Switch Theme:

Gwar!'s Unofficial Blood Angels FAQ v1.9: Feedback, Submission and Download Thread  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Homer S wrote:Along those same lines, does the Blood Champion lose his BP and grenades? Does that mean if when charging he goes across cover he is I1? and does not have +1A from 2 CCWs?

Homer
No. The whole unit has the Wargear listed. One Honour Guard can be Upgraded and will get the wargear specified. Nothing says he loses his original Wargear, so he doesn't.

Also, Sorry for the fast update, but v1.7 is up for download

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






OH-I Wanna get out of here

Ok, i skimmed through the pages on here and didnt see it, but with the stormraven disembarking the faq states they must be clear of enemy units and within 2 inches of the base, but with emergancy disembark, dont they have to get out within 2 in of the hull, plus all the other rules pertaining?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







whalemusic360 wrote:Ok, i skimmed through the pages on here and didnt see it, but with the stormraven disembarking the faq states they must be clear of enemy units and within 2 inches of the base, but with emergancy disembark, dont they have to get out within 2 in of the hull, plus all the other rules pertaining?
The thing is, if it is on a Valkyrie Base, the "Hull" will be a good 5" in the air.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






OH-I Wanna get out of here

So could they get 2" from hull and take another dangerous ter test for the fall (like jumping off a high ledge)?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







whalemusic360 wrote:So could they get 2" from hull and take another dangerous ter test for the fall (like jumping off a high ledge)?
Unless there is elevated terrain for them to disembark into, then it is impossible for them to be within 2" of the Hull...

And if there is terrain, you would use the Emergency Disembark rules just fine.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/15 18:38:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






OH-I Wanna get out of here

True nuff. Gotta remember to fly close to buildings and cliffs
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Typical. I finally think "Oh, yay the FAQ is finished" then something else pops up.

Unlike every other Sergeant, an Assault Squad Sergeant does not say he can replace his Bolt pistol and/or his Chainsword, it says "can replace his Bolt Pistol/Chainsword"!
So, since I know for a fact someone will get caught out by this, I'll stick that into the FAQ on Monday or if I get enough questions to make a new version worthwhile, whatever comes first!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/04/16 18:16:00


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Does this last bit mean he can only swap one of them or does it just remove the goofy case of replacing both with one of the choices?

Homer

The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Homer S wrote:Does this last bit mean he can only swap one of them or does it just remove the goofy case of replacing both with one of the choices?

Homer
Yeah, you are right! I thought about it a little more and all it does is mean the Sergeant cannot replace both weapons for a single weapon, but he can still replace voth weapons for 2 new ones or 1 weapon for 1 new one.

In any case, I've added it to my local copy and will Update it, as I said, on Monday

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Good job overall so far.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






The ruins of the Palace of Thorns

@Gwar

I would be interested to hear your take on how the Jammer on Vanilla Marines' Land Speeder Storms would affect Descent of Angels.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/17 17:13:24


Though guards may sleep and ships may lay at anchor, our foes know full well that big guns never tire.

Posting as Fifty_Painting on Instagram.

My blog - almost 40 pages of Badab War, Eldar, undead and other assorted projects 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Fifty wrote:@Gwar

I would be interested to hear your take on how the Jammer on Vanilla Marines' Land Speeder Storms would affect Descent of Angels.
<GW Attack Panda>They scatter the number of dice listed in the SM Codex, Minus the number dice specified in the BA Codex</GW Attack Panda>

But in all seriousness, DoA staes you scatter one D6" less, and even points out that it is NORMALLY (not ALWAYS) D6" instead of 2D6".

So yeah, they will scatter 3D6", as they Scatter the Distance the Jammer Tells you minus D6".

Thanks for the Questions and I shall add in a Generalized (as in, not specifically about the Jammer, but about any potential rule that changes the scatter amount) to 1.8, out Monday!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/17 17:25:58


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Oniwaban





Fayetteville

Here's an odd question.

When a Furioso Librarian suffers perils of the warp and gets a weapon destroyed result from the glancing hit, who chooses the weapon that gets destroyed?

The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

The BA player did the damage, so I'd say him.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/18 05:43:23


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Great job so far Gwar... a non rules question here. It seems like some folks were upset that your last FAQ was used by GW.

Would you not prefer that they do use it? ...it would make it all "official" and validate all of your efforts - especially for those who only except GW rules; and basically anyone who is at the short end of a questionable rule that is gonna hurt them haha.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

In the Options for a Furioso Dred it says in the Codex "Exchange all wargear for a blood fist, smoke launchers, psychic hood and force weapon". for 50 points. Do you think you can then go back to the options and exchange the any of his wargear for the costs listed?
e.g. add a magna grapple or replace the blood fist with a frag cannon. Sorry if you answered this, I had a look in your FAQ and could not see it listed in the Drednought section. Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Arschbombe wrote:Here's an odd question.

When a Furioso Librarian suffers perils of the warp and gets a weapon destroyed result from the glancing hit, who chooses the weapon that gets destroyed?
The rulebook says "One of the vehicle's weapons (chosen by the attacker) is destroyed". If it had said Opponent, we would be in for a world of Silly. As it is, the BA Player did the Damage (though no fault of their own, but they still did it), so they would be the "attacker" and get to choose.

Consider it added
Gunzhard wrote:Great job so far Gwar... a non rules question here. It seems like some folks were upset that your last FAQ was used by GW.

Would you not prefer that they do use it? ...it would make it all "official" and validate all of your efforts - especially for those who only except GW rules; and basically anyone who is at the short end of a questionable rule that is gonna hurt them haha.
It's not the fact that they used it. It's the fact that they used SOME of it, then widdled all over clear RaW with the other half, while not even giving me a cursory email or single mention. All they would have had to do is email me saying "Yo, like your work, we can't credit you for xyz reason, but just letting you know we are using it." Instead I got a email from their Legal Department with a thinly veiled Legal threat.
General Mayhem wrote:In the Options for a Furioso Dred it says in the Codex "Exchange all wargear for a blood fist, smoke launchers, psychic hood and force weapon". for 50 points. Do you think you can then go back to the options and exchange the any of his wargear for the costs listed?
e.g. add a magna grapple or replace the blood fist with a frag cannon. Sorry if you answered this, I had a look in your FAQ and could not see it listed in the Drednought section. Thanks.

No worries. You did miss it however
BA.85.01 – Q: Can a Furioso Librarian purchase weapons and wargear from the options list?
A: Yes. These may be Purchased “after” the Upgrade to a Furioso Librarian. The only option unavailable is the Blood Talon option,
as you no longer have the wargear to exchange for them. [Clarification]

• It can, however, be interpreted that you lose any purchased wargear and may not purchase them at all.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/18 12:44:09


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Hardened Veteran Guardsman






near Reading, Berkshire

Thanks for that, now I can get on and try to model the upgrades.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Well, as promised, v1.8 is available for download!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Can brother corbulo use a re-roll on die that slays him of his last wound.?

Example.. Corbulo has 1 wound remaining.. he is hit with a bolter, and fails his save, he then miserably fails his FNP save. I say im going to use the eye, my opponent says no, he's already dead, and it can't be used..

What say you. ??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/26 20:57:44


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Camarodragon wrote:Can brother corbulo use a re-roll on die that slays him of his last wound.?

Example.. Corbulo has 1 wound remaining.. he is hit with a bolter, and fails his save, he then miserably fails his FNP save. I say im going to use the eye, my opponent says no, he's already dead, and it can't be used..

What say you. ??
That is a very good Question.

I personally would let him use it, because let's face it, if he is in that position, he is having awful luck.

As for the rules, I honestly do not know. You can argue it strongly either way.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Gwar! wrote:
Camarodragon wrote:Can brother corbulo use a re-roll on die that slays him of his last wound.?

Example.. Corbulo has 1 wound remaining.. he is hit with a bolter, and fails his save, he then miserably fails his FNP save. I say im going to use the eye, my opponent says no, he's already dead, and it can't be used..

What say you. ??
That is a very good Question.

I personally would let him use it, because let's face it, if he is in that position, he is having awful luck.

As for the rules, I honestly do not know. You can argue it strongly either way.



I think under re-rolls page 2. it would allow him the reroll before his death. Ill try to garner another one to stump ya on Gwar...

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

As long as it can still be rerolled the wound isn't resolved, so I'd say he's not quite dead.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Gwar! wrote:
whalemusic360 wrote:Ok, i skimmed through the pages on here and didnt see it, but with the stormraven disembarking the faq states they must be clear of enemy units and within 2 inches of the base, but with emergancy disembark, dont they have to get out within 2 in of the hull, plus all the other rules pertaining?
The thing is, if it is on a Valkyrie Base, the "Hull" will be a good 5" in the air.


Hey, Gwar!

I'm a noob getting back into the game after 12 years and I need to see what i'm up against. All I own is the rule book and a couple dex's.

Based on my knowledge, this ruling bothers me.... can you explain why it's 5 inches in the air? It's classified as a fast/skimmer and i'm under the impression Skimmer's aren't considered 5 inches in the air, if it was 5 inches in the air I kinda doubt you could assault it??

You can't argue its the base the model came with, cause there is no model... so... why's it 5 inches in the air again?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Narse wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
whalemusic360 wrote:Ok, i skimmed through the pages on here and didnt see it, but with the stormraven disembarking the faq states they must be clear of enemy units and within 2 inches of the base, but with emergancy disembark, dont they have to get out within 2 in of the hull, plus all the other rules pertaining?
The thing is, if it is on a Valkyrie Base, the "Hull" will be a good 5" in the air.


Hey, Gwar!

I'm a noob getting back into the game after 12 years and I need to see what i'm up against. All I own is the rule book and a couple dex's.

Based on my knowledge, this ruling bothers me.... can you explain why it's 5 inches in the air? It's classified as a fast/skimmer and i'm under the impression Skimmer's aren't considered 5 inches in the air, if it was 5 inches in the air I kinda doubt you could assault it??

You can't argue its the base the model came with, cause there is no model... so... why's it 5 inches in the air again?
It is 5 inches in the air because I have based my answers off the IG Valkyrie base, which the GW Stormraven is 99.9978512% Likey to come on:


You are able to assault it however, as the rules for skimmers say you may assault a skimmers base.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/07 06:03:18


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Sorry if I've missed it, but couldn't find it last time I checked.

Can Standard Predators take both the Stormbolter and HK Missle and pay 10 points total, not 10 points per item, as opposed to every other vehicle in the Codex?
Also, Scout bikers - Is the upgrade to Grenade Launchers 10 points for the whole unit as opposed to +10 points per model for each Launcher you equip?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/07 08:17:17


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Halfpast_Yellow wrote:Sorry if I've missed it, but couldn't find it last time I checked.

Can Standard Predators take both the Stormbolter and HK Missle and pay 10 points total, not 10 points per item, as opposed to every other vehicle in the Codex?
Also, Scout bikers - Is the upgrade to Grenade Launchers 10 points for the whole unit as opposed to +10 points per model for each Launcher you equip?
Very nice catch.

It seems that you can indeed interpret it that way. I'll add these to the next version. Just waiting for it to be worthwhile to update it.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine





Stevens Point, WI

Gwar! wrote:
airmang wrote:thanks! there was some question about it because it only references the one page of dedicated transports.
Yeah, I see that now I suspect it refers to the first page as it spreads over 2 pages, but the rule is very clear, it says ANY, not "Any of the three on page 90" I'll stick this into 1.3 for sure.




so that means that a terminator squad can take a rhino or razorback just for fun or even take it and have some other unit use it as it say "any" but states "see page 91" I think that means terminators can take landraiders and everything else can take rhinos razorbacks and drop pods. Also depending on the rules you might be able to put the terminators in the rhino. I know that in most cases the codex states that terminators can not ride in a rhino but I don't recall seeing that rule in the codex and do not have it in front of me at the moment to check.

Dark Angels 12,000 Points
Nurgle 2,000 Points
Imperial Guard 10,000 Points
Daemon Hunters 2,000 Points
Tau 2,500 points
Dark Eldar 2,000 points
Eldar 1,000 Points

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Bah, Dakka Ate my Post! :(

But no, it says they can take any Land Raider, while the others say Any Dedicated Transport. If it were only meant to be a Rhino, Razorback and Drop Pod, it would have said so.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/10 02:13:57


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Stalwart Dark Angels Space Marine





Stevens Point, WI

Sorry missed *inserts foot in mouth*.

Dark Angels 12,000 Points
Nurgle 2,000 Points
Imperial Guard 10,000 Points
Daemon Hunters 2,000 Points
Tau 2,500 points
Dark Eldar 2,000 points
Eldar 1,000 Points

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: