Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 20:40:08
Subject: Re:Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
The Chaos FAQ trumps the BRB FAQ for Arhiman only due to the Specific>General rule.
General: Psykers may NOT cast the same psychic power more then once a turn.
Specific: Arhiman can use the same psychic power more then once a turn IF it is not a PSA.
So, Arhiman is the only psyker with specific permission to use the same non-PSA power more then once a turn. So he can cast Gift of Chaos 3 times.
It is debatable if other Chaos Sorcerors could use non-PSA powers multiples times but we are not given explicit permission so it cannot be done.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 20:43:35
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
juraigamer wrote:It doesn't matter when the FAQ was released, specific vs general, the rulebook is general and the FAQ is giving permission to the character, Ahriman to cast chaos powers that aren't shooting attacks more than once.
Fixed.
The FAQ does not address any other characters or models. It gives permission to Ahriman only. Just because it's worded loosely, doesn't mean that it applies to any other models or characters.
Generally, most players agree that you don't make assumptions about GW's intentions unless the rules are completely broken and the game unplayable (Wraithlords not having eyes, for example).
In this case, the rules are clear. Anyone wanting to cast GoT (or any other non PSA) more than once in a turn, with any model other than Ahriman, is not reading the rule correctly.
DoW
EDIT: GreyTemplar has it right!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/19 20:44:08
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 22:09:25
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Read the CSM codex regarding psychic powers, it allows chaos with MOT to cast two powers, but only one shooting power. I said this before.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 22:12:12
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Ghastly Grave Guard
|
juraigamer wrote:Read the CSM codex regarding psychic powers, it allows chaos with MOT to cast two powers, but only one shooting power. I said this before.
Ah, that's right. I was looking in the section on the MoT. It definitely doesn't say anything in that section about bypassing the rule in the BRB about not being able to cast the same power twice in one turn. Huh. I have definitely been applying the FAQ's ruling on Ahriman to my 1K Sons sorcerer...
|
1500
500
Vampire Counts 2400
300
Circle Orboros 20 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 22:17:43
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
juraigamer wrote:Read the CSM codex regarding psychic powers, it allows chaos with MOT to cast two powers, but only one shooting power. I said this before.
While that may be true, it's not really relevant because the question is whether this FAQ ruling gives people permission to cast two of the same psychic powers in the same turn.
If it's granted by another rule elsewhere, then great. But using a FAQ about Ahriman to argue that you get special rules with another character is not correct.
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/19 22:21:47
Subject: Re:Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
MoT just lets you cast 2 powers a turn, its a lvl2 upgrade for Chaos Psykers similer to Epistolary for Vanilla marines.
Arhiman's FAQ allows him to cast the same psychic power multiple times.
If it is later FAQed that another model can cast the same power multiple times then it will obviously be dependent on that model being allowed to cast 2 psychic powers a turn, but that wasn't the question here.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 02:05:17
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Yes the FAQ gives this special character permission to do something all other chaos psychers have the possibility to do.
However the question is only for chaos powers, not all powers. You don't have permission to cast powers twice outside of being chaos since their rulebook FAQ doesn't give them permission nor does their codex. Simply stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 03:11:34
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
Lawndale
|
I just wanted to point out that Ahriman can cast multiple PSA per turn, but they cannot be the same PSA, and he is expressly given permission to shoot any PSA he casts. He may cast Doombolt, Bolt of Change, and Wind of Change, each of which must select the same unit as it's target.
I would say you may not cast the same power more than once a phase, unless you are Ahriman, or Eldrad.
|
11k 3k 5k 3k 2k
10k 10k 8k
3k 5k 4k 4k
Ogre 4k DElf 4k Brit 4k
DC:70+S++++G++MB+IPw40k00#+D++A++++WD251R+++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/04/20 23:02:57
Subject: Can gift of Chaos be cast twice?
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
He can cast any power three times so long as that power isn't a shooting power. So he can cast winds of chaos and then gift of chaos + gift of chaos, or 3 gifts. You aren't given permission to cast a shooting power twice, IE why demon princes can have two shooting powers and use each once, not one twice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|