Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
Times and dates in your local timezone.
Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.
2010/02/24 01:14:35
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
I suspect the reason for a Spanish and Italian FAQ on the subject is that the Ork Codex in those languages + the main rulebook arnt as clear as the English one saying "any kind of tank shock" and "spacial kind of tank shock"
NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com
2010/02/24 01:25:49
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Manchu wrote: This is simply a self-fulfilling prophecy. Everyone says, "it won't change so why should I bother to try?" and then it doesn't change so people feel validated in their bad behavior.
P. I can utilize the Apizonadora of death to Charge to vehicles, or only functions upon applying its Ironclad
Brutality against units that are not vehicles?
R. The Apizonadora of death will inflict 1D6 impacts of F10
against vehicles, given that the Attack is a type of ironclad Brutality.
Mmmm ironclad Brutality.
SHOOT EM! CHOP EM! If they still walkin' they probably cheatin'
2010/02/24 02:08:16
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Like others have said I will be waiting for an english version before I change how I play.
It's frustrating though cause it's yet another instance of GW ruling in entirely different directions with the FAQs without fully clarifying the rulings. Because here, something involved in tank shocking can be used with ramming, but in the Dark Eldar FAQ, something which allows their vehicles to tank shock, does not allow them to ram.
Given they haven't shown any consistency, we are still left with no clear answer as to whether you can ram with an ork reinforced ram or not.
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers
2010/02/24 02:08:30
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Odd I was under the impression Trukks could ram anyways... just with their armour even at top speed they'd probably disintergrate when impacting upon most battle tanks or above.
As to the Deff Rolla, excellent news, I'll be happy to take that as gospel for my friendly games at home, and will be planning a new BW with Deff Rolla sometime this year.
"That's not an Ork, its a girl.." - Last words of High General Daran Ul'tharem, battle of Ursha VII.
Two White Horses (Ipswich Town and Denver Broncos Supporter)
2010/02/24 02:28:12
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Morathi's Darkest Sin wrote:Odd I was under the impression Trukks could ram anyways... just with their armour even at top speed they'd probably disintergrate when impacting upon most battle tanks or above.
That's a common misconception. As Ramming is a type of Tank Shock, only Tanks can normally do it.
2010/02/24 02:48:17
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
I, for one, will be happy when this gets released in the English version...I can't see why they would do it one FAQ and not the rest so I'm hopeful this is just some sort of release issue that will get taken care of soon.
Because this is one of those really large issues that GW has side-stepped for such a long time and left it up to the players to try to decide how to play, which is a fairly big deal when you're talking about a rule that can drastically affect how an army plays.
It also goes to show that you really can't count on any information given out by the games designers when it comes to rules calls, because unless they're the person actually writing the FAQ, you never know what you're going to get. . .oh well.
Drunkspleen wrote:Like others have said I will be waiting for an english version before I change how I play.
It's frustrating though cause it's yet another instance of GW ruling in entirely different directions with the FAQs without fully clarifying the rulings. Because here, something involved in tank shocking can be used with ramming, but in the Dark Eldar FAQ, something which allows their vehicles to tank shock, does not allow them to ram.
Given they haven't shown any consistency, we are still left with no clear answer as to whether you can ram with an ork reinforced ram or not.
I think their ruling regarding the Dark Eldar has to do more with the context of the vehicle upgrade rather than a general ruling on whether or not vehicles that can tank shock can also ram.
Because the DE upgrade is simply a sonic weapon that causes enemies to fall back, I'm guessing it made sense in GW's minds to rule that the addition of this item wouldn't suddenly allow the vehicle to ram other vehicles, whereas in the case of an Ork reinforced ram, that contextual barrier isn't there, as it makes perfect sense that a 'ram' would allow a vehicle to well, ram.
So IMHO, assuming that FAQ gets pushed across the board I think in general you assume that vehicles that are able to tank shock are also able to ram, except for the DE ruling which you consider an exception to the rule.
Assuming this is legit and this will get published in English, any idea on how long that might take? Does GW have a track record on this? If it is published in English does that impact INATFAQ rulings, or will you guys just change it based on the foreign language FAQ?
nkelsch wrote:Actually have you read any thread in YMTC for years? This is the first FAQ that has actually flat out said the words everyone likes to imply, that ramming is actually under tank shocking in a hierarchical format instead of just a fluff line as it stands now.
And if you count the UKGT House Rules, it's been answered for a couple of years. Course, that said no............
Anyways, a foreign language FAQ doesn't quite do it, needs to be in the English one. I seem to remember some German one going up years back and having to be pulled because the Studio one was going to have different answers. While I applaud the local branches (GW Spain/Italy) putting this out, it doesn't solve anything unless you're playing in events run by thsoe entities. But maybe, just maybe, this will spur the studio to put soething in writing. And just like the Mawloc issue, I'll be happy either way, as long as it's in writing.
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD
2010/02/24 02:59:50
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Brother Ramses wrote:Why the attitude that because it is in Spanish, it is not legal? Why the obtuse push for English only?
Because some people (one or both players in all reality, and probably not the judge either) may not speak spanish during a tournament? Just throwing out that rather obvious answer :p
I know if I had no advance warning of such a HUGE change and some guy brought in a foreign language FAQ which was translated by.. the internet I wouldnt allow it. Thats absurd to think that you could walk into a place with a non-english FAQ, slap it down and expect not to get laughed out of the room
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/02/24 03:02:55
Keeper of the DomBox
Warhammer Armies - Click to see galleries of fully painted armies
32,000, 19,000, Renegades - 10,000 , 7,500,
2010/02/24 03:00:21
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
yakface wrote:
So IMHO, assuming that FAQ gets pushed across the board I think in general you assume that vehicles that are able to tank shock are also able to ram, except for the DE ruling which you consider an exception to the rule.
At least that's my first thoughts on the matter.
I think that this is perfectly fine, but I think they really need to get this out in english for this to happen. Adepticon is coming up, and an ork army that can Deffroll is practically a whole 'nother codex compared to the current Adepticon ruling. Also, Ramming trukks is potentially KP-free dedicated transports serving up str 5-6 hits on vehicles all over the board depending on the missions of a tourney. Being able to ram 15" to 18" inches can really mess up some rear armor on stuff and changes the way the army plays as well as how people react to stuff.
I think everyone expected the debate can lean either direction and will mostly accept the answer as long as it comes from GW. I am not sure this FAQ without an English counterpart accomplishes that.
My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog! =-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA."
2010/02/24 03:02:11
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Brother Ramses wrote:Why the attitude that because it is in Spanish, it is not legal? Why the obtuse push for English only?
Because English is the "official" language of the rules. GW has in the past said that if aEnglish version and a foreign language version (rulbook/codex) disagree, the English one is correct. Sooooo, until it's in English......
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD
2010/02/24 03:09:00
Subject: "Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
And not only that, but the fact that only some of the FAQs are updated is odd and unusual...certainly odd enough to make one wonder what the deal with this whole thing is.
And with the recent way GW took an eraser to the english language faq, this spanish only change is going to be looked at with an extremely skeptical eye. This faq may well be the long awaited answer to the deff rolla and ramming questions....or it may be some GW employee writing a faq after too many brews.
Sliggoth
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k).
2010/02/24 03:55:43
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Well one way to look at it is the spaniards are just confirming RAW so there's really no reason to doubt it etc etc, it's not errata or a rules change it's just a
"Yes Ramming is Tankshocking"
...
"Yes that means deffrollas roll vehicles just like it says it does"
...
"No this won't stop people complaining about it."
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/24 03:56:44
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H
2010/02/24 04:01:43
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
Well if their answer is that ram is now a tank shock, I wont be surprised if they reverse their ruling in 3 days just like they did with furious charge and counter attack stacking.
Edit: No their answer is Ram has always been a tank-shock just like it says in the rule book, we are very sorry that it wasn't clear enough for you the first time.
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/02/24 04:06:52
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H
2010/02/24 04:05:48
Subject: Re:"Apizonadora de muerte" works on vehicles?
ugh, Its harder to read that translation then it is to read the spanish FAQ... even if you don't speak spanish and are just guessing from the latin root words...
Well, English also isn't the only language people speak either.
Like I said, pretty obtuse to take a FAQ and dismiss it just because it isn't in English. Even moreso when it seems you just won't use it because you don't like the ruling.