Switch Theme:

New FAQs for several armies plus BRB  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
A Skull at the Throne of Khorne




So does writhing worldscape cause slow and purposeful units to take dangerous terrain checks? I'd assume so.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yup. That FAQ is going to force a lot of full reserve lists.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper




houston

Just happy that they cleared up the blood lance and jotww stuff that folks where trying to enforce incorrectly.

Now if they would clear up Tycho and lemartes being DC or not would be great.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, and they also "cleared up" Lash to need a roll to hit, for the first time since it was brought in as a power
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential




I was wrong

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 23:24:14


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





... WOW. I missed that.

De-mechification of 5th ed?

edit: Well, they just can't trace LOS out of the vehicle... so effects that don't require LOS (like the KFF iirc) won't be affected.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 23:04:40


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter





italiaplaya wrote:Idk if this rule has been posted already. But this is a pretty big change to the rules. Check he bottom of page 5. Basically stating Models embarked in vehicles attempting to use wargear items or special rules not being able to anymore.

(Whats this means from my understanding, please tell me if its correct or not)- KFF doesnt work inside vehicles, BA FNP FC bubble doesnt work anymore, no lashing out of a rhino anymore, The list goes on.


Not sure about the KFF or sang Priests, but Lash still works from inside a rhino- it's a shooting attack.

In the grim darkness of the far future, there are only rules disputes.

Ellandornia Craftworld
Heirs to Oblivion
The Host of a Thousand Screams
The Fighting 54th Necromundan Hive Rats

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DS:80S++G++MB+I--Pw40k96/re+D+++A+++/fWD196R++T(T)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======

 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Does this mean that a PBS can no longer use weaken resolve from a chimera? That makes them pretty bad now.

KFF and sang priests are fine, as neither of them need LOS to work.

Just thought, orders like BiD and FomT are pretty useless from chimeras as well, as they need LOS to the target and the enemy.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 23:12:16


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

italiaplaya wrote:Idk if this rule has been posted already. But this is a pretty big change to the rules. Check he bottom of page 5. Basically stating Models embarked in vehicles attempting to use wargear items or special rules not being able to anymore.

(Whats this means from my understanding, please tell me if its correct or not)- KFF doesnt work inside vehicles, BA FNP FC bubble doesnt work anymore, no lashing out of a rhino anymore, The list goes on.


I would say you are incorrect. neither of those requires LOS, do they? It's only abilities that require LOS that cannot be used. Those are both just a within so many inches type ability.

Trickstick wrote:Does this mean that a PBS can no longer use weaken resolve from a chimera? That makes them pretty bad now.

KFF and sang priests are fine, as neither of them need LOS to work.

Just thought, orders like BiD and FomT are pretty useless from chimeras as well, as they need LOS to the target and the enemy.


WR can still be used, given that another FAQ gives specific permission to use psychic powers from a fire point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/16 23:13:05


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

Missed that one. Thanks. Still, I think that the orders thing must be an unintended casualty of the FAQ.

Edit: BiD and FomT only need LOS to the target, not both the target and the firing unit. Slight error on my part but it still means they won't work anymore.

2nd edit: Infact, just forget the whole thing. I should have reread the mobile command rule of the chimera before posting.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/01/16 23:21:38


The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I don't know about unintended... >.>

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol




Manchester, UK

The mobile command vehicle rule states to measure LOS from any point on the hull, sidestepping the FAQ. Silly me.

The Tvashtan 422nd "Fire Leopards" - Updated 19/03/11

"Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity." - Hanlon's Razor 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential




don_mondo wrote:
italiaplaya wrote:Idk if this rule has been posted already. But this is a pretty big change to the rules. Check he bottom of page 5. Basically stating Models embarked in vehicles attempting to use wargear items or special rules not being able to anymore.

(Whats this means from my understanding, please tell me if its correct or not)- KFF doesnt work inside vehicles, BA FNP FC bubble doesnt work anymore, no lashing out of a rhino anymore, The list goes on.


I would say you are incorrect. neither of those requires LOS, do they? It's only abilities that require LOS that cannot be used. Those are both just a within so many inches type ability.

Trickstick wrote:Does this mean that a PBS can no longer use weaken resolve from a chimera? That makes them pretty bad now.

KFF and sang priests are fine, as neither of them need LOS to work.

Just thought, orders like BiD and FomT are pretty useless from chimeras as well, as they need LOS to the target and the enemy.


WR can still be used, given that another FAQ gives specific permission to use psychic powers from a fire point.


Ahh, definitively didnt read that correctly haha. Thanks

   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, fire points are irrelevant for the mobile command rule since it tells you to measure range and LOS from any point on the hull. So this FAQ has no affect on issuing orders from a Chimera.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So.... what will this effect?
How many 'special rule/wargear' situations do we have?

   
Made in us
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say





Los Angeles, CA

I covered the majority of this stuff on the blog http://www.3forint.com/2012/01/new-40k-faqs-omgomg.html.
The most interesting things I think are

Q: Does Warptime allow the psyker to pick and choose
which To Hit and To Wound dice he will re-roll? (p88)
A: No. He can decide after each To Hit or To Wound roll
but he must re-roll all dice or no dice.

A random nerf of a power that's not used that much. And...

Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
A: No.

This makes hive guard even more of an auto include in nid armies. Negating kff, smoke, and the various 5+ cover save powers is pretty huge for nids.


http://www.3forint.com/ Back in Action! 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

I wonder if these FAQ should be seen as a foreshadowing of 6th edition choices?

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dok - I would disagree on WT not being used much: most 5th ed chaos lists have dual nurgle DPs with warp time, so this is a serious nerf.

Along with lash, for the first time since the power was brought in, having to roll to hit - but jaws and lance dont. Sigh

Good job i only run cheap khorne princes
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Seems consistent to me. Powers that work against a single unit need to roll, powers that work in a line or area, don't need to roll.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Except it hasnt needed to roll up until now - 5 years. Suddenly GW have changed the rules again to make it a PSA, and then decided it needs to roll to hit.

Equally as valid is that loyalists get all the benefits, chaos gets the shaft - especially when you read about Warptime now being a mindless slapping fest (reroll everything) directly contradicting the fluff about supernatural precision
   
Made in us
Calm Celestian




Florida, USA

I can't believe no one has brought this up yet:

IG FAQ Wrote wrote:Page 96 – Infantry Platoon, second sentence
Change to “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place
of a single unit in missions that limit the number units
that can be deployed.
In addition when making a
reserve or outflanking roll, roll once for the whole
Infantry Platoon. Any units in reserve that are
embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are instead
rolled for separately.”


Say hello to two INF Platoons, not squads, being deployed in DoW? Yes please.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Edit: And silly me, there is already a thread devoted to this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 01:12:45


There is a fine line between genius and insanity and I colored it in with crayon. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

puma713 wrote:
Tyranid FAQ wrote:Q: Must every non-vehicle model in a unit that
assaults a Venomthrope brood take a Dangerous
Terrain test? (p45)
A: Yes.

Q: Do enemy models assaulting a Venomthrope brood,
or another frindly Tyranid unit within range of its Spre
Cloud, have their Initiative reduced to 1 for assaulting
through the cloud? (p45)
A: No, as the Spore Cloud is not a piece of terrain.
This means just because you took a DT, doesn't mean your initiative is reduced.
I think your I is reduced only if you have to roll a DIFFICULT Terrain test for distance.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Mannahnin wrote:
pdawg517 wrote:Q: When a unit of 10 Space Marines with the Combat
Squad special rule arrives from reserve as two combat
squads, can they move on from, or Deep Strike onto,
two different locations? (p51)
A: Yes.

Looks like this changed from last faq.

Can change how a lot of lists perform.
No, it's the same. The old FAQ had an answer about not splitting WHILE in reserve whose answer was phrased in a slightly vague way, which caused some folks to misread it as squads not being able to combat-squad as they enter.
Does this mean that you have to roll separately for the 'Combatted' Squad, or once for both halves? If it is once for both halves, do they then get to come in at different locations? Or do you have to roll for them separately to come in at different locations?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/01/18 03:10:41


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Nope, rules in BRB says reduced if roll Diff terr or Dang terr tests.

   
Made in us
Bane Thrall






Dok wrote:

Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
A: No.

This makes hive guard even more of an auto include in nid armies. Negating kff, smoke, and the various 5+ cover save powers is pretty huge for nids.


Does this mean they even negate flat-out cover saves? wow.



They stare into your soul.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/15 00:29:46


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

coredump wrote:Nope, rules in BRB says reduced if roll Diff terr or Dang terr tests.
Yep, pg 36.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Ghenghis Jon wrote:
coredump wrote:Nope, rules in BRB says reduced if roll Diff terr or Dang terr tests.
Yep, pg 36.


With the exception being the Tyranids Spore cloud

Q: Do enemy models assaulting a Venomthrope brood,
or another frindly Tyranid unit within range of its Spore
Cloud, have their Initiative reduced to 1 for assaulting
through the cloud? (p45)
A: No, as the Spore Cloud is not a piece of terrain

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






Defiler37 wrote:
Dok wrote:

Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
A: No.

This makes hive guard even more of an auto include in nid armies. Negating kff, smoke, and the various 5+ cover save powers is pretty huge for nids.


Does this mean they even negate flat-out cover saves? wow.

Flat out, turbo boost, KFF, shrouding*, shield of sanguinus, smoke launchers, exhaust clouds, models in the way or even going to ground* no longer have any effect on impaler cannons.
*Unless already in terrain

I really doubt that GW meant to do that when they wrote that FAQ, but that's the way it is now.

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Ghenghis Jon wrote:Does this mean that you have to roll separately for the 'Combatted' Squad, or once for both halves? If it is once for both halves, do they then get to come in at different locations? Or do you have to roll for them separately to come in at different locations?


One reserve roll for the squad, then you can declare that you are combat squadding them (since you are now deploying them) and bring them in at different locations.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Chicago

coredump wrote:Seems consistent to me. Powers that work against a single unit need to roll, powers that work in a line or area, don't need to roll.



New FAQ wrote:Q: Does Mind War need to roll To Hit? (p28)
A: No.


Yeah, so much for that theory

It really looks like GW went through every psychic power and flipped a coin to decide if it rolls to hit.

6000pts

DS:80S++G++M-B-I+Pw40k98-D++A++/areWD-R+T(D)DM+

What do Humans know of our pain? We have sung songs of lament since before your ancestors crawled on their bellies from the sea.

Join the fight against the zombie horde! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: