI. But Rules as Fluff? RAF? Come on.
Heh, Fluff As Rules - that's a pretty FAR stretch.

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

MauleedlovesYakeface wrote:I'm going to make one statement. Fluff does not equal rules. So please no mentioning of fluff and rules. They are two different things.


Rules are often based upon fluff. Isn't that novel?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





What's novel is that rules are in the rules section and the fluff is in the beginning. They are not to be mixed together.

Let me tell you a story. Someone at the store said that they could jump on top of a building because they have leaping. I explained to them that buildings are vehicles in 5E. They didn't like the rule and wanted to roll a dice for a ruling on if he could do it. He said fluff allowed him to.

I explained to him that rules are rules and fluff is not roleable.

Are you saying that you want to role for a ruling on fluff GBF? Because if you are then why play a game with rules?

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




GBF just pointed out that some rules are there to support the fluff, not the other way around. Marines have ATSKNF now because stories have portrayed them that way. They're the knightly defenders of humanity because the fluff likes it. In Rogue Trader marines were criminals deemed too useful to execute, brainwashed and cyber-enhanced to serve in the army until death.
   
Made in us
Dominar






Where do you draw the line, then? If you can ignore a land raider's absence of firing points to drop an orbital bombardment via fluff, I should be able to give all my tactical marines chainswords in addition to their normal equipment because of fluff.
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions




Lost Carcosa

Janthkin wrote:
Marius Xerxes wrote:Sadly, Fluff is nice.. but shouldnt be used as a basis for rules interpretation beyond whats written within the rule itself.

If Psychic Shooting Attacks from Eldar that require no LOS (IIRC they have some? Could be wrong..I dont have the Codex at work) have been accecpted as being able to fire from a Falcon with no fire points, where is the precident to say that a Special Rule (Orbital Bombardment) cannot also be used from inside a vehicle with no fire points, as it also requires no LOS.

Both follow all the rules for shooting if IIRC (except needing LOS) so why allow one but not the other if no LOS is the only exception given to the normal rules for shooting?


Beware the man of straw!

The Eldar FAQ does not exempt any of the Eldar "shooting" psychic powers from needing a fire point; the shooting powers include Destructor, Mind War, and Eldritch Storm.

The main rulebook FAQ allows NON-psychic shooting attack powers to be used from inside a vehicle:
FAQ wrote:
Q. Can a model use a psychic power that is not a Psychic Shooting Attack if it is embarked in a transport vehicle?

A. Yes. If the power requires line of sight, this is still worked out from the vehicle’s fire points (this will count as one model shooting through that fire point if the power is used in the
Shooting phase).

If the psychic power does not require line of sight and has a range or an area of effect that is normally measured from the model using it, these are measured from the vehicle’s hull, as explained in the Embarking section on page 66.


Not a straw man arguement when my position is openly in my post said with the rules of other areas not fully remembered due to the Codeci not being at my work. Obviously I didnt recall properly, which knowing that now I dont claim anything i said as ground to stand on. Figure you can go a better route about this rather then linking to a wikipedia page about what a straw man argument is.

I agree that between FAQ and main rules, with no other precident saying otherwise, you cannot use it from inside any transport vehicle that doesnt have fire points or isnt open topped.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/24 03:55:46


Standing in the light, I see only darkness.  
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

People play that genestealers can use preferred enemy against any race because one sentence embedded in the rules has been classified as fluff.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I was wrong about this rule. As has been pointed OB is clearly defined as an attack that counts as a ranged weapon and there is no getting around that. I do think however that a chapter master not embarked in a vehicle with no fire points but wearing a suit of tactical dreadnaught armor or mounted on a bike can move an call down an OB. If my opponent was against this interpretation I would concede the point.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






GW is against your interpretation GBF, but I suppose there's nothing wrong with an agreement between players, especially since you seem to concede that yours is the less supported stance.

What I would like to touch on is your comment about Genestealers, I don't see why the fluff would suggest genestealers wouldn't be preferred enemy against any race with feeder tendrils, or atleast, they would have preferred enemy against the enemy they are fighting (and tasting) at any given time.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in de
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator





Green Blow Fly wrote:From a fluff point of view there is no need for LOS.


Maybe so, but hes still not going to get any signal on his mobile phone inside the tank so he'll have to go outside to call the Strike Crusier...

More seriously, calling an OB counts as firing a weapon. You cannot fire a weapon from inside a vehicle with no firepoints. Ergo you cannot call an OB while inside a vehicle with no firepoints. Unless you have any evidence to the contary then I don't think your argument is going anywhere.

I do think however that a chapter master not embarked in a vehicle with no fire points but wearing a suit of tactical dreadnaught armor or mounted on a bike can move an call down an OB.


