Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 14:26:00
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Using the logic presented.... A SM player can field two captains with Command squads, each with a Company Banner and any units within 12" of both would score two extra wounds for assault combat resolution.
|
Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!
Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."
:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)
"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 14:28:44
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Wrong. Only the command squad or Honour Guard in the case of the Chapter Banner, score the extra wound. Automatically Appended Next Post: And it wouldn't allow them to reroll morale or pinning tests twice either. No connection.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/24 14:29:33
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 14:53:30
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I'd it said "for every" it's stack. It doesn't. It says "if there's a" which would be true for 1-n SitW Tyranids.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 16:20:58
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
My interpretation is it stacks, BUT, in the case of a Brood, it is the entire brood not each model as it'd be a little unfair.
E.g. 1: A unit of GK is within range of a Tyranid warrior brood and thus adds 1 dice to its psychic test.
E.g. 2: A unit of GK is within range of a HT, 2x Trygons and a Tervigon, thus adding 4 dice to its psychic test.
Personally I find the new wording very clear.
In the case of special rules which do not stack GW has always said in that particular rules entry that multiple units with that rule do not add extra dice. This has no such entry. Thus, it stacks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 16:25:25
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:My interpretation is it stacks, BUT, in the case of a Brood, it is the entire brood not each model as it'd be a little unfair.
So it stacks, except when it's unfair... I'm sure you can find a rule to cite for that interpretation.
Except there isn't one. a) it doesn't stack. b) if it did, it'd be for every model. Fairness isn't in the rules.
This has no such entry. Thus, it stacks.
The wording of the rule prevents it from stacking. It doesn't need an additional statement.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 16:31:25
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
rigeld2 wrote:AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:My interpretation is it stacks, BUT, in the case of a Brood, it is the entire brood not each model as it'd be a little unfair.
So it stacks, except when it's unfair... I'm sure you can find a rule to cite for that interpretation.
Except there isn't one. a) it doesn't stack. b) if it did, it'd be for every model. Fairness isn't in the rules.
This has no such entry. Thus, it stacks.
The wording of the rule prevents it from stacking. It doesn't need an additional statement.
But there are precedents of rules stating whether they stack or not.
Put simply none of us are either right or wrong until GW gets its thumb out of its you know what and updates the FAQ to cover this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 16:49:38
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:
Put simply none of us are either right or wrong until GW gets its thumb out of its you know what and updates the FAQ to cover this.
Except one of us is wrong since it in no way shape or form says it is on a per model/unit basis. Any other reading is just willfully misinterpreting the rules
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 17:48:36
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
calypso2ts wrote:AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:
Put simply none of us are either right or wrong until GW gets its thumb out of its you know what and updates the FAQ to cover this.
Except one of us is wrong since it in no way shape or form says it is on a per model/unit basis. Any other reading is just willfully misinterpreting the rules
I'll gladly follow whatever the outcome of this is, and so long as people are divided on this, people will continue to argue pointlessly. so for now, I will run it how my local gaming group does. And patiently wait until GW amends the SITW rules accordingly.
also "Any other reading is just willfully misinterpreting the rules" could be argued against you as well.
that said, I'm unfollowing this thread as it is boiling down to arguments rather than constructively talking about it.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/03/24 18:29:10
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 18:20:03
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I'd have a constructive conversation with you if you posted rules support.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 18:39:17
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid
with the Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a
Perils of the Warp attack on the roll of any double 1 or
double 6.
It does not state, that it doesnt stack. rules which add or detract dice, can choose to add plus one/minus one state whether or not that they stack. this does neither. It's been raised in many gaming circles that I'm involved with. and it remains undecided. So as it stands, I run it through with the general consensus of the room, every time I game with Nids.
And its going to continue this way until GW clarify, I see no point in arguing further.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 22:10:04
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Deadshot wrote:Actually the banner is not adding anything itself. A unit gains +1 WS because tgey included a banner.
...so the banner is adding +1 WS.
SitW forces a Psyker to roll an additional dice if in range of a creature with the rule. I don't see it as quite the same thing.
So you keep saying... but without explaining why.
Including a banner grants a bonus. Including multiple banners doesn't stack, because the rule doesn't ask for 'each' banner... it just triggers if a banner is included. The number of banners makes no difference.
SitW is exactly the same. Being in range of a creature with SitW grants a penalty. Including multiple creatures doesn't stack, because as with the banner, the trigger is simply having such a creature within range. The rule does not call for the penalty to be applied for each creature.
Both rules are written in exactly the same format. So they should work the same way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 23:04:36
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sometimes I wonder how these arguements come up...common sense is as rare as a super power these days.
I can certainly see where the ambiguity exists but I can't understand how someone can physically claim it is so. From what you're saying Deadshot if the rule is taken that way it basically makes taking any psychic tests agaisnt a tyranid army impossible. Now whilst some of GWs rules are a bit broken at times this would stand to be the most broken rule in all the heavens. Anyone who insists on playing it this way sounds more like a Tyranid player who is doing every possible last thing they can in order to win.
If something is cumulative it is generally stated in the entry, such as the psychic communion power for the GKs. I'm not going to say you are flat out wrong but its a very unsavoury position to look at the rule from.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 23:30:14
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
No more broken than bypasing a psychic test altogether.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 23:38:48
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
There are two camps here: Those for (Generally Nid players, but not exclusively) and Those against.
This isn't going to be resolved by simply sitting down and working it out like nice reasonable people, as this thread is dissolving into petty squabbles over similar rules. If you all feel that badly about it, write to GW: HQ In Nottingham UK, and ask them... and no, Don't as your friendly local staff member, as that won't cut it with anyone until the rule is amended.
The rule is ambiguous. I've asked people who don't have any connection to this hobby or anything similar, and even asked a School teacher, who have all given the same answer. It's too vague to be genuinely decided one way or another.
So peoples Hit GW with as many emails as possible, as browbeating each other just isnt going to resolve this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 23:41:39
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:There are two camps here: Those for (Generally Nid players, but not exclusively) and Those against. This isn't going to be resolved by simply sitting down and working it out like nice reasonable people, as this thread is dissolving into petty squabbles over similar rules. If you all feel that badly about it, write to GW: HQ In Nottingham UK, and ask them... and no, Don't as your friendly local staff member, as that won't cut it with anyone until the rule is amended. The rule is ambiguous. I've asked people who don't have any connection to this hobby or anything similar, and even asked a School teacher, who have all given the same answer. It's too vague to be genuinely decided one way or another. So peoples Hit GW with as many emails as possible, as browbeating each other just isnt going to resolve this. It seems to me, you believe that all Nid players are for it stacking. Which is not true. I play Nids, and as much as I would like for it to stack, I in no reason believe it does. Of course, whether or not it stacks hardly matters for me, as none of the people I play with runs Psykers.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/24 23:42:09
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/24 23:47:02
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:There are two camps here: Those for (Generally Nid players, but not exclusively) and Those against.
This isn't going to be resolved by simply sitting down and working it out like nice reasonable people, as this thread is dissolving into petty squabbles over similar rules. If you all feel that badly about it, write to GW: HQ In Nottingham UK, and ask them... and no, Don't as your friendly local staff member, as that won't cut it with anyone until the rule is amended.
The rule is ambiguous. I've asked people who don't have any connection to this hobby or anything similar, and even asked a School teacher, who have all given the same answer. It's too vague to be genuinely decided one way or another.
So peoples Hit GW with as many emails as possible, as browbeating each other just isnt going to resolve this.
I am going to Nottenham in 2 weeks to isit Warhammer World. maybe I'll ask in person. I had some ideas I need to show them anyway. Mainly some propsed ideas from Dakka that I will ask them to look at.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 00:07:44
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:This isn't going to be resolved by simply sitting down and working it out like nice reasonable people,...
It could be, if those arguing that it should stack while other similar rules don't would actually take the time to explain why they think that.
If you all feel that badly about it, write to GW: HQ In Nottingham UK, and ask them...
Ignoring the fact that your letter wouldn't be seen by the people who actually write the rules, and so isn't going to accomplish anything useful, you seem to have rather misunderstood the purpose of this forum.
The rule is ambiguous.
It's really not. Particularly in light of all of the similar rules which have been discussed in the past with a reasonable consensus.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 00:10:55
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Happyjew wrote:It seems to me, you believe that all Nid players are for it stacking. Which is not true. I play Nids, and as much as I would like for it to stack, I in no reason believe it does. Of course, whether or not it stacks hardly matters for me, as none of the people I play with runs Psykers.
I did say generally lols, also it doesnt affect me either... but still I'd actually like to see a resolution to this, mainly because I'm going to start doing tourneys soon, and SITW will be definitely be a query I need resolving
Deadshot wrote:I am going to Nottenham in 2 weeks to isit Warhammer World. maybe I'll ask in person. I had some ideas I need to show them anyway. Mainly some propsed ideas from Dakka that I will ask them to look at.
Awesome, time to be nosey here... what are you going to show them?
hope it resolves this issue as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 00:56:48
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I think it's really cute that some players think that a 3 squad unit of Tyranid Warriors for 90 points can completely negate all psychic abilities within 12".
WH40k has a number of rules that are kind of loose. Looking for instances like this is just power gaming and WAAC at it's lowest. I wouldn't want to play with anyone who so firmly looked for ways to cheat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 01:10:49
Subject: Re:SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Unreg1stered wrote:I think it's really cute that some players think that a 3 squad unit of Tyranid Warriors for 90 points can completely negate all psychic abilities within 12".
WH40k has a number of rules that are kind of loose. Looking for instances like this is just power gaming and WAAC at it's lowest. I wouldn't want to play with anyone who so firmly looked for ways to cheat.
cute? never heard it called that before...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 01:34:46
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I think it's awesome how many people come out of the woodwork web someone mentions SitW stacking, but are perfectly okay with all the hoods, runic weapons, etc. :-)
(when reading this - remember my stance on the stacking)
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 04:58:29
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
This is sort of like when I first started playing people told me I had to choose whether to use my Scything Talons or Rending Claws. (I was taught how to play Tyranids by people that didn't play Tyranids) Basically what they were saying was you have special weapon and close combat weapons, and you can only use one. So you either re-roll 1's to hit or you rend and your Claws and Teeth are your close combat weapon but you don't gain bonus attacks. (and then proceeded to tell me that Tyranids are broken)
Thankfully I read the FAQ and I could stack my affects. Tyranids are a weird army as I tell people playing Tyranids for the first time, (me) take your standard rulebook and throw it out the window. We override a lot of standard rules. (but I tell them if if you look at something I do I'll be able to show you how I override most rules)
I now have the chance to give back something I didn't have, I have 2 people I'm teaching how to play Tyranids, one who has just got into 40k. They have the chance to learn Tyranids from a guy who actively plays Tyranids. So if I am to teach them right, the slightest ambiguity has to be resolved. That is my stake in this conversation.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/03/25 05:00:16
Tyranids 3000 points
Dark Angels 500 points
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 09:07:11
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:
Deadshot wrote:I am going to Nottenham in 2 weeks to isit Warhammer World. maybe I'll ask in person. I had some ideas I need to show them anyway. Mainly some propsed ideas from Dakka that I will ask them to look at.
Awesome, time to be nosey here... what are you going to show them?
hope it resolves this issue as well.
This will definately be one thing I ask. Other things will be commonly asked questions from online, and some rules. I made Primarch rules last year and emailed it to the design team and they liked ethem, apparently, and I said that I would also send the Chaos Primarch's that I was working on. So thast would be one. Other things too.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 14:54:00
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Deadshot wrote:
This will definately be one thing I ask. Other things will be commonly asked questions from online, and some rules. I made Primarch rules last year and emailed it to the design team and they liked ethem, apparently, and I said that I would also send the Chaos Primarch's that I was working on. So thast would be one. Other things too.
Keep me/us posted, would love to know the outcome of all of that
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 15:17:01
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Insaniaks is correct on all points. The only reason to think they could possibly stack is wishful thinking, and it's completely in contradiction to how rules with identical wording (like the Waaagh Banner) work.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 15:34:08
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Ancient Chaos Terminator
|
AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid
with the Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a
Perils of the Warp attack on the roll of any double 1 or
double 6.
It says it right here in the rule (emphsis mine). A tryanid with SitW [singular]. If they wanted it to stack it would say EVERY tyranid with SitW. It also says AN extra dice [also singular]. If they wanted it to stack it would say "A extra die per tranid with SitW". Im not really sure why it sounds confusing to people. No part of this sentence indicates to me more than one.
|
"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 15:59:37
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Nicorex wrote:AnUnearthlyChilde wrote:Page 33 – Shadow in the Warp, second paragraph
Change to “Any enemy psyker within 12” of a Tyranid
with the Shadow in the Warp special rule must roll an
extra dice when taking Psychic tests, and will suffer a
Perils of the Warp attack on the roll of any double 1 or
double 6.
It says it right here in the rule (emphsis mine). A tryanid with SitW [singular]. If they wanted it to stack it would say EVERY tyranid with SitW. It also says AN extra dice [also singular]. If they wanted it to stack it would say "A extra die per tranid with SitW". Im not really sure why it sounds confusing to people. No part of this sentence indicates to me more than one.
If you want to be anal about it, the word "Dice" is a plural, if they meant it to be singular they would have said "Die"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 16:04:53
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Dice is both singular and plural in the English language, and GW uses it as both.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 16:06:17
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
Somewhere In Time And Space
|
Dice is a plural Noun, Die is the singular Noun
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/03/25 16:08:31
Subject: SitW amendment?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Page 2, you're wrong. Unless every dice roll is multiple dice.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|