Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 23:42:17
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Now read the rest of the line to me; about Deepstriking. They are one and the same beings you are not allowed to do the second half of the power you may not do the first half. It's really quite clear about this when it states models in CC may not Move
By the time you get to the DS part, you have cast the power, are removed from the table, and are no longer in combat, so you can use the DS rules since you are no longer in combat.
After you DS you count as having moved, but not before, so when in combat you remove yourself from the table, which is not a move, so GoI is legal to use.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/12 23:49:41
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
|
I hope not to detract the thread here, but if a Librarian with GoI is embarked on a Rhino or similar, can GoI teleport the entire tank (with all models embarked within it)?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 00:18:37
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Raatcharch wrote:I hope not to detract the thread here, but if a Librarian with GoI is embarked on a Rhino or similar, can GoI teleport the entire tank (with all models embarked within it)?
No, since the transport is never a part of the librarians unit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 00:37:39
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
DeathReaper wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
Now read the rest of the line to me; about Deepstriking. They are one and the same beings you are not allowed to do the second half of the power you may not do the first half. It's really quite clear about this when it states models in CC may not Move
By the time you get to the DS part, you have cast the power, are removed from the table, and are no longer in combat, so you can use the DS rules since you are no longer in combat.
After you DS you count as having moved, but not before, so when in combat you remove yourself from the table, which is not a move, so GoI is legal to use.
Show me how there are two parts in that line. It is one sentence with precise rules to follow, there is no break so they all happen at the same time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 01:00:27
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Removal comes first, and immediately (This is what tells you to place them after you remove them) placed back using DS rules.
To have them removed and placed at the same time makes no sense.
you have to remove them, then place them using DS rules.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 01:10:38
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Anyways you still don't have permission to move; so frankly until you can rules to support that ...
When I read the line I see no breaks, no punctuation which generaly means all at once, no breaks.
If you had a power that removed you from the table, than a second one that deepstriked you back down I'd completely agree. However that's not the case.
When you even attempt to use that power, you're trying to move. Moving is disallowed when in CC
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 01:54:04
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Ah the english language, how i love thee. Just like their rule of remove them and Deepstrike them (paraphrased roughly)
They're one and the same; and DS is movement so you'd be moving out of combat.
Simplicity
Sweet! I love this logic. So when my units die in close combat I can't move them off the table?! I mean, that would be movement, even though its not "movement".
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 02:07:54
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Lobukia wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Ah the english language, how i love thee. Just like their rule of remove them and Deepstrike them (paraphrased roughly)
They're one and the same; and DS is movement so you'd be moving out of combat.
Simplicity
Sweet! I love this logic. So when my units die in close combat I can't move them off the table?! I mean, that would be movement, even though its not "movement".
Hmm I could've sworn the rulebook expressly allowed this ...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 03:34:10
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Lobukia wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Ah the english language, how i love thee. Just like their rule of remove them and Deepstrike them (paraphrased roughly) They're one and the same; and DS is movement so you'd be moving out of combat. Simplicity Sweet! I love this logic. So when my units die in close combat I can't move them off the table?! I mean, that would be movement, even though its not "movement". Hmm I could've sworn the rulebook expressly allowed this ...
It does not matter at all. That would not occur in the Movement phase. (Re)Moving models locked in CC is allowed outside of the Movement phase.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/09/13 03:34:34
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/13 13:14:12
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
kirsanth wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Lobukia wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:Ah the english language, how i love thee. Just like their rule of remove them and Deepstrike them (paraphrased roughly)
They're one and the same; and DS is movement so you'd be moving out of combat.
Simplicity
Sweet! I love this logic. So when my units die in close combat I can't move them off the table?! I mean, that would be movement, even though its not "movement".
Hmm I could've sworn the rulebook expressly allowed this ...
It does not matter at all. That would not occur in the Movement phase. (Re)Moving models locked in CC is allowed outside of the Movement phase.
Just to throw a wrench in your idea, you are allowed to (re)move models out of CC in the movement phase.
For example: A vehicle is parked next to the CC. It is rammed, explodes, and the explosion kills some of the models locked in CC. You then move the models out of CC and into the casualty pile.
I do agree that removing models due to casualties is fundamentally different than removing them to deep strike them elsewhere. But, I think any rules argument for either side is rather shaky and requires significant "interpretation" of the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 17:20:40
Subject: Re:Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
Just a random question that's similar...can a librarian who has gone to ground with a unit use this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/09/27 18:01:15
Subject: Can a Librarian Gate out of CC?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No,as a pinned unit cannto perform voluntary actions, and gtg == pinned
|
|
 |
 |
|