You're more than welcome to play games by any house rule you and your opponent agree to. But thats not what it says in the book, Relentless is very specifc in what bonus it provides, and none of them include orbital bombardments.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/24 02:46:30



If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Green Blow Fly wrote:I was wrong about this rule. As has been pointed OB is clearly defined as an attack that counts as a ranged weapon and there is no getting around that. I do think however that a chapter master not embarked in a vehicle with no fire points but wearing a suit of tactical dreadnaught armor or mounted on a bike can move an call down an OB. If my opponent was against this interpretation I would concede the point.

G



I agree there is absolutely no wiggle room on relentless vs. Orbital Bombardment.

Orbital Bombardmen is not listed as a heavy weapon in its characteristics and the Relentless special rule specifically says that the model counts as being stationary when firing rapid fire and heavy weapons, not any kind of weapon.

So as it stands, the rules are very clear: The model has to actually remain stationary in the movement phase in order to call down an orbital bombardment.





I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Why does everyone keep saying that you need LOS?! It is a *Barrage* weapon, you don't need line of site!

However, if you want to fire *any* shooting weapon from *inside* a transport you *need* a fire point. The LR has none, so therefore, even though you don't need LOS, you still can *not* fire OB from inside a LR!

If you are outside a LR (and assuming you didn't move) you can fire any where on the table w/out LOS.


The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
 
   
Made in ca
Charging Wild Rider





Canada

Kk here is how it works.

You may not fire a orb out of a land raider as it has no firing points so he may not shoot out of the vehicle. *hate to hate but green blow shut up, fluff has no precedence over rules regardless of what you think, the rules are the rules, either play with them or not at all.*

It is an orb barrage so you can fire it without line of sight. The rule stats that if you do you cannot use your bs to fix the shot, he cant anyways so it doesn't matter.

Line of sight is from the mid of the template.

If the vehicle he is moving in moves he cannot fire it as he counted as moving.

He may not fire any other weapons that turn but he may assault.

End of discussion those are the rules as printed.

(in hindsight Everything has already being said, gbf just annoys me because he keeps trying to work around obvious rules so he gets what he wants.)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/12/24 10:01:44


Never say die! Never surrender!

LunaHound wrote:Woo thats a good looking Pedo

DA:80S++G++M++B+I++Pw40k95#+D+A++/swd100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Golgo did you read what I said in my last post? You come across as quite pretentious when you post at times.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Green Blow Fly wrote:I was wrong about this rule. As has been pointed OB is clearly defined as an attack that counts as a ranged weapon and there is no getting around that. I do think however that a chapter master not embarked in a vehicle with no fire points but wearing a suit of tactical dreadnaught armor or mounted on a bike can move an call down an OB. If my opponent was against this interpretation I would concede the point.

G


So you are saying you'd cheat unless someone called you on it?

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Green Blow Fly wrote:Golgo did you read what I said in my last post? You come across as quite pretentious when you post at times.

G

I nearly spit coffee out of my nose reading this.......

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

MauleedlovesYakeface wrote:
Green Blow Fly wrote:I was wrong about this rule. As has been pointed OB is clearly defined as an attack that counts as a ranged weapon and there is no getting around that. I do think however that a chapter master not embarked in a vehicle with no fire points but wearing a suit of tactical dreadnaught armor or mounted on a bike can move an call down an OB. If my opponent was against this interpretation I would concede the point.

G


So you are saying you'd cheat unless someone called you on it?


You are so funny!

Anyways our fearless leader cleared this one up... OB does not count as a heavy weapon so no move and shoot unfortunately.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ph
Frenzied Juggernaut






Not that it mattered in most cases in gw.

qwekel wants to get bigger, please click on him and level him up.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Groovy avatar there.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el




All over the U.S.

And even if he was firing. Barrages DON'T "need" LOS. Don't know which rulebook your reading. The rules says, Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwise "counts as"(The dreade words)a ranged weapon.
And due to very poor sentence structure it leaves a certian level of ambiguity.

This needs a FAQ

Officially elevated by St. God of Yams to the rank of Scholar of the Church of the Children of the Eternal Turtle Pie at 11:42:36 PM 05/01/09

If they are too stupid to live, why make them?

In the immortal words of Socrates, I drank what??!

Tau-*****points(You really don't want to know)  
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

It doesn't need a damn FAQ!

What part of not being allowed to fire from the inside of a vehicle that doesn't have a Fire Point do you not understand?

You don't NEED LOS.

You DO NEED a Fire Point.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Until I read the rules last night I was ignoring the part about counts as a ranged weapon. I think it is open to debate but the conservative approach is to use LOS until it has been FAQd.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: