Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/04 19:31:20
Subject: Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
In a game yesterday my Chaos versus a friends Eldar, we had three questions arise:
1. Can a Eldar Fire Prism link with another Fire Prism if it is shaken, stunned, or weapon destroyed?
The rules state that a Fire Prism can "forfeit their chance to fire" in order to link. In the above case the vehicle has no chance to fire. But hypothetically they always have a "chance" to fire in each shooting phase. RAW seems to loosely allow this.
2. Does the Wave Serprent's energy field stop ordinance weapons from rolling 2d6 and picking the highest?
When the Eldar codex came out I believe that Ordinance weapons added 2d6 for their penetration (correct me if I'm wrong here). Now they only roll 2d6 and choose the highest. It seems to be saying that you don't get "+d6 for your armor penetration. In the case of ordinance you aren't getting an additional dice for penetration additions, just two dice and a choice. Maybe we were over thinking this one but my firend thought he saw this somewhere.
3. Can you ram a vehicle if you cannot end up on the same level with even if the rammer is a skimmer?
I had my Vindicator on a hill that was not large enough for the skimmer to end up on. The hill is 3" high with a steep embankment. The Eldar skimmer has the ability to end up at the bottom of the hill because it cannot fit on top. Still, the Skimmer is flying. We played it cannot ram.
|
2nd Place 2015 ATC--Team 48
6th Place 2014 ATC--team Ziggy Wardust and the Hammers from Mars
3rd Place 2013 ATC--team Quality Control
7-1 at 2013 Nova Open (winner of bracket 4)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/04 19:39:56
Subject: Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Per the (yes we know they are not official) GW FAQ
1. No, must be able to fire to link up
2. Yes, Ordnance loses the 2d6 take the highest
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/04 19:45:50
Subject: Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
JGrand wrote:In a game yesterday my Chaos versus a friends Eldar, we had three questions arise:
1. Can a Eldar Fire Prism link with another Fire Prism if it is shaken, stunned, or weapon destroyed?
The rules state that a Fire Prism can "forfeit their chance to fire" in order to link. In the above case the vehicle has no chance to fire. But hypothetically they always have a "chance" to fire in each shooting phase. RAW seems to loosely allow this.
No clear RAW answer on this one. Certain unofficial FAQs and tournaments require that the Prism be capable of firing the prism cannon on the turn it links.
2. Does the Wave Serprent's energy field stop ordinance weapons from rolling 2d6 and picking the highest?
When the Eldar codex came out I believe that Ordinance weapons added 2d6 for their penetration (correct me if I'm wrong here). Now they only roll 2d6 and choose the highest. It seems to be saying that you don't get "+d6 for your armor penetration. In the case of ordinance you aren't getting an additional dice for penetration additions, just two dice and a choice. Maybe we were over thinking this one but my firend thought he saw this somewhere.
You're wrong; ordnance functioned in 4th as it does in 5th. The wave field means you roll one penetration die, period; it does affect ordnance.
3. Can you ram a vehicle if you cannot end up on the same level with even if the rammer is a skimmer?
I had my Vindicator on a hill that was not large enough for the skimmer to end up on. The hill is 3" high with a steep embankment. The Eldar skimmer has the ability to end up at the bottom of the hill because it cannot fit on top. Still, the Skimmer is flying. We played it cannot ram.
Ewww. On the one hand, you should be able to ram. On the other hand, we have the "skimmers don't end their turns floating in the air" rule. Unless the Vindicator was sitting on a pillar of impassable terrain, I'd let the ram happen; if the skimmer ends up stopping, apply wobbly model syndrome and put it down as close to where it should be as possible.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 19:17:26
Subject: Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
New Zealand
|
But skimmers don't get WMS. They're the only ones that don't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 20:41:26
Subject: Re:Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
1. GW Eldar FAQ states "No, the model must voluntarily give up it's chance to fire the prism cannon..."
2. Energy field does not effect ordinance as the additional roll is not a addional + to AP
3. From RAW you have to make contact with the opposing vehicle, RAI though would most likely be if they hit the flight base then you hit the vehicle. Get in line for the answer to this one though as some Valkyrie players are abusing the hell outta this one since a Valk can't be hit by a whole lotta things.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 20:48:21
Subject: Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
yeah,
Pika_power wrote:But skimmers don't get WMS. They're the only ones that don't.
I don't follow, please explain?
If a skimmer is wobbling while placed on a slope...
PAnic...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 19:26:24
Subject: Re:Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
BlueDagger wrote:1. GW Eldar FAQ states "No, the model must voluntarily give up it's chance to fire the prism cannon..."
2. Energy field does not effect ordinance as the additional roll is not a addional + to AP
3. From RAW you have to make contact with the opposing vehicle, RAI though would most likely be if they hit the flight base then you hit the vehicle. Get in line for the answer to this one though as some Valkyrie players are abusing the hell outta this one since a Valk can't be hit by a whole lotta things.
Number 2 is wrong. you dont get an extra D6. Energy field rules say "all range attacks never roll more than +1D6 for there armor penetration" it even mentions ordanance. Doesnt matter that ordanance is not adding the 2D6. its rolling more than the +1D6 for armor penetration and you can never roll more than the +1D6 that ranged weapons normally get.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 22:13:44
Subject: Re:Rules questions (now with 300% more queries)
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Don't forget to ignore the bits where people call the FAQ's unofficial. They are absolutely official. What they are not are mandatory interpretations.
The FAQ's are answers to rules questions that are grey areas. There is no concrete RAW answer to these questions. You can agree on whatever interpretation you and your opponent want to use in those situations, or you can use the official answer to how it is intended to work that GW provides. Your choice.
The answer itself is completely official though. The unofficial answer is what anyone on some forum tells you it is
|
|
|
 |
 |
|