Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 16:49:08
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
here's 1 I saw for guard..
Q. Are you required to spend a doctrine point to
be able to take Storm Troopers and then an
additional doctrine point for Grenadiers?
A. No just the one, Storm Troopers are Imperial
troops assigned to a regiment in the field.
Grenadiers are elite members of the same
regiment.
So, what if you wanted a stormtrooper army, using 3 elite stormtrooper units and 3 units of grenadiers... then you have to use 2 doctrines? or still just 1?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 16:50:29
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Dal'yth Dude wrote:Not much changes to the Tau Empire FAQ. They did reverse their ruling on O'Shova needing a second commander though.
I honestly don't understand how some of those FAQs were actually FAQs. They seem pretty cut and dried to me from reading the rules.
ooh... I need to check something out now... I'm in the office so I can't check.
Am I right in thinking that all models with Jetpacks count as having the Relentless (is it relentless? the move and fire special rule thingy) rule? If so Marker drones and Stealthsuits can now move and fire markerlights.
So if I'm right it means that you can arm Broadsides with ASS and marker drones and still move and fire... And sniper drones can also move and fire.
Or am I on a very special type of broken?
Flinty
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 16:55:14
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Imperial Agent Provocateur
Missouri, USA
|
Flinty wrote:Dal'yth Dude wrote:Not much changes to the Tau Empire FAQ. They did reverse their ruling on O'Shova needing a second commander though.
I honestly don't understand how some of those FAQs were actually FAQs. They seem pretty cut and dried to me from reading the rules.
ooh... I need to check something out now... I'm in the office so I can't check.
Am I right in thinking that all models with Jetpacks count as having the Relentless (is it relentless? the move and fire special rule thingy) rule? If so Marker drones and Stealthsuits can now move and fire markerlights.
So if I'm right it means that you can arm Broadsides with ASS and marker drones and still move and fire... And sniper drones can also move and fire.
Or am I on a very special type of broken?
Flinty
Drones become the unit type they're attached to so yes on move and fire markers in Crisis and Stealth teams (They count as Jet Packs), but no on move and fire drones in sniper teams or for broadside marker drones (they count as infantry and ASS does not apply to them as per the FAQ entry).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 16:58:54
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Now this is an interesting one:
Q. How does a heavy weapon crew mounted on a single base work in the game?
A. Heavy weapon crews are supplied with a large base to contain both crewmen and the weapon for convenience of movement. Treat them as two separate models, imagining a 25mm round base underneath each Guardsman when this is required. If the loader is killed, place a dice or other suitable marker onto the base next to it. If the gunner is killed, the loader will take his place, assume that the loader has been killed instead.
Very interesting...
BYE
Did I miss something? I've been playing it like that since the very begining.. did something change?
I do like how they've reclarified that they are technically supposed to count as 2 25mm bases. Thus 1 blast template that barely touches the model shouldn't be able to do two wounds and snipe the heavy weapons team. Though... they don't actually SAY that, so I'm sure it'll be argued to death.
|
Iorek on Zombie Dong wrote:I know you'll all keep thinking about it. Admit it. Some of you may even make it your avatar
Yup. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:02:00
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Interesting FAQs. Any word about a Demon FAQ?
|
Falcon Punch!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:07:30
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Rosicrucian wrote:
Drones become the unit type they're attached to so yes on move and fire markers in Crisis and Stealth teams (They count as Jet Packs), but no on move and fire drones in sniper teams or for broadside marker drones (they count as infantry and ASS does not apply to them as per the FAQ entry).
hmm... I need to re-read the drone section of the codex but I thought that drones all have jet packs. Or was that in the old codex?
It was my understanding that Shield drones took on the T and armour characteristics of whatever unit they were attached to but otherwise all drones were fitted with jetpacks as standard.
roll on end of work
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:10:35
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Imperial Agent Provocateur
Missouri, USA
|
Flinty wrote:Rosicrucian wrote:
Drones become the unit type they're attached to so yes on move and fire markers in Crisis and Stealth teams (They count as Jet Packs), but no on move and fire drones in sniper teams or for broadside marker drones (they count as infantry and ASS does not apply to them as per the FAQ entry).
hmm... I need to re-read the drone section of the codex but I thought that drones all have jet packs. Or was that in the old codex?
It was my understanding that Shield drones took on the T and armour characteristics of whatever unit they were attached to but otherwise all drones were fitted with jetpacks as standard.
roll on end of work 
Only independent Gun Drones are explicitly Jet Pack infantry. Every other drone is "As owner" and doesn't mention Jet Packs at all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:13:37
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
A bizarre array of focusing mirrors and lenses turning my phrases into even more accurate clones of
|
Drone unit types are "as owner" aside from independent gun drone squads. Gun drones cannot jump during assault if they are controlled by a firewarrior, for example.
|
WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS WARHAMS
2009, Year of the Dog
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:25:37
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Sigh, Repentias now have a liability instead of a benefit with Holy Rage. They only get it on a 1 or 2, but now all it does is make them go at the nearest unit. No additional movement. So now to get the effect they had before, that wasn't great, I have to run, which means I can't assault that phase. Now the reroll will be used so they DON'T get rage.
Tyranid Fearless creatures don't have to roll instinctive behavior now either.
|
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:32:11
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Brotherhood of Blood
|
Landraider are back in a big way. I could see 2-3 in a GK army now as it takes care of thier anti armor problems. That's 6 seperate twin linked lascannon shots being thrown around. Very, very nice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:35:05
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:The DH FAQ seems to contradict itself.
At the start it says:
"Daemonhunters may not ally with any detachment that uses any other kind of ally (Kroot Mercs. etc,)."
It then says on the second page:
"Yes, Daemonhunter and Witch Hunter units may both be taken as allies in the same army."
C'mon guys, make up your minds.
BYE
They should
Actual german faq:
DH can not be allies,if you have other allies already for your army.Exception is another inquisition ordo.
Add DH to IG plus add WH !  or xenohunters if they ever apppear.
Available as allies to: space marines (all variants), imperial guard, For DH the WH and vice versa.
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:35:18
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
The Last Chancer Who Survived
|
oh, I woulda liked to see that rumoed IG platoon drill added for them, where they can shoot through their platoon-mates and not give the bad guys a cover save.. guess we'll have to wait and pray that's in the new codex.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 17:40:57
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander
|
Necros wrote:here's 1 I saw for guard..
Q. Are you required to spend a doctrine point to
be able to take Storm Troopers and then an
additional doctrine point for Grenadiers?
A. No just the one, Storm Troopers are Imperial
troops assigned to a regiment in the field.
Grenadiers are elite members of the same
regiment.
So, what if you wanted a stormtrooper army, using 3 elite stormtrooper units and 3 units of grenadiers... then you have to use 2 doctrines? or still just 1?
just 2 ! 1 to get stormtroopers. 1 to get stormtroopers as 0-3 troop-choice on your foc. 1+1= for us > 2 /for trolls > 1
|
Target locked,ready to fire
In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.
H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 18:04:42
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Dal'yth Dude wrote:I honestly don't understand how some of those FAQs were actually FAQs. They seem pretty cut and dried to me from reading the rules.
Because 40k is the game of people not wanting to play by the actual rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 18:17:38
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
So Lictors DO need to Deep Strike into Impassable Terrain to be safe 100%. . .
"All Tyranids are Infantry, unless otherwise stated" - So Spore Mines can run, and Zoanthopes cannot?
Time to pry the rippers off the random other Tyranids and make more swarm bases.
Thornback looks cool. And takes points to do so.
Fearless = Brood Telepathy! That makes the previous FAQs logical, who knew?
Barbed Strangler Carnifex all got their wasted 5 points back, so what to add. . .
Most of the rest were pretty much expected. . . except the Rending MC thing. That is FUNNY.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/11 18:18:51
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 18:26:28
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Lexington, KY
|
The Machine Spirit rules don't mention BS2. And it specifies different unit, which means the Redeemer can flame two squads...
Big one for the Space Wolves:
Q. Can a Wolf Guard Battle Leader select Wolf Guard Bodyguard heavy weapons?
A. Yes
So, most marines are going to a single Assault Cannon per squad. Space Wolves just went to three.
|
Stop trolling us so Lowinor and I can go back to beating each other's faces in. -pretre |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 18:50:00
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Imperial Agent Provocateur
Missouri, USA
|
Lowinor wrote:The Machine Spirit rules don't mention BS2. And it specifies different unit, which means the Redeemer can flame two squads...
Big one for the Space Wolves:
Q. Can a Wolf Guard Battle Leader select Wolf Guard Bodyguard heavy weapons?
A. Yes
So, most marines are going to a single Assault Cannon per squad. Space Wolves just went to three.
Heh, it's like a throwback to 2nd edition.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:00:59
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
kirsanth wrote:So Lictors DO need to Deep Strike into Impassable Terrain to be safe 100%. . .
"All Tyranids are Infantry, unless otherwise stated" - So Spore Mines can run, and Zoanthopes cannot?
Why would you say that?
Thornback looks cool. And takes points to do so.
I'm not seeing anything about Thornback, what am I missing?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:01:29
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
[MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Cozy cockpit of an Archer ARC-5S
|
stonefox wrote:CaptKaruthors wrote:We've played it that way for years when it came to those big bases.
Capt K
H.B.M.C. wrote:Now this is an interesting one:
Q. How does a heavy weapon crew mounted on a single base work in the game?
A. Heavy weapon crews are supplied with a large base to contain both crewmen and the weapon for convenience of movement. Treat them as two separate models, imagining a 25mm round base underneath each Guardsman when this is required. If the loader is killed, place a dice or other suitable marker onto the base next to it. If the gunner is killed, the loader will take his place, assume that the loader has been killed instead.
Very interesting...
BYE
Right. That was great before. It worked fine. But now, it's the ONLY model that can shift wounds around. When a marine plasma gunner gets killed, it gets killed. Same as any other special and heavy gunner.
You can always assume that the loader has been trained in the operation of the heavy weapon as well.
|
Fatum Iustum Stultorum
Fiat justitia ruat caelum
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:04:30
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
I think on the second part he was being facetious Yak.
|
I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:04:37
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
stonefox wrote:
Right. That was great before. It worked fine. But now, it's the ONLY model that can shift wounds around. When a marine plasma gunner gets killed, it gets killed. Same as any other special and heavy gunner.
Marines don't have two models that make up a heavy weapon team.
Eldar guardians do, and now both work pretty similar to each other (when it comes to casualty removal) as it should IMHO.
toreador wrote:I think on the second part he was being facetious Yak.
Aaaaah, thanks. Got it.
I feel stupid now!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/07/11 19:05:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:11:58
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Enginseer's servitors don't come out of it's wargear allowance any more.  They've still not fixed the Hellion strength bonus thing for Dark Eldar.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/07/11 19:13:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:13:46
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bar nothing, my favorite bit is the Deceiver Deceiving Fearless units SO HARD that they DIE!
|
All in all, fact is that Warhammer 40K has never been as balanced as it is now, and codex releases have never been as interesting as they are now (new units and vehicles and tons of new special rules/strategies each release -- not just the same old crap with a few changes in statlines and points costs).
-Therion
_______________________________________
New Codexia's Finest Hour - my fluff about the change between codexes, roughly novel length. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:17:31
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
yakface wrote:kirsanth wrote:So Lictors DO need to Deep Strike into Impassable Terrain to be safe 100%. . .
"All Tyranids are Infantry, unless otherwise stated" - So Spore Mines can run, and Zoanthopes cannot?
Why would you say that?
The Lictor thing or the running thing?
Running I could read either way. Zoanthropes are "living artillery" which I guess can still be infantry, but seems odd. The Mines although "mindless" do not even follow the "living ammunition" rules - and have no text otherwise.
Tomorow = book, but I thought it was infantry that could run.
Lictors can Deep Strike into Impassable Terrain. There are no rules for taking Dangerous Terrain test in Impassable Terrain unless the models are Skimmers or Jump Troops. Lictors are neither. Since they cannot entirely miss the area they target, and basically no one else can be there, it is safe - and no roll needed. Into all other terrain the roll is needed.
No?
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:40:12
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Lowinor wrote:Big one for the Space Wolves:
Q. Can a Wolf Guard Battle Leader select Wolf Guard Bodyguard heavy weapons?
A. Yes
Regardless about how I feel about the Space Wolves getting 3 Assault Cannons in a squad, all I can say is WOOT! to finally getting a straight ruling on this!
|
Man, I wish there was a real Black Library where I could get a Black Library Card and take out Black Library Books without having to buy them. Of course, late fees would be your soul. But it would be worth it. - InquisitorMack |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:50:22
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Q. Does the cost of an Enginseer's servitors count against his Wargear limit of 50 points?
A. No
I have not bought Servitors or an Enginseer for YEARS because the previous FAQ prevented me from making an actual squad. YEARS! Despite being interested in the unit, I never bought them because of that silly ruling. If they would have fixed this lame rule five years ago, I could have gotten five years of enjoyment out of them.
Also, the Calidus Assassin's brainscrew gun is one handed, now, but do two one-handed weapons still give +1 attacks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 19:52:51
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Getting my broom incase there is shenanigans.
|
Inq things I noticed
Mystics can now shoot at SM Drop Pods.
When Callidus assassin jumps out of combat, the unit they left can now charge (so the Callidus can now always be charged by the unit it leaves).
No news as to how the Emperor’s Tarot works or the Liber Heresius.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 20:24:18
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Leader of the Sept
|
Rosicrucian wrote:
Only independent Gun Drones are explicitly Jet Pack infantry. Every other drone is "As owner" and doesn't mention Jet Packs at all.
so i see... /cries
oh well, maybe they have actually thought some of this through this time.
Flinty
|
Please excuse any spelling errors. I use a tablet frequently and software keyboards are a pain!
Terranwing - w3;d1;l1
51st Dunedinw2;d0;l0
Cadre Coronal Afterglow w1;d0;l0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 21:22:12
Subject: New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
I'm trying to find changes in the 5th ed BA codex and I can't.
Scouts are still BS & WS 4 and elites
Machine Spirit is still BS2
Special rules are the same
etc...
Looks exactly like the 4th ed to me with all the old FAQ rolled into it (that part is nice).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/07/11 21:26:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/07/11 21:29:55
Subject: Re:New FAQ's for Warhammer 40K 5th Edition
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
It's taken years, but finally the DH got some much-needed attention. I can't help but think that there might yet be errors in the FAQ, as this little gem makes me think it was -- in typical GW fashion -- rushed out the door with little thought and less playtesting.
Therefore a weapon that has moved at combat speed can fire two weapons
(emphasis mine) Seems impossible to believe that the MS fires at full BS, too.
But someone needs to explain to me why the DH is the only Imperial army that hasn't yet gotten the memo that Assault Cannons are Assault 4/Rending weapons!  If they're gonna go through the effort of slapping together the much-needed rules update for Machine Spirits, where are our assault cannons? (And Repair for Rhinos, and proper Teleport Homers, and...?)
And what about Rites of Exorcism and Daemonic Infestation? In the former case, what counts as daemons? If we follow the "Codex overrules everything" basic rule in the BGB, then the DH codex doesn't define very many daemons with respect to the actual CSM and Daemons codexes. So how many units would actually be affected by the difficult terrain assault rules? (And does the text relating to daemonic instability just hang out as entirely irrelevant?) And in the latter case, Sustained Attack is no longer a rule that's in print ... anywhere. So does it simply go away and disappear?
It's just so patently obvious that nobody at GW even plays this army, and hasn't for years. They really need to playtest stuff outside of HQ. It's patently ridiculous -- and embarrasingly pathetic -- that they miss such obvious loopholes and problems.
|
Be seeing you! |
|
 |
 |
|