Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:01:37
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Tomb King wrote:When a rule is no longer valid or needed it is entered in the errata, or amendment section of an faq. If their is a specific question regarding a rule it is listed in the faq portion of an faq. If they wanted the vendetta to have no more effect such as Tau: Target Priority Test etc... they would of listed it in the proper section the one that removes or adds rules not the one that clarifies them.
You're implying that FAQs cannot change rules?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:08:58
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Tomb King wrote:
How many of the faq's would result in a different outcome if you only applied half the question?
First off I'm applying both questions with one answer. It answers both fine.
Secondly, show me another FAQ with multiple questions, and just 1 answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:14:25
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
rigeld2 wrote: Tomb King wrote:When a rule is no longer valid or needed it is entered in the errata, or amendment section of an faq. If their is a specific question regarding a rule it is listed in the faq portion of an faq. If they wanted the vendetta to have no more effect such as Tau: Target Priority Test etc... they would of listed it in the proper section the one that removes or adds rules not the one that clarifies them.
You're implying that FAQs cannot change rules?
They can change the ways rules are interpreted and the way they function but they dont remove a rule's complete function while leaving the rule through faq usually it is done through amendments or errata's.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:14:43
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RAW - no
RAI - yes
How I would play it - I guess I'd give them outflank, since I'd only be playing people who didn't spam them to begin with.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:15:48
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Tomb King wrote:
How many of the faq's would result in a different outcome if you only applied half the question?
First off I'm applying both questions with one answer. It answers both fine.
Secondly, show me another FAQ with multiple questions, and just 1 answer.
Didnt have to go far see space marines page 3.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:20:20
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Tomb King wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Tomb King wrote:
How many of the faq's would result in a different outcome if you only applied half the question?
First off I'm applying both questions with one answer. It answers both fine.
Secondly, show me another FAQ with multiple questions, and just 1 answer.
Didnt have to go far see space marines page 3.
\
Q. If I have two or more special characters that exchange the rule
Combat Tactics for another one, when must I decide which to use? Does
it have to be on the army list or can I decide before each game? (p51)
A. It needs to be on the army list.
See how it effects both questions.
Now apply the Vendetta FAQ using the same method.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:26:31
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Ooh, ooh better one:
Tyranid FAQ wrote:Q: Can a Tyranid Broodlord (which has BS 0) use a witchfire psychic
power that doesn’t require a roll To Hit? If not, is he able to re-roll the
psychic power because he cannot use it? (p40)
A: No to both questions.
and
Q: Can a Mycetic Spore be subject to a Tank Shock and, if so, can it
still choose whether to Death or Glory or simply move out of the way?
(p54)
A: Yes, but it must choose to make a Death of Glory attack as it
cannot move for any reason once it has entered the battle.
One more.
Q: Tyranid Special Characters. Are Tyranid Special Characters
considered to be special versions of the standard creatures of their type
for the purposes of using psychic powers, biomorphs and special rules?
For example, is the Swarmlord considered to be a Hive Tyrant for the
purposes of using Hive Tyrant psychic powers? Similarly, is
Deathleaper considered to be a Lictor for the purposes of Chameleonic
Skin and Pheromone Trail, is the Doom of Malan’tai considered to be a
Zoanthrope for the purposes of Warp Field, is Old One Eye considered
to be Carnifex for the purposes of Living Battering Ram and are
Ymgarl Genestealers considered to be Genestealers for the purposes of
Brood Telepathy? (p56-61)
A. Yes in all cases.
In hindsight, I think I proved your point...
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:27:51
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Tomb King wrote:jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote: Tomb King wrote:
How many of the faq's would result in a different outcome if you only applied half the question?
First off I'm applying both questions with one answer. It answers both fine.
Secondly, show me another FAQ with multiple questions, and just 1 answer.
Didnt have to go far see space marines page 3.
\
Q. If I have two or more special characters that exchange the rule
Combat Tactics for another one, when must I decide which to use? Does
it have to be on the army list or can I decide before each game? (p51)
A. It needs to be on the army list.
See how it effects both questions.
Now apply the Vendetta FAQ using the same method.
I see your straight and I show my flush:
Q. If I have two or more special characters that exchange the rule
Combat Tactics for another one, when must I decide which to use?
A: It needs to be on the army list
Wait that doesnt make sense.... lets try:
Does it have to be on the army list or can I decide before each game? (p51)
A: It needs to be on the army list
That makes since but what is it in reference too?
See my point? Its in 2 questions but is one complete statement.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 04:31:10
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Tomb King wrote:Q. If I have two or more special characters that exchange the rule
Combat Tactics for another one, when must I decide which to use?
A: It needs to be on the army list
This makes perfect sense. Since it needs to be on the army list you decide when building your army, as that is when things are added to your army list.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 08:35:45
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It seems pretty apparant to me they are only referencing the scout move rule and scout deployment. Outflank is an entirely different rule which is never brought up in the scope of the question asked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 09:40:10
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Nope, unless a vendetta has the outflank rule too then the FAQ reads that there is no benefit from the scout rule. Outflank is part of the benefits of the rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/26 09:40:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 10:08:15
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Kevlar wrote:It seems pretty apparant to me they are only referencing the scout move rule and scout deployment. Outflank is an entirely different rule which is never brought up in the scope of the question asked.
Except that Vendettas don't have Outflank. They have Scout, which normally grants Outflank, except that their Scout rule does nothing, so it doesn't grant Outflank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 14:16:14
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Kingsley wrote:Kevlar wrote:It seems pretty apparant to me they are only referencing the scout move rule and scout deployment. Outflank is an entirely different rule which is never brought up in the scope of the question asked.
Except that Vendettas don't have Outflank. They have Scout, which normally grants Outflank, except that their Scout rule does nothing, so it doesn't grant Outflank.
Look at the context of the question. Look at the answer. The question is only referencing the scout rule. The answer states the scout rule does nothing for the model. Nothing in the answer says to remove the scout rule from the model. Just that the scout rule does nothing for the model. It still has the scout rule, but since it must start deployed in reserve it can never use it. The rule is not removed however. So the model still has the scout rule and still has the outflank rule. The model can still legally outflank.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 14:39:30
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kevlar wrote: Kingsley wrote:Kevlar wrote:It seems pretty apparant to me they are only referencing the scout move rule and scout deployment. Outflank is an entirely different rule which is never brought up in the scope of the question asked.
Except that Vendettas don't have Outflank. They have Scout, which normally grants Outflank, except that their Scout rule does nothing, so it doesn't grant Outflank.
Look at the context of the question. Look at the answer. The question is only referencing the scout rule. The answer states the scout rule does nothing for the model. Nothing in the answer says to remove the scout rule from the model. Just that the scout rule does nothing for the model. It still has the scout rule, but since it must start deployed in reserve it can never use it. The rule is not removed however. So the model still has the scout rule and still has the outflank rule. The model can still legally outflank.
No it cannot. You're only answering a single question.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 15:03:32
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
This is another case of poorly worded FAQ answer.
By RAW, the wording removed Scout and Outflank.
By RAI and the context of the question, I believe it was intended just clarify that you cannot use a 6" inch move to redeploy from reserves onto the board. This is HIWPI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 15:19:40
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
^This. RAW is clear, no Outflanking. HIWPI (and what I believe is RAI), you can still outflank.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/26 18:14:48
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Fragile wrote:This is another case of poorly worded FAQ answer.
By RAW, the wording removed Scout and Outflank.
By RAI and the context of the question, I believe it was intended just clarify that you cannot use a 6" inch move to redeploy from reserves onto the board. This is HIWPI.
Agreed. Any GT's rule on this yet?
|
DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0
QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 00:03:12
Subject: Re:Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
Everyone on the internets is dumb,
obviously the RAW are that the Vendetta/Valkyrie have no effect, therefore.......
Plastic VTOL spaceships do not have a function......
how do you all not see this????????????
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 01:23:19
Subject: Re:Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RegulusBlack wrote:Everyone on the internets is dumb,
obviously the RAW are that the Vendetta/Valkyrie have no effect, therefore.......
Plastic VTOL spaceships do not have a function......
how do you all not see this????????????
Yeah the "It" is kind of vague, and without referencing either question in the answer you are free to interpret it in many different ways. Still, nothing removes the scout rule. Nothing removes the outflank rule. "It" has no effect in the frame of the question only removes scout deployment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 03:36:22
Subject: Re:Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Kevlar wrote: RegulusBlack wrote:Everyone on the internets is dumb,
obviously the RAW are that the Vendetta/Valkyrie have no effect, therefore.......
Plastic VTOL spaceships do not have a function......
how do you all not see this????????????
Yeah the "It" is kind of vague, and without referencing either question in the answer you are free to interpret it in many different ways. Still, nothing removes the scout rule. Nothing removes the outflank rule. "It" has no effect in the frame of the question only removes scout deployment.
Again allowing it to gain outflank from Scout, would be an effect.
At this point though, threads kinda dead and we're both just arguing A vs B all day. Until something new comes along, you know how I read the FAQ, and I know yours.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 06:31:45
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
People who think Vendettas still have Scout moves: please explain how "This rule also confers the Outflank special rule" is NOT an effect of the Scout rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/27 06:35:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 06:33:23
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Kingsley wrote:People who think Vendettas still have Scout moves: please explain how "Models with this rule also gain Outflank" is NOT an effect of the Scout rule.
The Context of the FaQ does not remove the scout rule, it just takes away the scout move.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 06:36:22
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
DeathReaper wrote: Kingsley wrote:People who think Vendettas still have Scout moves: please explain how "Models with this rule also gain Outflank" is NOT an effect of the Scout rule.
The Context of the FaQ does not remove the scout rule, it just takes away the scout move.
The context of the FAQ says the Scout rule has no effect. I don't see any reason to apply this to some parts of the Scout rule but not others.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 07:35:23
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"Q: What effect, if any, does the Scout special rule have on a Valkyrie or Vendetta? Will this allow it to enter play in Turn 1 by redeploying 6" onto the board? (p56)
A: It has no effect."
"Will this allow it to enter play in Turn 1 by redeploying 6" onto the board" Clearly references the scout move part of the rule, The context tells us the scout move is what the FaQ is referencing.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 07:44:09
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
No the context of the second question is about the scout move. The first question is far more broad in its scope.
"What effect, if any", is a very open question, the first part is a general question of it's effect while the second is a more specific situation.
The answer applies better to the first question as asked but gives an answer to both.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 08:00:59
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
It is an open question, and if not for the context of the second and related question it would totally negate the scout rule.
However the second question puts context to the first, and we see that they are only talking about the scout move.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 15:54:54
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:It is an open question, and if not for the context of the second and related question it would totally negate the scout rule.
However the second question puts context to the first, and we see that they are only talking about the scout move.
You are seeing that the Asker was talking about the scout rule. The Answer did not specify and gave a very broad blanket answer that pretty much negated the Scout rule. Again, its a poorly worded FAQ answer that should not have been posted.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/27 15:55:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 18:23:48
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The IG flyers are the most undercosted overpowered in the game. It's about time GW reigned them in a bit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 20:42:45
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
DeathReaper wrote:It is an open question, and if not for the context of the second and related question it would totally negate the scout rule.
However the second question puts context to the first, and we see that they are only talking about the scout move.
I disagree. The answer to the FAQ makes no sense when applied solely to the second question in the FAQ entry:
Will this allow it to enter play in Turn 1 by redeploying 6"
onto the board? (p56)
The answer only makes sense when applied to the first question. By answering the first, you obviate the need to address the second. Hence no Outflank and no 6'' move. This reminds me a bit of the attempts to avoid allowing MSS to benefit from the ability of a weapon that has the Force USR. If you disallow the 6'' move but allow the Outflank how are you preventing the player from benefiting from the Scout USR?
-Yad
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 20:48:21
Subject: Can Vendettas/Valkyries outflank since the latest IG FAQ came out?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The most conservative ruling is the flyers gain no benefit whatsoever from the USR... blame GW for sloppy writing if you will but this is the RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|