Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:10:59
Subject: So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I have played exactly two games of 5th edition. So I wanted to know if this works before I bother trying it and making a fool of myself:
If I buy a drop pod with a locator beacon, and drop it on turn one (which I must do, as I have only one pod, right?) then I deepstrike some vanguard vets next to it, they will not scatter and can charge into combat (assuming something is within 6")?
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:16:30
Subject: So do I have this right?
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
As long as you deep strike the vets after turn 1. The beacon has to be on the table at the beginning of the turn, but yeah, it's a teleport homer that works for all deep strikers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:22:32
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can always opt to have the deep strikers come in after turn 1, correct?
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:24:09
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Yes. Vanguard go into normal reserves when deepstriking so they will automatically come in on turn 2+.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:26:32
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And for 15 points a piece I can add stormshields to these guys? And that gives them a 3+/3+ save?
Seems pretty uber to me. Am I missing something?
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:32:31
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
You can indeed give them all storm shields. The downside is that you end up paying roughly the same amount as a similiarly sized terminator squad for a squad of marines no more durable than regular tactical marines versus small arms/high ROF weapons.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:35:36
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It's actually more than terminators, but the idea of being able to charge right into combat is soooo sweet.
I'll at least play test it.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:42:45
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents
|
Do they have special deepstrike rules?
If they don't, a unit can't assault on the turn it deepstrikes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:53:36
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
They do. They skip running or shooting, and they may assault.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:53:37
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Preacher of the Emperor
|
Dashofpepper wrote:Do they have special deepstrike rules?
If they don't, a unit can't assault on the turn it deepstrikes.
Yup. Vanguard have the "Heroic Intervention" rule. As long as the controlling player declares the "Heroic Intervention", Vanguard veterans may assault the turn they deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 17:54:03
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Rogue Daemonhunter fueled by Chaos
|
Dashofpepper wrote:Do they have special deepstrike rules?
If they don't, a unit can't assault on the turn it deepstrikes.
Vanguard vets have a rule that allows it, but you have to declare before deep striking, I think, and give up your shooting, IIRC
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 18:00:26
Subject: So do I have this right?
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Welcome back. Boards have not been as entertaining or informative without ya.
OT, FYI (to dashofpepper or others) Vanguard can assault after DS but they cannot shoot or run when doing so. Also no IC may be attached to them when you do this.
The problem with this tactic is the cost and timing and reliance on a scattering AR12 open topped immobile locater beacon around long enough for your 300ish point unit to use it. Bad scatter, no assault. Vanguard come in too late, your opponent backs up or pops the pod.
Also unlike 4ed, assault units can't very easily hide in CC so this type of ability doesn't have the uberness as it would have in 4ed.
Finally, everyone is in vehicles now and it is not so easy to get them out of em.
I'd love to see you make something like this work though.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 18:04:19
Subject: So do I have this right?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Mauleed is back!
Funny how yesterday I was thinking about strong personalities like Gwar!, Stelek and....Mauleed.
Wondered wether you had been banned or something.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 18:10:23
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No banination, just other interests.
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 18:15:47
Subject: So do I have this right?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'll assume non-wargaming, as I hadn't seen you posting in the Fantasy section for almost as long.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/12/10 18:32:54
Subject: Re:So do I have this right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I was playing fantasy for a while, but I even rarely play that now. I've been getting my competition urges filled with real life fighting instead (kickboxing, jiu jitsu)
|
"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto. |
|
 |
 |
|