Switch Theme:

Disembarking from vendetta while zooming  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Somewhat related followup question: I know you can't come on the board from reserves and subsequently move off in the same turn in your movement phase. However, can you move flat-out and end up off the board, then ending up in ongoing reserves? Using vendettas as transports currently seems iffy to me, as to disembark you either have to go to hover mode and leave yourself vulnerable or move flatout and sacrifice shooting, move a great deal, and risk your unit with scatter. However, if you can come in from reserves, move flat out, grav chute, and fly off the table in the same turn, only to arrive the next turn, it opens up interesting possibilities.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Isn't what you are proposing just come in from reserves, move and leave the board? Adding in GCI doesn't change you violating the rule that you stated in your opening sentence.
   
Made in us
Scuttling Genestealer




Nothing to do with gci. Was wondering if the restriction applied to just the movement phase or subsequent flat out moves as well. It makes sense that you wouldn't be able to, guess I was just looking for a loophole.
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





So just because our rule does not say that we can actually leave a flying vehicle even though it is flying flat out which we are allowed to leave. So under your logic if the vendetta moved more then twelve in the movement phase we still cannot leave in the flat out because the rule doesn't allow us to override the maximum move restriction. Your playing this far to restrictively. The rule allows to leave a Vendetta under a condition that should never be allowed anyways. Let them Jump out with their grav chut and chance death from the flyer that will not be shooting you for a turn now.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 White Ninja wrote:
So just because our rule does not say that we can actually leave a flying vehicle even though it is flying flat out which we are allowed to leave. So under your logic if the vendetta moved more then twelve in the movement phase we still cannot leave in the flat out because the rule doesn't allow us to override the maximum move restriction. Your playing this far to restrictively. The rule allows to leave a Vendetta under a condition that should never be allowed anyways. Let them Jump out with their grav chut and chance death from the flyer that will not be shooting you for a turn now.

Yes, the rules apply a restriction that Grav Chutes does not override. I like to play by the rules. Therefore I'll make sure that my opponent does not zoom, flat out, and disembark.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Imperial Recruit in Training





The Grav Chute Insertion rule was ammended in the FAQ to address the fact that flatout moves, previously made in the movement phase of 5th edition, now take place in the shooting phase of 6th edition.

This incidence is completely separate to the limitation in that 'models cannot embark upon, or disembark from, a zooming flyer.' (pg80, flyers section, 2nd column, 2nd paragraph, 6th edition rulebook). This means that if you wish to disembark from a flyer that zoomed you must wait until your following turn and take it out of zooming mode and into hover mode.

Also it is worth mentioning in this same paragraph it mentions that 'In a turn in which a Flyer enters the board from reserve, it can do so facing any direction you wish, providing that the resulting move will not carry it off the board again.' So you cannot arrive from and enter reserves with the same model in the same turn since any moves after a pivot occurs is considered a 'resulting move.'

(apologies for the late reply, I have only just signed up to this site and it still appears in google search)

WHERE IS YOUR EMPORER GOD NOW??? 
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury


Thread is being locked due to thread necromancy.

The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: