Switch Theme:

Doom Diver question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in br
Fresh-Faced New User




I played against a O&G Player and he used the base of the "goblin with wings" mini as a "blast marker" for his Doom Diver, usualy hitting 2 formations with only 1 shot.

As I understand the rule, the Doom Diver shot hits only a point in the battlefield. If that point hits 1 model, the unit he is in takes damage. The base of the Goblin in not used at all.

What is the right interpretation?

Thanks

Fabio
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Sorry Fabio, your mate is correct.

The rules for the doom diver state that, if the Goblin hits a model from that unit the unit takes D6 hits. Nothing states that only one model can be hit, or only one unit is affected.
   
Made in us
Snotty Snotling




Except for the fact that you don't actually use the guy with the base marker as a mini-blast template. It's simply a straight up measure from the war machine and a d3 adjustment.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Thats weird, it specifically states THE GOBLIN when talking about how you move and measure, and determine what is touching what.

Do you have any rules to back up your opinion?
   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

I've never seen the goblin used as a mini template. I think the 'Goblin' in the text is more fluff than rules.

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ah, you think it is but nothing actually states so.

You are told to use the model, so you use the model.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

You're not told to use the model. Does the book at any point say anything like, "Place the Goblin with wings model on the point marked and any units covered by the Goblin take hits"? I don't think so.

In the case of the Doom Diver, you're only hitting a point, which can only be on a maximum of one unit.

But the question begs: Why are your units so close together in the first place?

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




What part of "If the Goblin hits an enemy model" do you think means you don't use the model?

Seriously, it's in the rules. The Goblin hits a model. Who is "The Goblin" in the sentence about "Goblin Doomdiver"? Let's think....:rolleyes:
   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

That's like saying the cannonball or bolt from a bolt thrower is in the rules so there needs to be a model for it. Same wording, "If the rank hit by the bolt..."

fspicinin- your interpretation is correct.

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in br
Fresh-Faced New User




Manfred von Drakken wrote:

But the question begs: Why are your units so close together in the first place?


Well ... I had 4 blocks of infantry and the table was not the official lenght size. It was keep that close or spend 3 rounds manuvering arround a Tower.

I belived my interpretation was right, but the wording of the rule and the fact the doom diver came with the goblin mini does not help my point in the middle of a game.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except there IS a model for the Goblin Doom Diver, and the rules tell you to use it.

For cannonballs and bolts you are told they generate a line / point.
   
Made in us
Raging Rat Ogre




Off Exhibit

Throwing my vote in Bat and Manfred.

Question, how do you think they have worded the entry if our interpretation is correct?

'Give me a fragging hand, Kage. Silence the fragging woman, Kage. Fragging eat the brains, Kage'

OT Zone - a more wretched hive of scum and villainy .
 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Ultramarine Tactical Marine






They are referring to the goblin being launched not the model with wings.That model was to make the new doom diver more attaractive to modelers.

Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam. Last seen at most tournements. 
   
Made in us
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms






Chino Hills, CA

Well, if we're using Stone Thrower Rules, then you pick a specific area. Since it states "No Templates", I'm pretty sure that you can't hit two units.

And for your "The Goblin is used" point, you generate a point for a stone thrower, and the Doom Diver states we are using Stone Thrower Rules. The model is purely decorative.

Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+

WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW

 
   
Made in ca
Serious Squig Herder






The Doom Diver entry states

"No template is used with the Doom Diver"

He hits the unit then he causes D6 hits.

blarg 
   
Made in ca
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God





Inactive


I agree with batmanuel , cryonicleech , and OP

especially agree on the bolt thrower cannon ball , stone thrower example.

Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
           ◂◂  ►  ▐ ▌  ◼  ▸▸
          ʳʷ   ᵖˡᵃʸ  ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ  ˢᵗᵒᵖ   ᶠᶠ 
   
Made in us
Snotty Snotling



Salt lake city UT

The doomdiver is you pick a point on the battle field in range and los. Then roll the scatter dice as stonethrower rulls then the the doomdiver can roll a d3 or d6 (cant remember..) to ajust the point where he lands in anyway he wants.
   
Made in us
Raging Rat Ogre




Off Exhibit

That really doesn't address the issue here, orcplayer.

'Give me a fragging hand, Kage. Silence the fragging woman, Kage. Fragging eat the brains, Kage'

OT Zone - a more wretched hive of scum and villainy .
 
   
Made in us
Enigmatic Sorcerer of Chaos





Buena Park, CA

Had to pull out the O&G codex for this one, Im going to have to agree with the one hit only... It says dont use a template but it also doesnt say use the goblin. In the stone thrower rules the template is used do to shrapnel... I see no shrapnel comming from the goblin tis the reason you dont use the template(maybe a few limbs but i see no injuries here). This is why you cant hit multiple units... Its a single point. So agreed that the model is decorative.
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

nosferatu1001 wrote:What part of "If the Goblin hits an enemy model" do you think means you don't use the model?

Seriously, it's in the rules. The Goblin hits a model. Who is "The Goblin" in the sentence about "Goblin Doomdiver"? Let's think....:rolleyes:


Belligerent failure win!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Well, it does say to use the goblin...which isn't a template....
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Way I interpret the Doom Diver is:

Whatever point the goblin hits (not template, point) is where the shot's resolved. If it hits a unit, that unit takes the hits. If it hits nothing and the D3 modifier doesn't work, or it just hits nothing in general, no dice.
   
Made in jp
Average Orc Boy





Kona, HI

The Goblin model with the wings is a hold over from a previous edition. It is not used anymore.

"They just told me to wing it and that it would be cool, but obviously it is not"
"You can't have everything is! Nothing isn't!"
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

whitestagg wrote:The Goblin model with the wings is a hold over from a previous edition. It is not used anymore.

The previous edition used the model? I thought it was just decorative. Though, I really do like the model.

 
   
Made in jp
Average Orc Boy





Kona, HI

No, in the previous edition he could tool around a bit on the board moving in subsequent turns. He got 'simplified' just like squig bomb.

"They just told me to wing it and that it would be cool, but obviously it is not"
"You can't have everything is! Nothing isn't!"
 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

I cannot believe this has become so complicated. I'm an orc players here's how myself and 3 other orc players use the doom diver.

-we fire it like a stone thrower
-we pick 1 point, we do not even use the model, then we scatter like a stone thrower
-it drifts, hits a unit does d6 vs 1 units
-the model is for visual purposes, if you want to play the "it says goblin model" then that gobo model should be on a 20 mm base not the flying stand. Go ahead and try to hit 2 units with that when units usually are supposed to be an inch apart.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Erm, wrong: Only enemy units have to be 1" apart [from your friendly units], friendly units can be in base to base if you want.
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

still, on your gobo issue, feel free to stick him on a 20mm base. if at that point if you hit 2 of my units, i'd let you claim it.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you base all models on the bases they are supplied with. To do otherwise is breaking the rules.
   
Made in jp
Average Orc Boy





Kona, HI

This discussion is awesome, with the flying base and no minimum distance between friendly units you could hit 4+ units, depending on what you use. "So that is D6 hits to your Chaos Warriors, Marauders, dragon ogres and two units of spawn. Earned his points back!" hahaha

"They just told me to wing it and that it would be cool, but obviously it is not"
"You can't have everything is! Nothing isn't!"
 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: