Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 00:36:33
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Same as above. Can you? Technically, I'd think you can.
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 00:39:04
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
What do you mean? As in move 2D6? If so then no, you cannot. Waaagh! gives Fleet and that is it. It does NOT grant any extra Dice of Movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/10 00:39:38
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 00:54:30
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
No, meaning I declare a run with my units of Ork Boyz separately from the WAAGH!
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 00:56:21
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Cryonicleech wrote:No, meaning I declare a run with my units of Ork Boyz separately from the WAAGH!
Well yes... but what benefit would it do? The waaagh doesn't give extra movement, it just lets you assault after running.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:05:51
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
WAAAAAAAAAAGH! Only gives you Fleet of Foot. And Fleet of foot lets you charge AFTER running.
Now I do see what your trying to say here.
Sense the codex says you declare it during your shooting phase. So what you want to do is run all your boyz, then declare the waaaagh, thus eliminating the risk of that 1 roll wound.
But Id say thats kinda un-orky to be honest.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:09:09
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
combatmedic wrote:WAAAAAAAAAAGH! Only gives you Fleet of Foot. And Fleet of foot lets you charge AFTER running.
Now I do see what your trying to say here.
Sense the codex says you declare it during your shooting phase. So what you want to do is run all your boyz, then declare the waaaagh, thus eliminating the risk of that 1 roll wound.
But Id say thats kinda un-orky to be honest.
Un orky but totaly legal. The INAT FAQ forbids it though, so if you're playiung by that FAQ you can't do it.
Coincidently Ghazguls Waaagh! Doesn't automatically let you move 6 either, but that can be house ruled if you really hate Playing Warhammer 40,000.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:15:11
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As Gwar is saying...
Waagh gives Fleet
Waagh does not provide movement
Fleet does not provide movement.
Only Run provides movement (in this context)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:18:13
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
coredump wrote:As Gwar is saying...
Waagh gives Fleet
Waagh does not provide movement
Fleet does not provide movement.
Only Run provides movement (in this context)
In Fact RaW there is no Waaagh! movement anymore at all, so you can declare the Waaagh! and run 1" just fine. There is no way to actually suffer any wounds, according to Da Roolz.
Now, RaI in this case has to be extrapolated from how the rule worked in 4th edition. If that's how you wanna play, play it, but do not be annoyed if someone wants to play the actual rule.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:39:55
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Never mind. I think Gwar! is right in that I cannot move 2D6. What I'm saying is can I WAAGH AND run (meaning, in essence, 2D6 inches)
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 01:41:19
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Cryonicleech wrote:Never mind. I think Gwar! is right in that I cannot move 2D6. What I'm saying is can I WAAGH AND run (meaning, in essence, 2D6 inches)
No need to think I am right
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 02:08:54
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Cryonicleech wrote:Never mind. I think Gwar! is right in that I cannot move 2D6. What I'm saying is can I WAAGH AND run (meaning, in essence, 2D6 inches)
No. Waaagh! just gives you fleet. fleet units can't run any more than regular units, they just get to assault after running.
However, there really never was any such thing as a "waaagh movement," it was always just a fleet movement. In 4th ed, waaagh gave FOF just like it does now, the difference is that back then you could not run unless you had fleet. But the codex defines(sort of) a waaagh movement as any movement made after you've declared the waaagh! (it explains how to use Waaagh! and then says If a unit rolls a 1 while making this waaagh movement...) So I would say that Ghaz's ability still works, but the whole thing is poorly worded for the change in addition, which is a bit disappointing since other bits in the codex were clearly written with 5e in mind.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 02:20:49
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Gwar! wrote:Cryonicleech wrote:Never mind. I think Gwar! is right in that I cannot move 2D6. What I'm saying is can I WAAGH AND run (meaning, in essence, 2D6 inches)
No need to think I am right 
If I said you were right, I might get in your sig......
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 02:40:18
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
Cryonicleech wrote:Same as above. Can you? Technically, I'd think you can.
|
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 03:20:22
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
No you cannot.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 05:53:41
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
The Eye of Terror
|
You're an ork player.
You can do anything so long as you really believe you can.
In all seriousness, no.
Waagh gives you the fleet of foot rule.
Which allows you to run and then assault.
Meaning you could
a.) move 6"
b.) Run 1d6"
c.) Waagh
d.) assault 6"
Instead of:
a.) Move 6"
b.) run 1d6"
c.) twiddle your thumbs and wait until you get shot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 19:04:17
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Gwar! wrote:
Coincidently Ghazguls Waaagh! Doesn't automatically let you move 6 either, but that can be house ruled if you really hate Playing Warhammer 40,000.
Huh?
For the duration of the Waaugh! all Ork infantry units automatically count as rolling a 6 for the Waaaugh! movement they wish to make.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 19:08:52
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dashofpepper wrote:Gwar! wrote:
Coincidently Ghazguls Waaagh! Doesn't automatically let you move 6 either, but that can be house ruled if you really hate Playing Warhammer 40,000.
Huh?
For the duration of the Waaugh! all Ork infantry units automatically count as rolling a 6 for the Waaaugh! movement they wish to make.
Show me in the rulebook or the Ork Codex where it details what the Waaagh! movement is.
Nowhere. Waaagh! does not say you get to auto-6 to running does it?
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 20:37:44
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
Gwar! wrote:Dashofpepper wrote:Gwar! wrote:
Coincidently Ghazguls Waaagh! Doesn't automatically let you move 6 either, but that can be house ruled if you really hate Playing Warhammer 40,000.
Huh?
For the duration of the Waaugh! all Ork infantry units automatically count as rolling a 6 for the Waaaugh! movement they wish to make.
Show me in the rulebook or the Ork Codex where it details what the Waaagh! movement is.
Nowhere. Waaagh! does not say you get to auto-6 to running does it?
p. 31 The remainder of this post deleted by the Modquisition as violated Rule #1: be polite.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/10 20:43:40
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 20:40:16
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
olympia wrote:p. 31 The remainder of this post deleted by the Modquisition as violated Rule #1: be polite.
Errrm... what? Page 31 details the Waaagh! Rules. The Waaagh! Rules say you get fleet. The Waaagh! rules do NOT say that running = Waaaagh! Movement.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/10 20:48:12
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:12:52
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Actually, Gwar is wrong this time.
P31 of the Ork codex specifically refers to the Waaaugh! movement as the movement you make while using fleet-of-foot during the shooting phase.
Under Ghazghkull's rule, he specifically grants an automatic 6 to the previously noted movement.
What movement do you make during the shooting phase? The only one I'm aware of is running. Is there a possible other one? If not, then we have a clear answer: The Waaugh! affects the movement you make during the shooting phase, which is running. Calling it moving instead of running doesn't make it not running, because they're referring to the same thing.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:16:15
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dashofpepper wrote:P31 of the Ork codex specifically refers to the Waaaugh! movement as the movement you make while using fleet-of-foot during the shooting phase.
I'll stop you there.
Fleet does not give you any movement in the Shooting Phase anymore.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:26:43
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
Olympus Mons
|
Interestingly, you can't use Fleet of Foot during the shooting phase. It's an assault phase special rule now.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/10 21:28:49
2500 1000
Mechanicum Fleet 2000 1000
2000? (Almost all 2nd ed.)
I think that about covers it. For now. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:28:37
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Fleet of Foot does not exist anymore. You can't add an automatic 6" to something that doesn't exist anymore.
If Ghaz's rule said add an auto 6" to Run then you would have an auto 6".
In 5th Edition Fleet only allows you to assault after running.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/10 21:29:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:29:54
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Brother Ramses wrote:Fleet of Foot does not exist anymore. You can't add and automatic 6" to something that doesn't exist anymore.
If Ghaz's rule said add an auto 6" to Run then you would have an auto 6".
In 5th Edition Fleet only allows you to assault after running.
Yup, and because GW have not errata'd it to say it means run, it doesn't.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:37:32
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I think this is one of the few times were id take rules as intended over rules as written, the only other situation I have were i'd take that is with Blood Angel Rhinos.
|
P.M. me for rational Eldar Advice, both on list construction or Tactics.
Also feel free to query me about rules from the Eldar and Space Marine codices, as well as the General Rule book.
Mech Eldar army of the Craftworld Din Cassian currently at 17-6-7.
The Cat in my Avatar is my Cat. He's called Taz and he's just over ten months old. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:53:46
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Okies, I didn't write that well, but Gwar is still wrong. =p
Declaring a Waaugh! during the shooting phase grants fleet of foot to the Ork army. The codex refers to movements made during the Waaugh! as the Waaugh! movement. If you run during a Waaugh!, that's the Waaugh! movement...there is no special "Waaaugh! movement" that could be something other than running.
Ghazghkull takes the movement you make during your Waaaugh! and makes it an auto-six. Again, there's no special movement that requires a D6, that's your run. I think you have to extrapolate *really* hard to come up with the idea that running during the shooting phase during a Waaaaugh! isn't the Waaaugh! movement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 21:54:34
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dashofpepper wrote:Okies, I didn't write that well, but Gwar is still wrong. =p
Declaring a Waaugh! during the shooting phase grants fleet of foot to the Ork army. The codex refers to movements made during the Waaugh! as the Waaugh! movement. If you run during a Waaugh!, that's the Waaugh! movement...there is no special "Waaaugh! movement" that could be something other than running.
Ghazghkull takes the movement you make during your Waaaugh! and makes it an auto-six. Again, there's no special movement that requires a D6, that's your run. I think you have to extrapolate *really* hard to come up with the idea that running during the shooting phase during a Waaaaugh! isn't the Waaaugh! movement.
Considering you can run and then waaaagh!, its pretty clear running is NOT the Waaagh! movement.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 22:00:58
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Yes, you can run and then Waaaugh.
However, they are not mutually exclusive. The Waaaugh! movement is inclusive of movements made after declaring the Waaaugh! up to the end of your turn.
If you declare a Waaaugh! and then run, then running is your Waaaugh! movement. If you run and then declare a Waaaugh!, then running is obviously NOT part of your Waaaugh! movement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 22:02:33
Subject: Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
So are you claiming that Ghazgul jets you roll a 6 for Difficult Terrain tests?
Not only is that ridiculous, it is not what the Rules Say.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/10 22:09:38
Subject: Re:Can you Run and WAAGH! at the same turn?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Gwar, I like you and you *are* usually right, but that made no sense. :(
Ghazghkull jets? Assault infantry? I'm confused.
As for Difficult terrain tests, you don't make difficult terrain tests when you run. You roll a D6 and that's how far you go. If you declare a Waaugh! before running, then running is your Waaaugh! movement, in which case Ghazghkull's special powers let you auto-roll a six for that run.
Where does difficult terrain come into it? Dangerous terrain is another story of course, but....
|
|
|
 |
 |
|