Switch Theme:

Dark Angels Drop pods  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Green Bloater on 02/13/2007 9:24 AM

As far as drop pods go, the rule book states that models that arrived via deep strike cannot assault the same turn. As the drop pod and its passengers arrived via deep strike, they can't assault.


- Greenie


Well, I'm not saying it's a reasonable way to play, but by the rules as they happen to be written...

The troops in the pod aren't in play when the Deep Strike event happened.  Ergo, they didn't Deep Strike.

Without qualification, it looks like an issue that the rules for models inside transports (inasmuch as they are not in play until they disembark) weren't written in anticipation of transports that Deep Strike.  One would hope there will be qualification on the rules before the book gets released, one way or the other...

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

That is just plain stupid to be completely honest.

- Greenie

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

I apologize for what I said in the above post. I can see how there is some confusion regarding how deep strike applies to the drop pod versus the squad of Marines that are embarked. I do believe that GW does not intend for DA Marines to be able to assault the same turn they arrive from reserve. We will just have to wait and see what the FAQ and designer notes have to say.

- Greenie

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





Can anyone recount the RAW reasons for why a unit inside a transport would not be effected by an attack like Fury of the Ancients?

If the models are not being counted as "inside" the transport, then Marines would not be counted as inside the Drop Pod, and would only arrive on the table when they disembark.



=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DA:70+S++G+++M+++B++I++Pw40k00#+D++A++++/wWD250T(T)DM++
======End Dakka Geek Code======

http://jackhammer40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

As for the 12" move question -- you cannot normally disembark from a vehicle that moved over 12", however SM pods force disembarcation upon landing (and I'm assuming DA pods will have the same rule).

The big question is whether or not the unit inside the pod "counts as Deep Striking".  Everything else boils down to it.

Skyth-

If they work via Deep Strike, do they lose the "adjust scatter to not die" rules current SM pods have?

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Green Bloater on 02/13/2007 4:25 PM
I apologize for what I said in the above post. I can see how there is some confusion regarding how deep strike applies to the drop pod versus the squad of Marines that are embarked. I do believe that GW does not intend for DA Marines to be able to assault the same turn they arrive from reserve. We will just have to wait and see what the FAQ and designer notes have to say.
No need to apologize.  I agree with you in spirit, I just don't think the rules do.

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





As much as I hate to say it...this is a rule where common sense seems to apply, despite what RAW says.

If the pod deep-strikes...and the guys get out of the pod...how can you logically argue that they didn't arrive by deep-striking.

--Even if they aren't *in* the pod when the event occurs (which is rather stupid but RAW says it) they are still *arriving* on the table via deep-strike, which is the important part of the deep-strike rule. Furthermore, seeing as though said unit didn't arrive on the table by walking or infiltrating, there is only one other option...DEEP STRIKE.

How is there confusion here? I agree that the RAW argument is muddy at best, unlike most other "ambiguity" debates, where the RAW has been pretty much ignored... (as in the case of Fleet)

Ba-zziiing!



 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM

If they work via Deep Strike, do they lose the "adjust scatter to not die" rules current SM pods have?
yeah they still have that.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Posted By ColonelEllios on 02/14/2007 8:14 AM
--Even if they aren't *in* the pod when the event occurs (which is rather stupid but RAW says it) they are still *arriving* on the table via deep-strike, which is the important part of the deep-strike rule. Furthermore, seeing as though said unit didn't arrive on the table by walking or infiltrating, there is only one other option...DEEP STRIKE.

 

They are actually arriving via disembarkation.  If they were truely arriving by deepstriking, they'd have to scatter and form a ring when they ended up.

   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

You are misusing "assault move".  I repeat, you can never make an assault move out a vehicle.  You can only disembark from a vehicle during the MOVEMENT phase, after which you may make an assault move later in the turn if conditions a or b above apply.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

skyth: "They are actually arriving via disembarkation.  If they were truely arriving by deepstriking, they'd have to scatter and form a ring when they ended up."

No, they're arriving via your grubby little fingers placing them on the table. As is clearly stated in the rules: "Units arriving via grubby finger deployment cannot assault on the turn they arrive unless their those eldar thingies, or that one assasin, or that space marine guy, or anyone else we decide can do it later."

So it's perfectly obvious by the RAW that the drop pod cannot assault on the turn that it arrives, but the drop pod can assault on following turns. Of course, since the troops inside aren't deepstriking they're just performing a normal disembarkation move they must stay in the drop pod on the turn they arrive unless the distance between where the drop pod sat off-table and the placement on-table of the drop pod was <=12" (BGB pg 62). They may assault since the vehicle is open-topped but since they can't disembark thay can only assault enemy units within their own drop pod.

So it is written...


 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

OMG! I'm not even the one being schooled and my back end hurts o.O haha. Glaive is giving it to you all RAW people!

If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Posted By skyth on 02/14/2007 9:52 AM
Posted By ColonelEllios on 02/14/2007 8:14 AM
--Even if they aren't *in* the pod when the event occurs (which is rather stupid but RAW says it) they are still *arriving* on the table via deep-strike, which is the important part of the deep-strike rule. Furthermore, seeing as though said unit didn't arrive on the table by walking or infiltrating, there is only one other option...DEEP STRIKE.

 

They are actually arriving via disembarkation.  If they were truely arriving by deepstriking, they'd have to scatter and form a ring when they ended up.


Skyth, they arrive on the table via Deep Strike.  Check out the Reserve rules (p84-85), whee they discuss a unit and its transport, and it is explicitly stated that units may walk onto the table or come on in their transport.  Per the passage "passengers do not have to arrive mounted in the transport", it is clear that units coming onto the table in a transport ARE arriving on the table within it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:07 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

You are misusing "assault move".  I repeat, you can never make an assault move out a vehicle.  You can only disembark from a vehicle during the MOVEMENT phase, after which you may make an assault move later in the turn if conditions a or b above apply.

Sorry, you're exactly correct.  Posting pre-caffeine, etc, etc.

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:17 PM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:07 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

You are misusing "assault move".  I repeat, you can never make an assault move out a vehicle.  You can only disembark from a vehicle during the MOVEMENT phase, after which you may make an assault move later in the turn if conditions a or b above apply.

Sorry, you're exactly correct.  Posting pre-caffeine, etc, etc.

Wait!!!! Arn't them drop pods open topped?  and don't they pop as soon as they drop?  sounds to me like he has a pretty logical clear cut closed book case and you guys are just wrong.

If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Hey Paul. Are you and Honky Bro, brothers?

I have to say, "OMFZ!111! Honkey-Bro's sig is like, soooo big!". I never read his posts because they look like the header sentence to his sig.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Honkey Bro just quoted the hell out of you guys! Man, that's a quote of Lowinor quoting Mannahnin quoting Lowinor quoting Mannahnin quoting E.F. Hutton! Unfortunately though Honkey Bro it is not a clear cut as you describe actually it is pretty un clear cut or uncut as some would say. Actually, the drop pods are subject to holy rage when used in a Dark Angels force so it gets pretty muddled.

No hellfury, we're not brothers, at least not in the traditional sense.  We do share that common bond that can only come from countless hours of time spent in the same office eating the same microwaveable food and drinking enough Mountain Dew to see into the future.


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Glaive Company CO on 02/14/2007 1:10 PM

So it's perfectly obvious by the RAW that the drop pod cannot assault on the turn that it arrives, but the drop pod can assault on following turns. Of course, since the troops inside aren't deepstriking they're just performing a normal disembarkation move they must stay in the drop pod on the turn they arrive unless the distance between where the drop pod sat off-table and the placement on-table of the drop pod was <=12" (BGB pg 62). They may assault since the vehicle is open-topped but since they can't disembark thay can only assault enemy units within their own drop pod.

So it is written...


That doesn't work.  By their own rules, models inside a drop pod are forced to disembark on the turn they arrive.

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Hellfury on 02/14/2007 1:20 PM
Hey Paul. Are you and Honky Bro, brothers?

I have to say, "OMFZ!111! Honkey-Bro's sig is like, soooo big!". I never read his posts because they look like the header sentence to his sig.


No one reads my posts unfortunately.  Which is sad becaues I am responsible for like idk 10% of the dakka rules on here.  I coined the term RAW and Magic Cylindar.

If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:26 PM
Posted By Glaive Company CO on 02/14/2007 1:10 PM

So it's perfectly obvious by the RAW that the drop pod cannot assault on the turn that it arrives, but the drop pod can assault on following turns. Of course, since the troops inside aren't deepstriking they're just performing a normal disembarkation move they must stay in the drop pod on the turn they arrive unless the distance between where the drop pod sat off-table and the placement on-table of the drop pod was <=12" (BGB pg 62). They may assault since the vehicle is open-topped but since they can't disembark thay can only assault enemy units within their own drop pod.

So it is written...


That doesn't work.  By their own rules, models inside a drop pod are forced to disembark on the turn they arrive.

So you are breaking the rules and as such can only play in games that allow House Rules and your army can never be used in a tournament.  Thank for buying games workshop, and never ask me for a game.

If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:26 PM
Posted By Glaive Company CO on 02/14/2007 1:10 PM

So it's perfectly obvious by the RAW that the drop pod cannot assault on the turn that it arrives, but the drop pod can assault on following turns. Of course, since the troops inside aren't deepstriking they're just performing a normal disembarkation move they must stay in the drop pod on the turn they arrive unless the distance between where the drop pod sat off-table and the placement on-table of the drop pod was <=12" (BGB pg 62). They may assault since the vehicle is open-topped but since they can't disembark thay can only assault enemy units within their own drop pod.

So it is written...


That doesn't work.  By their own rules, models inside a drop pod are forced to disembark on the turn they arrive.

Ha!  Doesn't work like a fox!  You see, they are forced to NOT disembark by the BGB!  Of course, this means that they cannot automatically not disembark.  I think that clears it up.

 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Posted By Honkey Bro on 02/14/2007 1:19 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:17 PM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:07 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

You are misusing "assault move".  I repeat, you can never make an assault move out a vehicle.  You can only disembark from a vehicle during the MOVEMENT phase, after which you may make an assault move later in the turn if conditions a or b above apply.

Sorry, you're exactly correct.  Posting pre-caffeine, etc, etc.

Wait!!!! Arn't them drop pods open topped?  and don't they pop as soon as they drop?  sounds to me like he has a pretty logical clear cut closed book case and you guys are just wrong.

Yeah they pop open automatically and the troops are forced to disembark when they arrive. Travelling faster than 12" is the only thing that does not allow a transport to disembark its infantry. But again, because forced disembarkation makes the unknown distance moved by the drop pod irrelevant, it has no affect on allowing the troops to assault.

Hence being open topped only disallows disembarkation after distances it travelled being greater than 12". It doesnt disallow the troops to assault once they disembark.

I am just playing devils advocate here, as I still think being able to do this is crap, but the people for this side of the argument atleast have some ground to stand on.

   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Posted By Honkey Bro on 02/14/2007 1:27 PM
Posted By Hellfury on 02/14/2007 1:20 PM
Hey Paul. Are you and Honky Bro, brothers?

I have to say, "OMFZ!111! Honkey-Bro's sig is like, soooo big!". I never read his posts because they look like the header sentence to his sig.


No one reads my posts unfortunately.  Which is sad becaues I am responsible for like idk 10% of the dakka rules on here.  I coined the term RAW and Magic Cylindar.
Really? So you were around in 2000 when we had those pleasant LOS issues on YMDC? Odd I dont remember you from then.

   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Hellfury on 02/14/2007 1:28 PM
Posted By Honkey Bro on 02/14/2007 1:19 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:17 PM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:07 PM
Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 8:00 AM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/12/2007 9:24 AM
No. But that’s not the reason. You can never make an assault move from within a vehicle in any event. You’re not able to disembark out of a vehicle which moved over 12” in the first place.
You can make an assault move out of:

a) any vehicle, so long as the unit embarked disembarks before the vehicle moves
b) an open-topped vehicle.

You are misusing "assault move".  I repeat, you can never make an assault move out a vehicle.  You can only disembark from a vehicle during the MOVEMENT phase, after which you may make an assault move later in the turn if conditions a or b above apply.

Sorry, you're exactly correct.  Posting pre-caffeine, etc, etc.

Wait!!!! Arn't them drop pods open topped?  and don't they pop as soon as they drop?  sounds to me like he has a pretty logical clear cut closed book case and you guys are just wrong.

Yeah they pop open automatically and the troops are forced to disembark when they arrive. Travelling faster than 12" is the only thing that does not allow a transport to disembark its infantry. But again, because forced disembarkation makes the unknown distance moved by the drop pod irrelevant, it has no affect on allowing the troops to assault.

Hence being open topped only disallows disembarkation after distances it travelled being greater than 12". It doesnt disallow the troops to assault once they disembark.

I am just playing devils advocate here, as I still think being able to do this is crap, but the people for this side of the argument atleast have some ground to stand on.
But perhaps you are forgetting that if a unit is forced out of their transport (like when a pen hit comes in) they are pinned if the vehicle moved more than x amount of inches.  So I say they need to take a pinning test when they come out.



If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik






Minneapolis, MN

Posted By Honkey Bro on 02/14/2007 1:31 PM

But perhaps you are forgetting that if a unit is forced out of their transport (like when a pen hit comes in) they are pinned if the vehicle moved more than x amount of inches.  So I say they need to take a pinning test when they come out.

What page number is that on?
I need to read that.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Very good point Honkey Bro!  You've really gotten close to the mark there.  Of course though, as usual, you're way off. Thay can assault after they disembark from a drop pod but they are then considered pinned.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:12 PM

Skyth, they arrive on the table via Deep Strike.  Check out the Reserve rules (p84-85), whee they discuss a unit and its transport, and it is explicitly stated that units may walk onto the table or come on in their transport.  Per the passage "passengers do not have to arrive mounted in the transport", it is clear that units coming onto the table in a transport ARE arriving on the table within it.

You're claiming that "arriving via a transport that Deep Strikes" is the same as "arriving via Deep Strike".  You're also claiming that parts of the Deep Strike special rule apply to units that don't have that special rule*.

Fundamentally, there is a set of rules that govern how transport movement affects movement/assault options for troops in those transports.  Deep Striking is not covered by these rules.  I assert that claiming that Deep Strike "filters down" to the troops is unsupported by the rules as written.  I'm not suggesting that anyone plays it this way.

Following that line of argumentation, were I, playing Chaos, to summon daemons off of a Chosen squad that used Deep Strike to land, they could not assault on the turn they were summoned, because they "arrived via Deep Strike".


* Yes, the next result is that it works differently for a termy squad with the Deep Strike special rule working totally differently.  No, it doesn't make any sense.  No, I'm not telling anyone to play it that way.

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Hellfury on 02/14/2007 1:33 PM
Posted By Honkey Bro on 02/14/2007 1:31 PM

But perhaps you are forgetting that if a unit is forced out of their transport (like when a pen hit comes in) they are pinned if the vehicle moved more than x amount of inches.  So I say they need to take a pinning test when they come out.

What page number is that on?
I need to read that.



I am looking it up now, while you wait, please start rolling your casualties and/or pinning tests as detailed in the table below.


If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Flashy Flashgitz




Port Orchard, WA

Posted By Lowinor on 02/14/2007 1:37 PM
Posted By Mannahnin on 02/14/2007 1:12 PM

Skyth, they arrive on the table via Deep Strike.  Check out the Reserve rules (p84-85), whee they discuss a unit and its transport, and it is explicitly stated that units may walk onto the table or come on in their transport.  Per the passage "passengers do not have to arrive mounted in the transport", it is clear that units coming onto the table in a transport ARE arriving on the table within it.

You're claiming that "arriving via a transport that Deep Strikes" is the same as "arriving via Deep Strike".  You're also claiming that parts of the Deep Strike special rule apply to units that don't have that special rule*.

Fundamentally, there is a set of rules that govern how transport movement affects movement/assault options for troops in those transports.  Deep Striking is not covered by these rules.  I assert that claiming that Deep Strike "filters down" to the troops is unsupported by the rules as written.  I'm not suggesting that anyone plays it this way.

Following that line of argumentation, were I, playing Chaos, to summon daemons off of a Chosen squad that used Deep Strike to land, they could not assault on the turn they were summoned, because they "arrived via Deep Strike".


* Yes, the next result is that it works differently for a termy squad with the Deep Strike special rule working totally differently.  No, it doesn't make any sense.  No, I'm not telling anyone to play it that way.
Oh My God!


If you didn't shed a tear during the opening attack by the Decepticons in the movie than you sir are obviously an android or some form of unfeeling robot and you have no place on these forums.

If you don't pump your arms up and down everytime you hear the song "You've got the Touch" from the soundtrack than you must be some sort of tone deaf mutant who only listens to music made after 1992. Everyone knows this is pointless since modern music fails to rock anybody's face anymore and is really only made by Danny Elfman and an army of MIDI programmed automatons.

If you haven't gotten into arguments about how Rodamus Prime is nothing compared to the true leader of the Autobots, Optimus Prime than I question your manhood entirely. Even if you are actually a woman, I still question your manhood. I mean Optimus was paterned after the Duke for crying out loud! That's a recipe that can never fail in television, friends. Never!

For those that don't know let me break it down for you. We were living in a time when all we had was shows like the Superfriends which was Hanna Barbera's way of trying to make all children incredibly stupid every time they watched TV. It worked. For those that could escape we weren't any the better for it. We merely had new horrors like He-man and the masters of the Universe and the Thundercats. Although both shows left me sexually aroused the entertainment value was lacking. - Glaive 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Lexington, KY

Posted By Hellfury on 02/14/2007 1:28 PM

Yeah they pop open automatically and the troops are forced to disembark when they arrive. Travelling faster than 12" is the only thing that does not allow a transport to disembark its infantry. But again, because forced disembarkation makes the unknown distance moved by the drop pod irrelevant, it has no affect on allowing the troops to assault.

Hence being open topped only disallows disembarkation after distances it travelled being greater than 12". It doesnt disallow the troops to assault once they disembark.

I am just playing devils advocate here, as I still think being able to do this is crap, but the people for this side of the argument atleast have some ground to stand on.

Total agreement here.

Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: