Switch Theme:

Shooting At Independents Characters in a Group  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Can you specifically target an independent character with any type of blast template when he is joined in a unit? I only ask because a buddy told me that you can target independent characters with blast templates.he argued that if he were to shoot at a "line" of guys with the independent character at one end, and directly hit the independent character and a few other troops,the independent character will take wounds, as well as the troops. I argued that I can choose to allocate the wounds to any one in the unit that i want to as long as there are enough troops in the unit to absorb all the wounds
ex typhus with a unit of plague marines, on PG 49 it says-
in the heat of the battle it is often hard to distiguish individuals and even harder to pick them out as specific targets,independent characters that have joined a unit are considered part of that unit and so may not be picked out as targets,if the unit they have joined is hit the controlling player can choose to allocate hits against the characters just like the other members of the unit.

I realize that monstrous creature, and Retinue apply differentlty but aside from that........
This was a friendly argument
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No.

The opponent can however choose to allocate hits to the IC if he wants (or has to) via the wound allocation rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/09/17 17:24:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

He can target the IC, but outside of CC (without rules like assassins or Telion)the wounds do not have to be given to it (unless enough wounds are given to the unit that).

You were correct.

Alhough, for MCs with retinue, the only one I can think of off-hand is the Hive Tyrant, and that has rules saying you cannot target it specifically as MC anyway

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

yeah,
yes I think he can target the independant character.
But only to indicate the intended location of the blast for the purposes of getting as many models as possible, or to place the blast to reduce the impact of scatter. It will have no effect on wound allocation which proceeds as normal.

Rule book page 30 wrote: When firing a blast weapon, models do not roll to hit, instead pick one enemy model visible to the firer and place the blast marker ... with it's hole over the base of the target model


Panic...

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: