Switch Theme:

question about firing heavy weapons from a fast moving vehicle, possible newb question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Mobile, AL. USA

Ok, so I was reading the rules on vehicles, fast and open- topped. Rules say that the vehicle is so steady at greater speeds that heavy weapons can fire while moving at combat speed. We are all familiar with that, but what about fast open-topped transports, allowing a unit with heavy weapons to fire. Now, to support this, I have been told, from very knowledgeable, that units firing from transports have same rules binding the vehicles weapons as the unit inside of them, with regards to movement. Am i off base on my interpretation of this rule or am i missing something?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 17:16:30


   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







If a vehicle moves even one nine billionth of an inch, the models inside count as moving. The models inside do not use the vehicles rules, they use the rules for Infantry. If the vehicle moves AT ALL less than or equal to 6", the models may fire, but count as moving. If a vehicle moves even one nine billionths of an inch more than 6", the models inside may not fire, period.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 17:24:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Mobile, AL. USA

I don't normally challenge posts, but where is that in the rule book. I know the rules about moving, but what about moving inside a open topped vehicle. The only reason I ask for this is, because i cant find it. Is this just and understood rule or is there anything pointed out to this effect in the rule book other than units standard moving and firing rules. It is my understanding that the purpose of being in a transport is to make the unit more mobile. Might just be the attorney in me, but i like evidence.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/10/06 17:36:32


   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Main rules Page 66 - especially paragraph 10.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne




Salt Lake City, UT

The rule is located on page 66, under the Header "Fire Points", 3rd paragraph, for models counting as moving when the vehicle moves.

There's no special rule that allows models with Heavy weapons firing from moving Open topped vehicles. The vehicles have no set number of fire points so all models inside can fire if able to shoot, but that's the only special shooting rule I can see for these vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 17:44:20


   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just to add a bit more redundancy, Page 66

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

You could still go 12", jump out, then fire, but not if it were a heavy weapon, unless of course you are relentless.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Reecius wrote:You could still go 12", jump out, then fire, but not if it were a heavy weapon, unless of course you are relentless.
Correct. However, you cannot go 12" and fire from a Fire Point, even if you ARE relentless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 17:49:06


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Las Vegas, NV

Good to know!

   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Gwar! wrote:If a vehicle moves even one nine billionth of an inch, the models inside count as moving. The models inside do not use the vehicles rules, they use the rules for Infantry. If the vehicle moves AT ALL less than or equal to 6", the models may fire, but count as moving. If a vehicle moves even one nine billionths of an inch more than 6", the models inside may not fire, period.


However, if you can accurately measure and move your model exactly one TEN billionth of an inch, I give it to you.....


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Gwar! wrote:
Reecius wrote:You could still go 12", jump out, then fire, but not if it were a heavy weapon, unless of course you are relentless.
Correct. However, you cannot go 12" and fire from a Fire Point, even if you ARE relentless.


Man, while the rule is completely spelled out, it is pretty silly.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/10/06 18:16:26


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: