Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:19:38
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
davidson wrote:Arhiman only being able to use one shooting attack power a turn hurts him alot. It pretty much ignores some poor wording under the Black Staff. I don't know why anyone would take him now.
I think you misread it.
He can use multiple shooting powers... he can't use ONE shooting power multiple times.
He can use one NON-shooting power multiple times, though.
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:24:22
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Boss_Salvage wrote:And apparently you can kill with the lash, if you're slamming bikers or jumpers though terrain :S
- Salvage
Well, you always could do that to bikes. I've done it before... it didn't work, but would have been hilarious.
Jumpers, though, is different. Notice in the FAQ/Erratta that it says the player may choose whether to use Jump packs or walk. You won't be cheap-shotting any jump packers that way.
Also... Am I the only one who thinks it sucks that you can't, apparently, Lash a pinned unit?
Eric
|
Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:27:15
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Surprised there was no clarification regarding Eldrad's staff and casting a second shooting-power.
|
- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress
If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain
The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain
DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:30:15
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
MagickalMemories wrote:
Jumpers, though, is different. Notice in the FAQ/Erratta that it says the player may choose whether to use Jump packs or walk. You won't be cheap-shotting any jump packers that way.
Also... Am I the only one who thinks it sucks that you can't, apparently, Lash a pinned unit?
Eric
Actually it says the moving player (who is the player who cast lash) gets to choose how the jumpers move, so yeah you can slam them into trees.
And no, I don't personally think it sucks that you can't lash pinned troops, I think its appropriate.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:37:44
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
tegeus-Cromis wrote:
Edit 2: Just noticed that the ruling on WG in Serpents is rather irksome. It does not state that a Warlock attached to a unit of embarked WG negates their Wraithsight, which seems rather unfair.
I really hate to complain on this Sacred Day of FAQ Release, but yeah that is annoying. So Farseer in a vehicle is not on the table and can't cast powers, but WG in Serpents are? Booooo
|
- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress
If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain
The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain
DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:40:21
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ubermosher wrote:tegeus-Cromis wrote:
Edit 2: Just noticed that the ruling on WG in Serpents is rather irksome. It does not state that a Warlock attached to a unit of embarked WG negates their Wraithsight, which seems rather unfair.
I really hate to complain on this Sacred Day of FAQ Release, but yeah that is annoying. So Farseer in a vehicle is not on the table and can't cast powers, but WG in Serpents are? Booooo
My first reaction to this ruling was similar to your reaction. But then I remembered if the leaked 5th edition PDF holds true in 5th edition models in transports no longer count as being off the table, so this ruling would then be in line with the rest of the game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/15 19:40:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:55:45
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Ok so, am I wrong in that the Chaos FAQ asked whether the whip using player could bundle the target unit's minis together, but failed to actually answer it? Am I missing that?
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 19:58:50
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
jfrazell wrote:Ok so, am I wrong in that the Chaos FAQ asked whether the whip using player could bundle the target unit's minis together, but failed to actually answer it? Am I missing that?
You're wrong. It says that the Lash is normal movement up to the amount rolled. So that means the controlling player (the lash player) can move the models any way he sees fit within that distance, including bunching the models up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 20:12:47
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
In 4th, by RAW, fleet is as valid as shooting after DS.
Or perhaps everyone I have played with simply abuses me and I am too friendly.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 20:14:33
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Ugh. Ba-roken. I'm only going to bring one lash to Saturday's tournament instead of two.
But at least it's clear. That's the most important thing.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 20:18:01
Subject: Re:New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
I am glad to see many points I have argued about regarding the Eldar Codex have come to pass, and errata/clarifications being made.
Errata such as the vibro cannon shooting in a straight line (though I think it is obvious that it was meant to do so, it was still worth clarifying so you dont get the snaking line winding its way among units).
Clarifications such as:
Vibro cannon LOS.
Swooping Hawks being able to rubber bounce.
Guardian heavy weapon crew coherency.
I would like to thank General Hobbs for arguing with me by proof of asserition ad nauseaum to make this come to pass. *coughIWINcough*
[edited to add links to pertinent articles of discussion.]
Note Yakface adamantly saying that it was not GW's intention to allow Swooping hawks to "rubber hawk".... *coughIWINAGAINcough*
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/05/15 21:21:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 20:18:18
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Thanks Yakmeister. Would have been good for them to directly state so the mouthbreathers like myself could understand. But that follows RAW.
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 20:38:44
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
MagickalMemories wrote:davidson wrote:Arhiman only being able to use one shooting attack power a turn hurts him alot. It pretty much ignores some poor wording under the Black Staff. I don't know why anyone would take him now.
I think you misread it.
He can use multiple shooting powers... he can't use ONE shooting power multiple times.
He can use one NON-shooting power multiple times, though.
Eric
Understood but in play it doesn't mater. If I need to take out a tank, being able to bolt of change and doom bolt doesn't help me. It was when you could cast bolt of change 3 times vs a tank or doom bolt 3 times to take out troops. For 250 points I can just build a better sorcer/ hq with points to spare.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 21:11:48
Subject: Re:New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Why must they nerf my ultimate skimmer killing machine. Poop.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 21:57:20
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
yakface wrote:ubermosher wrote:tegeus-Cromis wrote:
Edit 2: Just noticed that the ruling on WG in Serpents is rather irksome. It does not state that a Warlock attached to a unit of embarked WG negates their Wraithsight, which seems rather unfair.
I really hate to complain on this Sacred Day of FAQ Release, but yeah that is annoying. So Farseer in a vehicle is not on the table and can't cast powers, but WG in Serpents are? Booooo
My first reaction to this ruling was similar to your reaction. But then I remembered if the leaked 5th edition PDF holds true in 5th edition models in transports no longer count as being off the table, so this ruling would then be in line with the rest of the game.
If so, I withdraw my complaint. Cheers.
Oh... is the hat tip to you by GW a tacit message that we can direct all whining about tardy FAQ's in the future to you?
|
- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress
If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain
The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain
DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 22:03:02
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
Detroit,MI
|
now I want them to clarify if 13th co. can hot a skimer on a 3+ with mark of the wulfen
|
妖é”鬼怪快点跑 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 22:44:38
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, according to the wording on the faq, it says that phoenix lords can only use their powers with aspect warriors. However, it does not say only aspect warriors of the same aspect as the phoenix lord. I don't have a eldar codex on me but it seems to me that you could have infiltrating banshees (if you attached Kahrandras) or Scorpions with the defend power (if you took Asurmen). Someone tell me I'm wrong. I don't have the 'dex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 22:56:43
Subject: Re:New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I only read the CSM one as that's my army. If find the following interesting:
1) Smoke launcher use for Dread that fires frenzies. Glad they clarified this for all those who thought Dreads weren't too bad because of the smoke end around. Dreads just plain suck now.
2) Appears you can "mob up" with lash. This especially true with the change from a "must" to a "move up to" interpretation on the movement distance.
3) Two ranged psychic powers in the same round for a Monstrous Creature shows rules for 5th. Dakkafex still exists.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 23:04:36
Subject: Re:New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
Buzzsaw wrote:Oh, and other then the errata in Beasts of Chaos (no mixing), are there any changes there people have noticed?
Other than that small change? No, I haven't noticed anything.
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/15 23:19:51
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Sgt_Scruffy wrote:Well, according to the wording on the faq, it says that phoenix lords can only use their powers with aspect warriors. However, it does not say only aspect warriors of the same aspect as the phoenix lord.
It doesn't need to. Phoenix Lords can't join Aspect Warrior squads of a different Aspect, so it's simply not an issue.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 00:00:35
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
Seattle, WA
|
jfrazell wrote:Thanks Yakmeister. Would have been good for them to directly state so the mouthbreathers like myself could understand. But that follows RAW.
Anything that hurts MEQs is fine with me. Bunching up marines and then hit them with a Demolisher is fun.
Now we're going to hear Marine players whine again.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 00:08:48
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
jfrazell wrote:Thanks Yakmeister. Would have been good for them to directly state so the mouthbreathers like myself could understand. But that follows RAW.
I'm curious. Does your gaming circle use the term "mouthbreathers" also, or are you taking it from one of my posts?
|
There is an attitude that not having an insanely optimized, one shot, six stage, omnidirectional, inevitable, mousetrap of an assassin list army somehow means that you have foolishly wasted your life building 500 points of pure, 24 karat, hand rolled, fine, cuban fail. That attitude has been shown, under laboratory conditions, to cause cancer of the fun gland.
- palaeomerus
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 00:17:09
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
tegeus-Cromis wrote:Just noticed that the ruling on WG in Serpents is rather irksome. It does not state that a Warlock attached to a unit of embarked WG negates their Wraithsight, which seems rather unfair.
It doesn't need to state that. A Warlock attached to the unit is definitely "within 6" of the vehicle."
On a side note, I'm really stoked that the erratta seem to confirm that units inside transports don't seem to be considered "off the table." My guess is that psychic powers will still be blocked from ebing used out of the vehicle (except possibly through fire ports), but the off chance that powers might still be able affect the vehicle _itself_ makes my little Serpent-Fortuning schemes seem a bit more realistic.
|
Infinity: Way, way better than 40K and more affordable to boot!
"If you gather 250 consecutive issues of White Dwarf, and burn them atop a pyre of Citadel spray guns, legend has it Gwar will appear and answer a single rules-related question. " -Ouze |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 00:35:57
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
tegeus-Cromis wrote:Intercept: Stupid, pointless nerf. Yeah, that'll show those imba Hawks.
I didn't see intercept mentioned at all. Am I missing something?
I notice the Eldar FAQ didn't address fleeting jetbikes, though they did address fleeting autarchs w/warp generator (Says that even though warp spiders can't fleet, the autarch can-lends credence to Bikes being able to fleet).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0005/05/16 00:57:20
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
skyth: Yes, you are missing something. You are missing the errata that limits Intercept to working on vehicles without a WS.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/05/16 00:59:00
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 01:06:50
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Mutating Changebringer
|
Nurglitch wrote:skyth: Yes, you are missing something. You are missing the errata that limits Intercept to working on vehicles without a WS.
I'm not sure I understand how the FAQ change is a nerf; intercept still allows Hawks to hit skimmers and other fast moving vehicles on 4+, and they already hit everything with a WS on 4+, don't they? Actually the hawks hit on 4+, the Exarch (who must be there for anyone to have intercept) is hitting all vehicles with a WS on 3+, no? Are there any vehicles with a WS higher then 4?
SM and CSM Dreads are WS4, Defilers, Soul Grinders, War Walkers and sentinels are WS 3. I don't have the Ork codex, but I assume their WS is along those lines. Aren't Hawks already always hitting WS vehicles on 4+ or 3+?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/05/16 01:11:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 01:14:46
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Buzzsaw wrote:Nurglitch wrote:skyth: Yes, you are missing something. You are missing the errata that limits Intercept to working on vehicles without a WS.
I'm not sure I understand how the FAQ change is a nerf; intercept still allows Hawks to hit skimmers and other fast moving vehicles on 4+, and they already hit everything with a WS on 4+, don't they? Actually the hawks hit on 4+, the Exarch (who must be there for anyone to have intercept) is hitting all vehicles with a WS on 3+, no? Are there any vehicles with a WS higher then 4?
The nerf comes into play in that Hawks can only affect a Walker with Haywire Grenades... and unless stunned, Grenades only hit a Walker on a 6+. It was argued that Intercept allowed Grenades to hit Walkers on a 4+.
|
- Craftworld Kai-Thaine
- Task Force Defiance 36
- Sunwolves Great Company
- 4th Company Imperial Fists
- Hive Fleet Scylla - In progress
If the man doesn't believe as we do, we say he is a crank, and that settles it. I mean, it does nowadays, because now we can't burn him. - M. Twain
The world owes you nothing. It was here first. - M. Twain
DR:70+S++G+++MB-I--Pw40k03+D++A+++/rWD-R+T(R)DM++
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 01:15:47
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'm not claiming that it is a "nerf".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 02:04:34
Subject: Re:New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Horrific Horror
|
Anyone else a little surprised that they took the most powerful and user-lenient approach to Lash?
|
If that upsets your fluff stomach, buy a case of "it's just a game"-bizmo and get over it. -Mahu
Men are like steel. When they lose their temper, they lose their worth. -Chuck Norris |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/05/16 02:05:38
Subject: New FAQ's up on GW UK Site
|
 |
Owns Whole Set of Skullz Techpriests
Versteckt in den Schatten deines Geistes.
|
The only one in the Eldar FAQ that I think is stupid is that Fire Prisms can contribute fire when they're out of range. Yes, it's 60", yes, the chances of that ever happening are slim, but even so - if they can't do it whe shaken/stunned then they should have to be in range.
Skyleap in the same turn as arriving sure is interesting, as is the Warp Spider move after Deep Striking.
BYE
|
|
|
 |
 |
|