Switch Theme:

Manticore Weapon Destroyed  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Boosting Space Marine Biker







It's listed as a single weapon and is also referred to as a 'rack' of rockets, implying that they believe the rack to be the weapon and the rockets to be merely pieces of it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/26 19:43:20


Riddle me this: what has four sides, moves twelve inches, and moved fourteen?

RAW-RAW-RAWsputin, Lover of the Russian Queen/ there was a cat who really was gone... 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I agree with taht sentiment.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in au
Courageous Questing Knight






Australia

are we fighting over minor units again? :<

DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




One thing being mentioned here that should be cleared up...the rack of rockets cant be destroyed. The rack isnt listed as a weapon anywhere, so there is no way to destroy the rack with a weapon destroyed result. Now if the rack were a vehicle upgrade that functioned as a weapon it might possibly be able to be destroyed, but its not a vehicle upgrade.

So the rack cannot be destroyed, the question becomes are the rockets one weapon or four.

The rockets are listed on one line in the codex, but that doesnt help us since other things that we recognize as multiple weapons are also listed that same way on one line.

Part of the problem is also that the author seems to use the plural when talking about one rocket, since he seems to mix up the multiple warheads with the rocket itself.


It can be read either way, there are two quite reasonable ways to consider the rule here so it seems to be unclear as it is written.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in us
Anointed Dark Priest of Chaos






Lt. Coldfire wrote:
There's a certain level of common sense that goes along with this game, and when you lack it, you look like a total douche.


This should be the header for a number of sections of Dakka including this one and the tournament discussion section...

++ Death In The Dark++ A Zone Mortalis Hobby Project Log: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/663090.page#8712701
 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




Thinking about it a bit more, there could be 3 ways to look at the manticore weapon destroyed result.

1) Destroy however many missiles the manticore has; altho this does run into the problem that if we treat the missiles as weapons to be destroyed then how do we decide to destroy multiple weapons (the missiles are indeed plural here) with one weapon destroyed result.

2) Destroy one missile per weapon destroyed result. This treats the manticore missiles as other rockets/ missiles, altho the wording on the manticore is different so this isnt clear at all.

3) The vehicle itself is called the manticore rocket launcher, and the rules talk about the vehicle itself firing the rockets...so the rockets are only ammunition and cant be chosen as a weapon destroyed result at all. This would treat the rockets radically different from other similar missiles in the game, altho the deathstrike cannot be destroyed with a weapon destroyed result either.


So its even more muddy than first thought.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut



Vancouver, BC, Canada

Lt. Coldfire wrote:
Lord_Mortis wrote:
Gwar! wrote:It says side sponsons, how many sides does a Predator have?


Notice there is no limit on those side sponsons. Again, the LRBT specifically says a "pair." Apparently you can model your Predators with as many sponsons as you can fit on the sides. Even the Baneblade lists "two sponsons...." and then gives the option of adding "two extra sponsons (for a total of two sponsons per side!)" And it also lists exactly how many lascannons are contained within each sponson. So yeah, according to C:SM, you could have as many sponsons as you could fit on the sides, packed with however many heavy bolters you could model into each sponson. But since all the sponsons are just one weapons choice, since it doesn't specify, then one weapon destroyed result would take out all the sponsons and whatever weapons they contained.

Oh, and technically a Predator has four sides (front side, right side, left side, back side). Just saying.


There's a certain level of common sense that goes along with this game, and when you lack it, you look like a total douche.



And if someone really wanted to be a douche they could also claim a top side and under side for 6 sides. But when you go to the vehicle section of the book it doesn't list the front as front side armour just front armour so we know that there are only 2 sides.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

the codex does not say "4 x storm eagle rockets " so therefore the whole rack is one weapon
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




But rack isnt a piece of gear for the vehicle, and rack certainly isnt a weapon. So the weapon destroyed result has to destroy multiple rockets, there is no rack to destroy.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

The Imperial Guard Codex lists the Storm Eagle rocket as the Manticore's weapon, and yes there are four rockets. However, it also lists the Hydra's weapon as the Hydra Autocannon. If you follow the logic that you need to pop each individual Storm Eagle rocket with a separate weapons destroyed result, it would also follow that you need to destroy each individual autocannon on a Hydra with a separate weapons destroyed result.

I personally take this as evidence that the RAW want the Manticore to have one weapon with limited ammunition. One weapon that can be destroyed with one weapon destroyed result.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ChrisWWII wrote:However, it also lists the Hydra's weapon as the Hydra Autocannon.
No, it doesn't. Try reading the codex.

