Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 10:26:32
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Here is the situation and I was curious about what can happen
My IG are riding in a Chimera and it gets shot by a squad of SM w/melta. The melta only stunned the vehicle. Then a Land Raider shoots at it and fails to hurt it, followed by a predator that fails to do anything, then finally a Land Speeder destroys it and my guard are forced to disembark. My question is this: If the SM's shot at the vehicle and failed to destroy it can they still charge the squad that disembarked??
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 11:04:19
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Major
far away from Battle Creek, Michigan
|
The space marines cannot charge the new unit.
|
PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.
Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 13:07:26
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, the Space marines would have had to Destroy the Chimera themselves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 14:30:09
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:No, the Space marines would have had to Destroy the Chimera themselves.
This is what I thought but can you back it up with rules quotes, when I read it the rule seemed vague.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 14:41:42
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
broxus wrote:Gwar! wrote:No, the Space marines would have had to Destroy the Chimera themselves.
This is what I thought but can you back it up with rules quotes, when I read it the rule seemed vague.
Page 67 wrote:Note: remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport with its lascannon and then mow down the occupants with their bolters. However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules. See how it doesn't say "Any unit that shot at it", but rather "The Unit that Shot it". This means only the unit that destroyed the transport may assault the disembarked unit.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/08/16 14:42:20
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 17:36:06
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:broxus wrote:Gwar! wrote:No, the Space marines would have had to Destroy the Chimera themselves.
This is what I thought but can you back it up with rules quotes, when I read it the rule seemed vague.
Page 67 wrote:Note: remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport with its lascannon and then mow down the occupants with their bolters. However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules.
See how it doesn't say "Any unit that shot at it", but rather "The Unit that Shot it". This means only the unit that destroyed the transport may assault the disembarked unit.
Gwar, you see here is where the debate starts. In the rules it doesnt say anywhere the unit that destroyed the vehicle just the unit that shot at it. My opponent said that the SM's did infact shoot at it so they would be allowed to assualt the passangers. Its poorly worded and can be interperted either way.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 17:40:18
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, it is a debated point.
I think the rules tend towards the SM not being able to.
I think the intent tends towards the SM being able to.
But both of those are opinions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 17:45:30
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
Probably somewhere I shouldn't be
|
Within the context of the sentence (about it being destroyed) the use of the words 'the unit' can only refer to the unit that caused this condition to come about.
|
40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:16:41
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
In context, actually, you have to consider both sentences as they are part of the same idea. And in that context "the unit that shot at it" could equally refer to the unit in the previous sentence, that is a unit which fires at a transport with or without destroying it. If it said "the unit that fired the destroying shot" or equivalent it would be unambiguous, but in the context of the paragraph it is not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:19:29
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
liquiddark wrote:In context, actually, you have to consider both sentences as they are part of the same idea. And in that context "the unit that shot at it" could equally refer to the unit in the previous sentence, that is a unit which fires at a transport with or without destroying it. If it said "the unit that fired the destroying shot" or equivalent it would be unambiguous, but in the context of the paragraph it is not.
Don't forget the rules deal with ONE unit firing. Each Time the unit changes you go back to the start of the rules. It is pretty clear that "the unit that shot it" refers to the unit that caused the transport (it) to assplode.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/16 21:19:40
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:24:41
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The rules don't do any such thing. These actions take place in entirely separate phases of the battle - shooting during the shooting phase and assault during the assault phase. You can't apply the rules across that boundary without taking into account all of the actions of all of the units involved, otherwise it'd be choose unit->move unit->shoot with unit->assault with unit, rinse, wash, repeat for each unit on the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:36:08
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm leaning towards thinking the unit can assault if they fired at the vehicle target. The rules do say "the unit that shot at it" and not "the unit that destroyed it".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:39:33
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Yes, the Unit that shot at it. Not any unit who shot at it. The unit who shot at it (and caused to be destroyed) may charge the occupants.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 21:54:29
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Gwar! wrote:The unit who shot at it (and caused to be destroyed) may charge the occupants.
You're arguing based on a clarification that does not exist in the source rules. The text is, in a straight English Grammar sense, ambiguous.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 22:13:18
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
liquiddark wrote:Gwar! wrote:The unit who shot at it (and caused to be destroyed) may charge the occupants.
You're arguing based on a clarification that does not exist in the source rules. The text is, in a straight English Grammar sense, ambiguous.
When you look at it in isolation. Looking at it in context makes it clear.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 22:43:48
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
Right behind you...
|
I tend to think they may not asault the passengers if they didn't cause the destroyed result. The rule could have been a bit more clear, but I think Gwar's point re: the rule talking about one unit is valid in this case.
Certianly the shooting and assault phases take place at different times in the turn, but I think the writers were addressing the possible actions of one unit (the one that destroyed the vehicle). There is room for debate though and I can see the other pov being a possible intent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/16 22:45:23
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You know, I think I'm coming to agree with you. The key phrase is "by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it" - "it" refers to the ranged attack, not the transport. I think it's a bit of a silly rule to disallow assaults to exactly the same place based on whether your particular weapon blew up a transport, but I think RAW does support your interpretation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/17 03:21:49
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Also note that the phrase "the unit" is singular. It's only referring to one unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/17 03:41:13
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It should be faq'ed. It is still somewhat ambiguous in the wording.
Hardly suprising though...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/17 08:09:44
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Roarin' Runtherd
|
"Note: remember that all models in a single unit fire simultaneously, so a squad cannot take out a transport with its lascannon and then mow down the occupants with their bolters. However, if a transport is destroyed (either result) by a ranged attack, the unit that shot it may assault the now disembarked passengers, if it is allowed to assault according to the assault rules."
Nitpicky English time-in that sentence, "the unit that shot it etc." is a subordinate phrase which refers back to "However, if a transport is destroyed etc.". "The unit" therefor refers back to the act of destroying the transport.
In other words, I think He-who-must-not-be-named-lest-he-steal-your-soul-and-put-it-in-his-sig right. Technically. Leaving aside arguments about RAI-'cause I don't do ESP- I thinks it's a bad rule. But there it is.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 13:49:00
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
|
How about if the Transport fills another force slot, say a
Land Raider Crusader which for some armies is a Heavy
Support Choice. If you put a unit inside does it count
as two units since the Transport was not a unit upgrade?
This way its treated as two units not allowing the
shooting unit to assault the second unit?
Or when you put a troop unit inside the heavy support
unit does it "become" one unit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 13:53:01
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/250105.page
As for the other bit, they remain 2 units. One is in the transport (which is the other one).
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 14:09:09
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
What? The slot it takes doesn't make any difference. Even if it takes one slot, they are still 2 separate units. Even Dedicated transports. You shoot a LRC with a Tactical Squad inside and Blow up the LRC, you can assault the Tactical Squad. You shoot a Rhino with a Tactical Squad inside and Blow up the LRC, you can assault the Tactical Squad. You shoot a Stompa with a Carnifex inside and Blow up the Stompa, you can assault the Carnifex.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/18 14:11:11
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 14:14:22
Subject: Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Reverent Tech-Adept
|
It was just a thought. The worst question to ask is the
one not asked. Thanks for clearing it up for me, I
figured as much but have been told many differnet things.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 15:04:04
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Two points:
Point one: My soul dies a little inside as I say that Gwar is right. The RAW say that only the unit that destroyed the vehicle can assault.
Point two: That's damn silly. While the rules support it, common sense doesn't. What, my bloodthirsty Spacepsychos are going to hold back because the other guys 'called it first?' That's bollocks.
So...regimented play, I am going to play it RAW: the Space Marines in question are SOL and can wait their turn. Friendly games, I am going to allow my opponents Marines to charge forth and mow down my disoriented IG.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 15:06:14
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
jimsolo wrote:My soul dies a little inside as I say that Gwar is right.
This is so sigged it's not even funny
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 15:06:39
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As the rule just says the firing unit may assault "disembarked passengers", it doesn't matter who the passengers are or what FOC slot they came from, just that they were riding in the vehicle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 16:35:35
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
Pennsylvania, USA
|
As bad as some of the wording is in 5th edition , I find it gets a lot worse as you go back into previous editions. I just wish they were faster about errata/faqing and would update based on logical arguments either sent in by email or argued on a forum they choose. Maybe each race gets to vote for one thing that matters to their race that they would like clarified and would be added to the faq/errata once per month(or once per 3) or something.
|
In the embrace of the great Nurgle, I am no longer afraid, for with His pestilential favour I have become that which I once most feared: Death.
-Kulvain Hestarius, Death Guard |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 17:01:18
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
Probably somewhere I shouldn't be
|
Halsfield wrote:As bad as some of the wording is in 5th edition , I find it gets a lot worse as you go back into previous editions. I just wish they were faster about errata/faqing and would update based on logical arguments either sent in by email or argued on a forum they choose. Maybe each race gets to vote for one thing that matters to their race that they would like clarified and would be added to the faq/errata once per month(or once per 3) or something.
That sounds way too much like work for the GW all-star web team.
|
40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/18 17:02:27
Subject: Re:Shooting at a transport and assaulting the squad inside
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
unistoo wrote:Halsfield wrote:As bad as some of the wording is in 5th edition , I find it gets a lot worse as you go back into previous editions. I just wish they were faster about errata/faqing and would update based on logical arguments either sent in by email or argued on a forum they choose. Maybe each race gets to vote for one thing that matters to their race that they would like clarified and would be added to the faq/errata once per month(or once per 3) or something.
That sounds way too much like work for the GW all-star web team.
Given I could do it in 4 weeks with a Sharpie and some coffee, I agree.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|