Switch Theme:

Charging into big combats  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dispassionate Imperial Judge






HATE Club, East London

So, a situation came up in a game yesterday that we were quite surprised we hadn't encountered before. Can we have some clarification?



1. Perversely Pink Phil, vile Chaos Marine of Slaanesh, charges into a unit of grots.
2. The unit of grots reacts, surrounding Phil, since they must all attempt to get into base contact. All of them can fight, though, as they are within 2" of a model from their unit who IS in base contact.
3. Combat happens, nobody breaks, Phil is still surrounded.
4. The nearby Big Scary Meganobz want to charge Phil and end the combat, but they can't since none of the Meganobz can get into base contact. Their charges automatically fail.
5. There is no way the grots can make room for the Meganobz, as in all pile-in, consolidate moves or whatever, they have to get as many models in base contact as possible.
6. Phil happily continues killing Grots until there aren't enough left to surround him, at which point the Meganobz can finally attack.

Correct?


   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka






Chicago

I believe so.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If you cannot move into base contact with any models, for any reason, you cannot assault.

So in this instance it could end up that Phil breaks the grots, they fall back and he is then free to assault or be assaulted. Or he could kill all but one or two, again allowing the meganobz that abiltiy to attack.

Until that happens the meganobz just get to cheer the grots on!
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





This is entirely correct,. It is one of those situations that just sounds dumb but I don't really see another way to resolve it other than the RaW?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Correct, the Grotz get in the way and the Meganobz cannot assault.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

yeah,
That's what we thought.
In the end the grots couldn't manage to kill Phil and he contested the objective saving the day for slaanesh...
Git.

Panic...

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: