Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:20:27
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Thats like saying it says remove the models; however there's no definition of Remove in the BRB so ... you can't remove them ...
Except we fall back on the english definition, and everything works.
While Movement is clearly defined in the BRB, and we do not fall back on the english definition for that situation.
Simple really.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:24:25
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Ah the english language, how i love thee. Just like their rule of remove them and Deepstrike them (paraphrased roughly)
They're one and the same; and DS is movement so you'd be moving out of combat.
Simplicity
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:32:32
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
DS is not movement. You count as having moved, but you have not actually made a Move, since you have not used any of the rules for movement.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/11 21:33:19
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:44:38
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They're able to Dangerous Terrain tests aren't they?
BGB pg 14
"through one or more areas of dangerous terrain during its move"
keyword there is move
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:55:58
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
feasting on an Imperium planet.
|
time wizard wrote:
The closest you get to requirements when locked in close combat is the last sentence of 'Pile-in!' page 40 main rules:
"While a unit is locked in combat it may only make pile-in moves and may not otherwise move or shoot."
Is Gate of Infinity a pile-in move? If not, you cannot make that move.
I would agree with this except that it says in the rule book that the codex over rules the rulebook.
|
"As I looked into its dead black eyes, I saw the terrible sentinence it had in place of a soul. Behind that was the steel will of its leader. Further still I could feel its primogenitor coldly assessing me from the void. And looking back from the deepest recesses of the aliens mind I perceived what I can describe only as an immortal hunger.
We can slay the tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay."
- Ultramarines Cheif Librarian Tigurius
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 21:57:56
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Tyranids? Tyranids. wrote:time wizard wrote:
The closest you get to requirements when locked in close combat is the last sentence of 'Pile-in!' page 40 main rules:
"While a unit is locked in combat it may only make pile-in moves and may not otherwise move or shoot."
Is Gate of Infinity a pile-in move? If not, you cannot make that move.
I would agree with this except that it says in the rule book that the codex over rules the rulebook.
Yes it does, when it expressly says so. I don't believe any codexes state you must stay locked in combat and can't leave til its done.
However there are a couple that specify they may leave CC
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:14:43
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
DeathReaper wrote:You missed that movement, and the act of physically removing models from the table, are not the same thing as far as the BRB is concerned.
That is what I thought you were meaning. So then, what does "move" mean in the book that is different than the word itself? When I look up both "move" and "remove" in the BRB they are not listed. Looking them up otherwise garners this: Move, to change position Remove, take (something) away from the position occupied Now, I still wonder how to remove something from the table without moving it. Saying "Its not the same thing" means little when there is nothing else for it to mean. Please let me know the pages you were refering to last time, it would help me a lot. Still curious about this bit: kirsanth wrote:Editing to add--in relation to the GoI not moving a unit: Are you then also saying (because the situation is identical) that if the movement phase starts with a unit already within 2" of an access point, that unit can embark and not count as moving? The notes about ICs seem to contradict that.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/11 23:20:15
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:21:08
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Movement is clearly defined in the rules for the Movement phase. You move a set number of inches based on unit type, this "Movement" is forbidden if a unit is locked in combat.
Gate of Infinity tells you to "Remove the models from the table", which means they are no longer in combat, "and place back anywhere on the table using the Deep Strike rules"
"Remove models from the table" is most certantly NOT movement as it is never mentioned in the movement rules.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:24:56
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Grey Templar wrote:Movement is clearly defined in the rules for the Movement phase. You move a set number of inches based on unit type, this "Movement" is forbidden if a unit is locked in combat.
First, no. It isn't. Moving during the movement phase is described.
Move is not defined.
Second, page 11 "Units already locked in close combat with the enemy may not move during the Movement phase" is the quote. It in no way references what movement is forbidden as ALL movement is forbidden during that phase. Not simply movement that would remove it from combat.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:27:48
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
kirsanth wrote:Grey Templar wrote:Movement is clearly defined in the rules for the Movement phase. You move a set number of inches based on unit type, this "Movement" is forbidden if a unit is locked in combat.
First, no. It isn't. Moving during the movement phase is described.
Move is not defined.
Second, page 11 "Units already locked in close combat with the enemy may not move during the Movement phase" is the quote. It in no way references what movement is forbidden as ALL movement is forbidden during that phase. Not simply movement that would remove it from combat.
and then we revert to Specific > General.
Gate of Infinity is more specific then those general guidelines.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:28:38
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
If there were a specific allowance, that would be true and this question would not come up. (Editing to add: Actually it would, people claim WBB vs SA with as much vehemence) Assuming an allowance without the text is. . .shady at best.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/11 23:31:30
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/11 23:39:53
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Its slightly grey and could go either way.
GW really needs to FAQ this one, although I feel it won't get resolved since 6th edition isn't more then a year away and that means a new Vanilla codex.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 00:14:20
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I think GW is, in fact, the greatest internet troll to have ever existed. They leave issues like this vague on purpose and, somewhere in the UK, there is an office party going on with a bunch of GW employees reading this and laughing.
|
Build a fire for a man and he will be warm for a day; set a man on fire and he will be warm for the rest of his life.
Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain.
Sly Marbo doesn't go to ground, the ground comes to him. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 07:37:01
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
DR - DS IS movement, as it states you "may not move any further"- meaning DS IS movement.
You are not allowed to move while locked in combat; you are attempting to perform an action which IS a move (DS) so are breaking a rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 07:57:32
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:DR - DS IS movement, as it states you "may not move any further"- meaning DS IS movement. You are not allowed to move while locked in combat; you are attempting to perform an action which IS a move (DS) so are breaking a rule. No, It does not follow any of the movement rules, therefore not movement as laid out in the BRB. They only say "may not move any further" because DS counts as if the unit had moved.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2011/09/12 07:59:07
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 08:24:44
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yet it IS a move as laid out in the BRB, as you cannot move any further.
Being unable to move any further requires you to have modev initially.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 08:39:06
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The players that are assuming you can, are asuming. Nowhere does it say it is permissable. so it is not.
It is simple, you may not like the way it works, that doesn't mean you may decide how to play based on your own needs.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 08:51:39
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Rogue Inquisitor with Xenos Bodyguards
|
All of this bickering! now to refer to the one rule in the BRB at times like these DICE OFF!
|
"Your mumblings are awakening the sleeping Dragon, be wary when meddling the affairs of Dragons, for thou art tasty and go good with either ketchup or chocolate. "
Dragons fear nothing, if it acts up, we breath magic fire that turns them into marshmallow peeps. We leaguers only cry rivets!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 10:49:36
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Shaso- please read the tenets and notice which one you have broken
TMIR is pointless in a rules debate on a forum
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 14:15:43
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, the Deep Strike is movement.
However, you are removed from combat before the Deep Strike occurs. Removal is not movement and isn't prohibited by combat. Once you have been removed, then you will immediatly Deep Strike. you are no longer in CC and as such are not prohibited from moving.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 15:00:40
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Grey Templar wrote:Yes, the Deep Strike is movement.
However, you are removed from combat before the Deep Strike occurs. Removal is not movement and isn't prohibited by combat. Once you have been removed, then you will immediatly Deep Strike. you are no longer in CC and as such are not prohibited from moving.
Good catch.
Lets say even if DS is movement, GT has it on the spot, removing models from the table is not movement and happens before you use the DS rules.
Therefore you can use gate to remove yourself from the table as removing yourself from the table is not movement, and is allowed due to Gate.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 15:15:36
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
First of all DS is movement so I don't have to say or pretend it is. It just is (simple)
Secondly You have no permission to leave combat do you?
You would openly use a power that will move you out of combat. Moving out of combat is expressly disallowed in the BGB.
If you're locked in combat at the beginning of your movement phase you cannot use GOI simply because it will MOVE you.
bgb pg 11 "Units already locked in CC with the enemy may not move duing the movement phase"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 17:42:36
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:You would openly use a power that will move you out of combat.
Being removed from combat != moving out of combat.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 18:14:17
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
rigeld2 wrote:Being removed from combat != moving out of combat.
Even if that statement were true, moving out of combat is still not what is prohibited.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 21:29:22
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Casting a Psychic power, then being removed from the table is not movement. So you can use GoI whilst on the table, without restriction, since you have permission to cast said Psychic power.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/12 21:29:32
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 21:38:27
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Maybe I'm wrong but I thought you could not use psychic powers while engaged in assault unless the power specifically allows it (i.e. Hypnotic Gaze or Aura of Despair).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 21:39:41
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Happyjew wrote:Maybe I'm wrong but I thought you could not use psychic powers while engaged in assault unless the power specifically allows it (i.e. Hypnotic Gaze or Aura of Despair).
You are restricted from using Psychic Shooting Attacks, or any powers that specifically restrict their use while in CC.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 22:48:37
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
DeathReaper wrote:So you can use GoI whilst on the table, without restriction, since you have permission to cast said Psychic power.
Except the unit is still not allowed to move (at all, let alone 'further') in a movement phase where the unit was locked in CC, which that would cause the unit to count as/actually doing. Very much like the embarking example I mentioned a couple times now.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/09/12 22:54:30
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 23:09:35
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
wales
|
don_mondo wrote:Or no, since the power does not state that it can be used to leave combat (ala Necron Veil).
and ork ere we go
|
currently playing dropzone commander, battlegroup and gorkamorka |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 23:34:43
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:You would openly use a power that will move you out of combat.
Being removed from combat != moving out of combat.
Now read the rest of the line to me; about Deepstriking. They are one and the same beings you are not allowed to do the second half of the power you may not do the first half. It's really quite clear about this when it states models in CC may not Move
|
|
|
 |
 |
|