Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 07:46:39
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
So we had a quandry the other day in an apoc battle with an assault.
So abaddon was in an assault with some Wraithguard. My demon prince was tied up about an inch and a half away with a wraithlord and some warlocks.
So a second wraithlord charges the demon prince, putting him within 1 inch of abaddon who was finishing up his combat the next turn. I finish my combat with abaddon and one of the players says abaddon is tied in combat with the lord now because hes an inch away. I say no because the lord charged the DP (a diff combat) and just cuz I'm an inch away, its not the same combat (in that case would the lord not have been able to charge anyway?)
So my question is, was I right or was he? After explaining multi-charging we decided abaddon was free to consolidate (only to wipe out the lord anyway next turn). But who was right!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 07:55:32
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps
|
if your not in base to base your not locked in combat with anyone, and so at the end of a combat you need to consolidate to get into base to base, in your choice of directions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 11:13:26
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
|
Horst wrote:so at the end of a combat you need to consolidate to get into base to base, in your choice of directions.
You're not allowed to consolidate into a new combat though? If thats what your saying.
If they don't have a random rule that I don't know of.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 12:47:56
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
Zid wrote:So we had a quandry the other day in an apoc battle with an assault.
So abaddon was in an assault with some Wraithguard. My demon prince was tied up about an inch and a half away with a wraithlord and some warlocks.
So a second wraithlord charges the demon prince, putting him within 1 inch of abaddon who was finishing up his combat the next turn. I finish my combat with abaddon and one of the players says abaddon is tied in combat with the lord now because hes an inch away. I say no because the lord charged the DP (a diff combat) and just cuz I'm an inch away, its not the same combat (in that case would the lord not have been able to charge anyway?)
So my question is, was I right or was he? After explaining multi-charging we decided abaddon was free to consolidate (only to wipe out the lord anyway next turn). But who was right!
You're correct that they are two separate combats. Unless the combats are linked by a unit being b2b with both of them, they are resolved as separate. There is no 1" assault rule.
The wraithlord can't assault both units. He simply travels the shortest distance to be in b2b contact with the DP.
@Horst: You can't consolidate into b2b with an enemy unit. You may confusing 5th edition consolidation with pile-in moves or 4th edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 19:59:43
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
The Wraithlord was in base to base contact with Abaddon and the DP.
I conceded on the issue because I was thinking that if you declare a charge against someone then theoretically a single model couldn't also engage another squad. But as per:
Unless the combats are linked by a unit being b2b with both of them, they are resolved as separate.
....if they are in base to base, all three units count as in combat... which was my original reason for pushing the issue.
And yes, Zid.... they were all touching.
But the core detail is this: He simply travels the shortest distance to be in b2b contact with the DP.
I didn't move the Wraithlord. He was clearly in assault range of both units, but I do not think the Eldar player moved him the shortest distance, which would have put him in close combat with only the Demon Prince. To be honest, I'm not sure which unit the Wraithlord assaulted. He was facing the DP so I would have to assume it was the DP.
Lets assume though that the WL chooses, in this situation, to assault Abaddon's unit. If I remember correctly, Abaddon was the closest model from his unit. If the WL, a single model, assaults Abaddon by the shortest route possible, and that move also puts the WL into base to base contact with the DP...... all three units are considered locked in close combat. Is that correct?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/12/04 20:02:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 20:02:45
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
I missed this for a long time. Re-read "Assaulting multiple enemy units" page 34. "remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units" is one thing often overlooked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/04 20:03:00
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 20:21:04
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
Ahhh, so assaulting multiple units requires a minimum of 2 models. A unit of 1 model must remain 1" away from other units meaning there is no way for a single model to engage 2 separate units.
Which I think is what Zid might be trying to convey, but I do remember all 3 models touching bases which is an error in placing the assaulting model.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/04 20:22:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 20:28:33
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
bigduncm24 wrote:Ahhh, so assaulting multiple units requires a minimum of 2 models. A unit of 1 model must remain 1" away from other units meaning there is no way for a single model to engage 2 separate units.
Which I think is what Zid might be trying to convey, but I do remember all 3 models touching bases which is an error in placing the assaulting model.
A small but important point. A unit of one model must remain out of base contact with models from other units. It can get within 1" of the other models without any issue.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 21:33:21
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
bigduncm24 wrote:
The Wraithlord was in base to base contact with Abaddon and the DP.
I conceded on the issue because I was thinking that if you declare a charge against someone then theoretically a single model couldn't also engage another squad. But as per:
Unless the combats are linked by a unit being b2b with both of them, they are resolved as separate.
....if they are in base to base, all three units count as in combat... which was my original reason for pushing the issue.
And yes, Zid.... they were all touching.
But the core detail is this: He simply travels the shortest distance to be in b2b contact with the DP.
I didn't move the Wraithlord. He was clearly in assault range of both units, but I do not think the Eldar player moved him the shortest distance, which would have put him in close combat with only the Demon Prince. To be honest, I'm not sure which unit the Wraithlord assaulted. He was facing the DP so I would have to assume it was the DP.
Lets assume though that the WL chooses, in this situation, to assault Abaddon's unit. If I remember correctly, Abaddon was the closest model from his unit. If the WL, a single model, assaults Abaddon by the shortest route possible, and that move also puts the WL into base to base contact with the DP...... all three units are considered locked in close combat. Is that correct?
You couldn't assault both with 1 model, thus it wouldn't have been legal anyway. If he'd declared a multi, putting the lord against abaddon and the warlock against the DP that would have worked, but he didn't :(
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/12/04 21:34:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 21:35:31
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
You were right. Kill those heretics for their ignorance. Their reward is retribution.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 21:37:58
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle
|
ZacktheChaosChild wrote:You were right. Kill those heretics for their ignorance. Their reward is retribution.
But... I was the heretic :( and I did kill em.... killed em good. BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 21:41:59
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
Albuquerque
|
Zid wrote:
You couldn't assault both with 1 model, thus it wouldn't have been legal anyway. If he'd declared a multi, putting the lord against abaddon and the warlock against the DP that would have worked, but he didn't :(
Correct. Which is why I conceded the point, it all seemed weird.
While we're on the subject of touching bases and assaults.... can a model already in base to base with an enemy model at the end of an assault phase use the "pile-in" rule to move and choose a more desirable enemy model to touch? I know we've run into this situation a couple times Zid, I just want someone else to verify it with me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/04 21:58:03
Subject: Assault question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
No.
Only models not in base Pile-in.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|