Page 102
Two twin-linked Hydra autocannons


So it does take 2 WD to kill off a Hydras Turret (and 3 To brick it) while it only takes one to kill the turret of a Manticore (two to brick it).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/06/28 22:39:08


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol





University of St. Andrews

Gwar! wrote:
ChrisWWII wrote:However, it also lists the Hydra's weapon as the Hydra Autocannon.
No, it doesn't. Try reading the codex.

Page 102
Two twin-linked Hydra autocannons


So it does take 2 WD to kill off a Hydras Turret (and 3 To brick it) while it only takes one to kill the turret of a Manticore (two to brick it).



Woops, my mistake. I only flipped to the vehicle's entry on page 51 when I was looking that up. Sorry.

"If everything on Earth were rational, nothing would ever happen."
~Fyodor Dostoevsky

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity."
~Hanlon's Razor

707th Lubyan Aquila Banner Motor Rifle Regiment (6000 pts)
Battlefleet Tomania (2500 pts)

Visit my nation on Nation States!








 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





San Francisco

Black Blow Fly wrote:I agree with Gwar. Ignore the troll, he is obviously trolling.

G

So the troll is the guy confused by the Storm Eagle Rockets rule, and not the guy equating that confusion to T11 Space Wolves with FNP? Really?

I think that a neutral reading favors the notion that "Storm Eagle Rockets" are a single weapon system, but this isn't nearly as clear-cut as Gwar! claims, and the accusations that people who get the rule wrong are base cheaters is uncalled for.



   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




And there still is the bsic problem that no one has addressed. The listing is rockets, plural. So if we take the weapon to actually be what is written, then it is more than one rocket. And the weapon destroyed result only destroys one weapon.

The entire vehicle is called "manticore rocket launcher", so the launcher itself is the entire vehicle...and thus far no one has suggested that a weapon destroyed rsult destroys the entire vehicle.

The only place that the word rack is used is under the limited ammunition rule, not under the the rockets rule at all. And its always the manticore rocket launcher (ie the vehicle) thats described as firing or launching the rockets. So there really is no launcher described as a weapon that could be destroyed, at least so far as the rules are concerned.


So it isnt as clear cut as some would have us believe, we need to delev deeply into the fluff to come up with a launcher that can be destroyed to remove all rockets. The two models dont particularly help the situation, one model not really having a rack, the other having a rack/ turret.


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

Makes sense anyway. You pop one of those rockets on the rack and you've got a Vehicle Explodes result... WD probably just means the guy who knows how the press the 'fire' button died.
   
Made in gb
Furious Raptor






England

You people do realize basiclh yelling yes! No! Yes! No! Isn't going to help anyone, infact after Reading all your babaling my head hurts =(

Toss a coin, Do Something original!!!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Wait, there Is 2 pages, aww I've got to read another frakin page.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/06/30 22:51:33


Just got back to wh40k =D 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





for the millionth time Gwar! is right, looking at the wargear it has 4 pieces of wargear, 2 weapons "storm eagle rockets" and "heavy bolter" and smoke launcher and searchlight.
2 weapons; so when you receive a weapon destoyed result you may either destroy the storm eagle rockets or the the heavy bolter.
certain people believe that there are (4) storm eagle rockets, but what do they cite? nothing. the confusion arises from the special ability "limited ammunition" which states " once the manticore rocket launcher has fired 4 times it has run out of ammunition. it cannot be rearmed and hence cannot be fired again during the same game."
arguing that the storm eagle rockets are 4 weapons because they can be fired 4 times per game is like arguing that a revolver is 6 weapons because it has six shots, quite absurd...

so in summation the manticores weapons are "storm eagle rockets" (a weapon which because of its special rule can only be fired 4 times per game) and a heavy bolter.
/ thread

You love it you slags!
Blood Ravens 1500 pts 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler




New Jersey

I asked last Sunday at my FLGS and was told that the rockets are 4 seperate weapons, I am confused now :(



Sihamoni takes great pride in the league he helped create, as was conveyed in his recent advertising campaign for the CMFL that stated his midgets will "... take on anything; man, beast, or machine."

Ouze wrote:
Is that a haiku?
order from forge world
the mail has taken forever
this resin is warped

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I don't know anything about the manticore or it's stats, but just by looking at it it would seem to me that it's just one weapon. I would even think that a "weapon destroyed" result could destroy the vehicle considering the explosion one of those missiles would cause sitting on top of the tank.

I RIDE FOR DOOMTHUMBS! 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

It's a rack of missiles, described the same way (almost, but good enough) as the skyray missile rack. It's a single weapon with 4 single shots, as if you only brought four bolter rounds for your bolt pistol.

Though honestly, Guard have enough crap going for them, why even try to argue that your tank needs 4 WD's to be an ineffective shooter when you have a bazillion?

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




The arguement is being made that the rockets are 4 different weapons because... its quite possible that they are 4 weapons.


Under the wargear it does indeed say storm eagle rocketS. That is plural, meaning that there are more than one. How do we know how many more than one? By looking back at the entry on pg 54 we find that there are 4 rockets.

If there was only one weapon, then the entry could have been written as the SM whirlwind, where there is indeed a lisitng for a multiple missle launcher.

But thats not the way the gear is listed on the manticore. The weapons listed are rockets...plural...so if we apply a weapon destroyed result...singular...we can only destroy one rocket.


The entire vehicle is the "manticore rocket launcher", and its mentioned that the manticore fires the rockets...




The key problem is that the wargear lisiting is for the rockets. For other missiles/ rockets each weapon destroyed result is applied to one missile/ rocket, the storm eagle listing tells us that there are more than one rocket so why exactly are we trying to destroy more than one weapon (rocket) per weapon destroyed result?


Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Manticores are listed as having 'Storm Eagle rockets'.

Stormravens are listed as having 'Four Bloodstrike missiles'.

There's a clear difference between the two.
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




Yes there is a difference between the two. But...there is still that nasty little s at the end of rockets so if the rockets are the weapons, then we know that there are more than one of them.



Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in au
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine





Australia

How would a tech priest repair a weapon that just got blown to pieces and that has explosive rockets on it? Wouldn't be much left with s10 and all.

And just one weapon after all if a rack did get blown up then there would be random rockets sitting on your tank. Not a very good idea to fire rockets in that situation.

DT:90S++++G++M--B++I+pw40k08#+D++A+++/mWD-R++T(T)DM+


I am Blue/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both orderly and rational. I value control, information, and order. I love structure and hierarchy, and will actively use whatever power or knowledge I have to maintain it. At best, I am lawful and insightful; at worst, I am bureaucratic and tyrannical.
" border="0" /> 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

ChocolateGork wrote:How would a tech priest repair a weapon that just got blown to pieces and that has explosive rockets on it? Wouldn't be much left with s10 and all.


Probably the same way he would repair any other weapon that got destroyed. A lascannon blows off your heavy bolter? A meltagun destroys one of your Hellfury missiles? No problem! The techpriest will just pull out his handy dandy repair kit and fix them up good as new!

   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




Sliggoth wrote:Yes there is a difference between the two. But...there is still that nasty little s at the end of rockets so if the rockets are the weapons, then we know that there are more than one of them.



Sliggoth


Hellfire Bolters consist of 3 twin linked bolters, it does not take 3 weapon destroyed results to blow up each one.

Storm Eagle Rockets is a single weapon that may fire 4 times, it's very clear in the IG codex.

GWar is right.

Aramoro

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in us
Swift Swooping Hawk




@aramoro Hurricane bolters? If thats what you mean, hurricane bolters are fired as one weapon, so they are one weapon. Manticore rockets however are not fired as one weapon.

If the codex listed the wargear as a storm eagle rocket launcher, then it would be clear and would indeed be destroyed by one weapon destroyed result. However, they listed the wargear as storm eagle rockets. Which we are told are four separate rockets, fired not only separately but on separate turns. So if the rockets are weapons (which the listing under wargear seems to suggest) then we cannot remove more than one weapon per hit.


And thats the key problem. If the rockets themselves are weapon, then we have to realize that there are more than one rocket. So more than one weapon cannot be destroyed with one weapon destroyed result.

If the codex had worded it as a rack or launcher under the wargear section then it would be clear. But they went and called the wargear rockets...plural. So we have a very high bar here to clear, which thus far no one has been able to do.


If the rockets are weapons (more than one weapon, we know there are foru to start) then how can multiple weapons be destroyed with one weapon destroyed result? Thats what we need to answer.


There is no rack that we can point to as a weapon, not in terms of a weapon destroyed result.



Sliggoth

Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee




There's no bar to clear, it's one weapon. Stop be so obsequious.

If it was 4 different weapons it would say 4 Storm Eagle Rockets, it doesn't it has Storm Eagle Rockets as one weapon.

Aramoro

Violence isn't the answer, I just like getting it wrong on purpose.  
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Sliggoth wrote:Manticore rockets however are not fired as one weapon.
So you can take all four shots in one round?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/07/02 17:47:08


"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






People are getting hung up on the wording of the weapon. Just because it says "Storm Eagle Rockets" doesn't mean there are multiple weapons.

I could have a weapon called "Multiple Bunnies" and it would still be one weapon.

You don't start with 4 rockets. You start with Storm Eagle Rockets, a weapon which may fire 4 times.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: