Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 02:27:53
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Looking at the Stormboyz entry;
Wargear
Rokkit Pack: . . . rokkit packs count as jump packs. Every time the Stormboyz mob utilizes its rokkit packs to move or fall back, roll a d6. one a roll of a 1. . . Regardless of the result you may add the number rolled to the amount the unit moves that turn
BRB, "Jump Infantry" unit type:
"Some special troops use devices. . . such as Orks, whose Stormboyz use rudimentary 'rokkit packs'. . ."
So we know Stormboyz are Jump Infantry.
That same unit entry;
Movement
"Jump infantry can use their jump packs (or equivalent) and move up to 12" in the Movement phase."
This seems to be what is meant by "utilize [their] rokkit packs"; use the jump packs to move more than 6", up to and including 12".
By my reading, this would seem to say that Stormboyz can actually move either 6" or 12"+d6" in the movement phase. Does anyone else see that, or am I crazy?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/29 02:38:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 03:30:15
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
I think it means they have the potential to go up to 12" and if you roll a 1, you go a total of 7 just kill off an Ork boy. Ork tech isn't reliable so this rule lets them be able to be like other jump troops just something bad might happen.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 03:48:50
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
I can see what you are pointing out.
If Jump infantry can move up to 12 however, then they can move up to 12 in the movement phase, correct?
But the Ork Codex says "Add the result to the movement)
So I vouch for 12"+D6 (I may be wrong, however.)
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 04:34:01
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
12+d6, surely.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 05:01:00
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
12"+D6" is correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 06:19:34
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Your reading is correct. 12"+d6" if using the rokkit packs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 08:41:23
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries
|
yes12'' plus D6
|
Knowledge is power guard it well
I hate genestealers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 12:03:28
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
Liverpool
|
Another yes. Stormboyz are hilarious.
Take Zagstruk, watch your opponents face as you deepstrike and then assault with an Initiative 4 Powerklaw.
Everytime I use stormboyz I kill more of them than my opponent. I love them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 13:12:54
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Mobile, AL. USA
|
The real question is are they considered jump infantry with jet packs, because if they are, they can only move 6 inches in movement, run d6, then 6 inches in assault phase. If they are not jump infantry with jet packs even though it looks like they do, then they move 12" inches because of jump infantry, run d6, then when they utilize there rock it packs they get 6 inches in assault phase. Yes or no I dont know
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/11/29 13:14:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 13:19:06
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
It means you roll a D6 and add it on to 12" (for a potential movement of 18") however if this dice is a 1, one stormboy is killed but you still add the 1, for a total movement of 13". This also apples for falling back meaning you can fall back up to 24".
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 14:21:24
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Great. I've been playing Stormboyz wrong all this time, they're even more awesome than I thought!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/29 14:48:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 14:38:05
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
Liverpool
|
Gold tooth Jerry wrote:The real question is are they considered jump infantry with jet packs, because if they are, they can only move 6 inches in movement, run d6, then 6 inches in assault phase.
If they are not jump infantry with jet packs even though it looks like they do, then they move 12" inches because of jump infantry, run d6, then when they utilize there rock it packs they get 6 inches in assault phase.
Yes or no I dont know
Nowhere in their rules does it state they are equiped with jet packs . Their Rokkit packs count as Jump packs allowing them a 12" move. However when you move 12" with them you roll a D6 and add that to the 12", giving a resultant move of between 13" and 18", if the D6 result is a 1 you remove a stormboy, but still add the 1". You may then run D6" or may shoot/not shoot and assault 6".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 16:48:12
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Greenville, South Cacky-Lacky
|
When I initially read the rule, I understood it to mean 6+d6" jump pack movement, but on re-reading it, it sure seems to state a full 12+d6" movement...
|
Alles klar, eh, Kommissar? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 17:00:54
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
FYI: Stormboyz do not have WAAAGH! special rule. They may not RUN and ASSAULT.
You may:
Move 12" + D6" + RUN D6" = 14"-24" Movement (no assault)
or
Move 12" + D6" + Assault 6" = 19"-24" Movement with assault
You may not:
Move 12" + D6" + RUN D6" + Assault 6" = 20"-30" Movement with assault
I see too many Waaaghing Stormboys out there.
|
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 17:07:05
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Bismarck ND
|
nkelsch wrote:FYI: Stormboyz do not have WAAAGH! special rule. They may not RUN and ASSAULT.
You may:
Move 12" + D6" + RUN D6" = 14"-24" Movement (no assault)
or
Move 12" + D6" + Assault 6" = 19"-24" Movement with assault
You may not:
Move 12" + D6" + RUN D6" + Assault 6" = 20"-30" Movement with assault
I see too many Waaaghing Stormboys out there.
I did not realize that! Thank you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 18:15:53
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
thats nice, except the fact that the waaagh rule on pg 31 mentions no requirement of having the rule, only that they be "friendly ork units"
|
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 18:27:26
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
You forgot a word.
"friendly Ork infantry units"
As opposed to Jump Infantry.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 18:38:10
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
As said, stormboyz do not get to use the waaagh! rule, since they are not basic infantry, nor do they have it as a special rule.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 18:44:49
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Which is too bad, but understandable since they already have a 13-18" move every turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 18:46:44
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
It more than makes up for it.
Since you can use the packs 1st turn, with waaagh! you must wait until 2nd or longer.
So it gives you the 1st turn to boost forward into cover (who cares if a few die here and there)
Then assault in on the 2nd turn.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 21:22:13
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Savage Minotaur
Chicago
|
12+d6
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 21:26:25
Subject: Re:Stormboyz question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Just a clarification here...
The Ork Codex *does* state the Stormboyz have the Waaaugh! special rule. However, the Ork FAQ linked here says that this is a misprint, and that they should not have that special rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 22:10:39
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Not that it matters, since as was already pointed out, they're not infantry and so would gain no benefit from it anyway.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:19:50
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
insaniak wrote:Not that it matters, since as was already pointed out, they're not infantry and so would gain no benefit from it anyway.
But it would be pretty odd them intentionally having it if they couldn't use it. RAI arguments would be really annoying.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:21:57
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
Pepper: My codex shows the only special rules that stormz have is furious charge and mob rule.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:28:46
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
JD21290 wrote:Pepper: My codex shows the only special rules that stormz have is furious charge and mob rule.
Yes, many ork codices include the errata changes (at least some of it). Mine includes the errata bike changes, but not everywhere else bike changes should be made in the codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:30:35
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
heh, thats the problem with re-printing a codex a few times.
Guess its the benefit from buying it late rather than early on.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:32:19
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
JD21290 wrote:Pepper: My codex shows the only special rules that stormz have is furious charge and mob rule.
They only have those two in their army list entry. The 'Forces of The Ork' entry on page 47 also has Waaagh.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:33:58
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Horrific Hive Tyrant
London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)
|
I stand corrected.
Thanks insaniak
Didnt think to check elsewhere, i just looked at the main entry for the list.
Never actually noticed that until you pointed it out lol.
|
Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/11/29 23:39:25
Subject: Stormboyz question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
insaniak wrote:JD21290 wrote:Pepper: My codex shows the only special rules that stormz have is furious charge and mob rule.
They only have those two in their army list entry. The 'Forces of The Ork' entry on page 47 also has Waaagh.
Mine doesn't. My warbikers have 2 wounds and 1 wound depending on which page you're reading though. The page i tend to read is the errata.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/11/29 23:40:04
|
|
 |
 |
|