Switch Theme:

Scattering melta blast question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

If a devildog fires its melta-cannon at a target outside melta range, and the template deviates onto a target within melta range, does the melta get the extra D6?

   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Biloxi, MS USA

Dashofpepper wrote:If a devildog fires its melta-cannon at a target outside melta range, and the template deviates onto a target within melta range, does the melta get the extra D6?


Congratulations, you found the best example of GW not knowing how to write rules. The Melta-cannon as written within the current rule set is next to useless, as there are no rules in any book that explain how to deal with Melta in conjunction with Blast.

There are two interpretations I've seen:

1. The distance to original target is what matters.

2. The distance of the end result for the blast is what matters.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/07 23:08:22


You know you're really doing something when you can make strangers hate you over the Internet. - Mauleed
Just remember folks. Panic. Panic all the time. It's the only way to survive, other than just being mindful, of course-but geez, that's so friggin' boring. - Aegis Grimm
Hallowed is the All Pie
The Before Times: A Place That Celebrates The World That Was 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Actually, RaW (As proven by Yakface) is that so long as the Distance between Gun and Tank is Half range, it gets the melta, regardless of where the blast lands, as the blast and melta rules DO NOT interact.

There was a lovely thread about it not too long ago.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/07 23:11:14


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







Gwar! wrote:Actually, RaW (As proven by Yakface) is that so long as the Distance between Gun and Tank is Half range, it gets the melta, regardless of where the blast lands, as the blast and melta rules DO NOT interact.

There was a lovely thread about it not too long ago.

I recall that thread.

this gets my stamp of approval.

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

I second that stamp of approval. Blast determines what got hit, not where. Once you know what got hit, you can determine if it is in half range for Melta rules.

   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Actually, RaW (As proven by Yakface) is that so long as the Distance between Gun and Tank is Half range, it gets the melta, regardless of where the blast lands, as the blast and melta rules DO NOT interact.


This only makes sense to me as when the blast was initially placed the shot was indeed melta, so the round has already been fired as melta, where it scatters to is irrelevant as to whether it gets the melta or not because the melta was already fired. Maybe i am wrong but logically that seems to make sense to me.

Necrons 2000+
Space Wolves 2,000+  
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

mrwittwer wrote:
Actually, RaW (As proven by Yakface) is that so long as the Distance between Gun and Tank is Half range, it gets the melta, regardless of where the blast lands, as the blast and melta rules DO NOT interact.


This only makes sense to me as when the blast was initially placed the shot was indeed melta, so the round has already been fired as melta, where it scatters to is irrelevant as to whether it gets the melta or not because the melta was already fired. Maybe i am wrong but logically that seems to make sense to me.


I think you are going down the wrong path with it. You declare target, measure range, then determine what got hit. Standard firing sequence. The what will be determined by the final location of the blast template. If the template center hole is on tank A, you have hit tank A with a direct shot, resolve a full strength against the front armor value. You may measure to the closest point of the hull of tank A that you hit to determine range for the purposes of melta.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/08 06:24:46


   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Makes sense.

Necrons 2000+
Space Wolves 2,000+  
   
Made in au
Morphing Obliterator





rAdelaide

Ok, the pseudo technical reason for the extra d6 is that the melta (a heat ray) is much more dangerous (ie hotter), in the first half, after which, it cools, but is still dangerous.

Now, the fact that someone cant aim properly doesnt reduce the distance that the beam/blast actually travels before it hits (presuming it fires in a straight line - no 'magic bullets' JFK style).

So measure from gun to centre of where the blast hits, not where it is aimed.

This can be very nasty, if firing at something that is so close that the blast scatters back onto you... (more likely in nightfighting).
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





Florida

darkkt wrote:So measure from gun to centre of where the blast hits, not where it is aimed.


This is not correct. Blast rules are about determining what is hit. What is hit is determined by the final resting place of the template. Once you know what is hit, you can remove the template.

If you hit a tank, you may measure to the closest point of its hull to you. Where on the tank the center marker of the blast sat is completely irrelevant; a hit is a hit. Use the appropriate rules for measuring to a target you have hit as necessary.

   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Kaaihn wrote:
darkkt wrote:So measure from gun to centre of where the blast hits, not where it is aimed.


This is not correct. Blast rules are about determining what is hit. What is hit is determined by the final resting place of the template. Once you know what is hit, you can remove the template.

If you hit a tank, you may measure to the closest point of its hull to you. Where on the tank the center marker of the blast sat is completely irrelevant; a hit is a hit. Use the appropriate rules for measuring to a target you have hit as necessary.


This.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: