Switch Theme:

Must units with the infiltrate rule deploy by infiltration.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






No you have listed more instances of "chosen to use the infiltrate rule"; that is not permission to deploy normally and I have proven why with the fact that the Infiltrators could choose to be held in reserve(a permission granted by the reserve rules).

You still have not shown any permission to deploy normally, you just keep pointing to the same statements and saying that those are your permission as opposed to them being references to Infiltrators in reserve(the only way infiltrators choose not to infiltrate).

The only one ignoring points that are inconvenient is you.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

Ok, here's another option to not infiltrate.
Page 21.
If a unit with Infiltrate is deployed inside a Dedicated Transport, they may infiltrate or outflank along with their Transport, but if they do, they must deploy/move onto the table embarked within it.

So, I can deploy in the transport, and may (not must) infiltrate or out flank.


-Matt

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/14 03:20:00


 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






That is an Either.

They may Infiltrate.

They may outflank.

The permission given is for the transport to also benefit from those rules.

Good try though.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Kommissar Kel wrote:No you have listed more instances of "chosen to use the infiltrate rule"; that is not permission to deploy normally and I have proven why with the fact that the Infiltrators could choose to be held in reserve(a permission granted by the reserve rules).

You still have not shown any permission to deploy normally, you just keep pointing to the same statements and saying that those are your permission as opposed to them being references to Infiltrators in reserve(the only way infiltrators choose not to infiltrate).

The only one ignoring points that are inconvenient is you.

lol, false proof is not proof. I am not ignoring anything, your arguments are just wrong. The conclusion you have come to is ridden with fallacies.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Kommissar Kel wrote:That is an Either.

They may Infiltrate.

They may outflank.

The permission given is for the transport to also benefit from those rules.

Good try though.


Sorry but may is not the same thing as must... It's an option not a requirement.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Dozer Blades wrote:
Kommissar Kel wrote:That is an Either.

They may Infiltrate.

They may outflank.

The permission given is for the transport to also benefit from those rules.

Good try though.


Sorry but may is not the same thing as must... It's an option not a requirement.


Yes, it's an option. You have the option of either infiltrating or outflanking. That's it. Nowhere does it grant an option to deploy normally. Personally, I think Kel has this one nailed.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Why does even really matter when you can deploy in your own deployment zone? I think people sit around with the rulebook and have way too much time on their hands. But you are entitled to your opinion.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Chooser of the Slain prevents an infiltrating unit from deploying within 18" of it. That's a 36" bubble. A SW player could force you to outflank every infiltrating unit if he wanted to.
edit: because 4 choosers could blanket the table in undeployable area.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/14 18:56:04


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Yeah I actually know several players who field 4 Rune Priests.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

don_mondo wrote:Yes, it's an option. You have the option of either infiltrating or outflanking. That's it. Nowhere does it grant an option to deploy normally. Personally, I think Kel has this one nailed.


Maybe you missed it so I will say it again. You deploy your regular units with the exception of those left in Reserves or that chose to use their Infiltrate Special Rule. Said and done. But you wanted more. So I pointed out a 2nd place that says the same thing, you deploy all units except those using their Infiltrate rule or starting in Reserves. And this is not good enough for you?

When you choose to use your Infiltrate rule you have two options: outflank or infiltrate. If you do not have permission to deploy normally you do not have permission to remain in Reserves. The Infiltrate rule says you are deployed last with the infiltrate limitations. It then says you have the option to Outflank. If the only option to deploy is with the Infiltrate rule then there is no Reserves for you.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Maybe you missed it, so I will say it again; the only choice Infiltrators have is to go into reserves, you are still making up rules that do not exist.

You are deploying your regular units.

You have 3 units of Infiltrators, 2 of those units you decide to place in reserve.

The last unit you have not chosen to place in reserve therefore you have chosen to deploy them via Infiltrate.

The only choice you are ever given is to deploy via Infiltrate or Reserves(outflank and deepstrike inclusive).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

If you can choose to deploy by Reserves you can choose to deploy normally. You are placing imaginary restrictions that are not there that apply only sometimes to make you look right.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: