| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/12 02:41:06
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
for guard
when it says you cant combine certain objectives,
would that mean that i cant use drop troops on one unit of infantry and warrior weapons on another?
for example, my close combat squad will be given warrior weapons for 9 of the models...
another unit, with melta guns in hand, wants to deep strike, an no models in this unit will use the warrior weapons ability...
is this legal?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/12 02:46:53
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Please read the third paragraph under the heading 'Special Equipment' on page 57 of Codex Imperial Guard. I believe it should answer your question.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/12 02:47:37
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/12 02:54:50
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
krusty wrote:for guard
when it says you cant combine certain objectives,
would that mean that i cant use drop troops on one unit of infantry and warrior weapons on another?
It would mean exactly that, since:
"If this Doctrine is taken then each special piece of equipment must be applied to every available model..." IG Codex, pg. 57.
So you MUST give any model normally armed with a lasgun without access to the Armory Warrior Weapons, which means that any unit that has lasguns as its basic weaponry can never take Drop Troops as they have no choice to not take warrior weapons according to the rules for Special Equipment Doctrine.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/12 03:48:47
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Also, I wouldn't get too attached to Warrior Weapons, I doubt it will make the transition in May.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/12 04:27:39
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
*Lurk Mode - Off*
In a month and a half none of this matters anyway, but Ghaz is right. The Codex gives you the answer to your question in plain English.
*Lurk Mode - On*
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/13 00:49:41
Subject: "Doctrine X cannot be used with Doctrine Y..."
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Platuan4th wrote:krusty wrote:for guard
when it says you cant combine certain objectives,
would that mean that i cant use drop troops on one unit of infantry and warrior weapons on another?
It would mean exactly that, since:
"If this Doctrine is taken then each special piece of equipment must be applied to every available model..." IG Codex, pg. 57.
So you MUST give any model normally armed with a lasgun without access to the Armory Warrior Weapons, which means that any unit that has lasguns as its basic weaponry can never take Drop Troops as they have no choice to not take warrior weapons according to the rules for Special Equipment Doctrine.
Course, you're forgetting that a unit of say... Hardened vets can start with zero models armed with lasguns. And that you get to add the special/heavies before figuring how many WW to pay for. However, it is truly a moot point. May not be selected with Drop Troops, etc, means just that. If you use Warrior Weapons in your army, you're not allowed to use Drop Troops. Doesn't matter if you did or didn't buy WW for a particular squad, you cannot have those two doctrines in the same army.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|