Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/27 22:06:08
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Its triggered at the end of the movement phase, then if anything that arrived that turn can be shot if in los and range. If theres a concern of flying to far from range use the Icharus las cannon its 96 inches. Personally Id want to shoot something in my face .
Though I see what your saying about shooting it as it comes on and flies by ya. Though that would be cool it dosent happen here.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/05 23:08:52
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Master Sergeant
|
Since the interceptor shots are done at the end of the enemy movement phase, can the gun with interceptor shoot the troops that come out of a drop pod instead of the pod, since the troops have come out of reserve as well? Our gaming group is debating this issue.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/05 23:12:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 00:02:24
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Ventus wrote:Since the interceptor shots are done at the end of the enemy movement phase, can the gun with interceptor shoot the troops that come out of a drop pod instead of the pod, since the troops have come out of reserve as well? Our gaming group is debating this issue.
Yes, you shot one unit that arrived from reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 04:59:00
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Ventus wrote:Since the interceptor shots are done at the end of the enemy movement phase, can the gun with interceptor shoot the troops that come out of a drop pod instead of the pod, since the troops have come out of reserve as well? Our gaming group is debating this issue.
An easy answer to this is that you could place the squad on the opposite side of the drop pod to the quad gun, reducing if not eliminating the number of models that are in LOS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 09:34:41
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord
|
insaniak wrote:The requirement for the vehicle to have arrived within range and LOS is simply the trigger for taking the shot. You would still need range and LOS at the time of taking the shot in order to actually hit it, since the rule doesn't say otherwise. So the vehicle needs to arrive within range and LOS in order for interceptor to work... and then you take a shot as per the normal shooting process.
I am leaning further towards the idea that the issue here is just a missing comma, though.
By absolutely strict black-letter RAW, i believe this is the correct interpretation. While I have no doubt that GW left out a comma because the rules were written without being edited for a tabula rasa player, RAW is king.
To reconcile it, I prefer to think that the first condition is what sets off the interceptor's radar and "smart" tracking, and the second condition is the actual firing of the guns. If the alarm doesn't get tripped in the first place, then the bullets don't fly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 15:55:43
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
heh, I kinda like Rifts interpretation. All I have to do is make sure my vendetta enters the table 49" away from the quad gun and it can't use interceptor.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 19:46:22
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The only problem with that interpretation I see is drop pods or other deep strikers. They "ended their movement" where they landed. How do you determine where they started their movement?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 19:46:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 20:02:45
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:The only problem with that interpretation I see is drop pods or other deep strikers. They "ended their movement" where they landed. How do you determine where they started their movement?
Then either you can shoot at deep striking units because they "arrived from freaking space!" or you have to read the "that arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight" means where it's final location is.
“At the end of the enemy Movement phase, a weapon with the Interceptor special rule can be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight.”
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 20:32:24
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
kronk wrote: Kevin949 wrote:The only problem with that interpretation I see is drop pods or other deep strikers. They "ended their movement" where they landed. How do you determine where they started their movement?
Then either you can shoot at deep striking units because they "arrived from freaking space!" or you have to read the "that arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight" means where it's final location is.
“At the end of the enemy Movement phase, a weapon with the Interceptor special rule can be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight.”
Well that's what I'm saying, with Insaniak's proposed interpretation you have no basis of where the unit arrived "from", I.E. you don't have distance or an entry point. You only know where they ended their movement.
The latter interpretation of "shoot at them depending on where they ended their movement, and thus 'arrived' from reserves" is probably the more accurate and less confusing route. To me, anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/06 23:45:12
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kevin949 wrote:Well that's what I'm saying, with Insaniak's proposed interpretation you have no basis of where the unit arrived "from", I.E. you don't have distance or an entry point. You only know where they ended their movement.
Hence my pointing out that I think this is just a grammar fail issue rather than how it is supposed to be played...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/07 14:45:14
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Since this argument is still going on... Just going to reiterate that completing your movement is all part of "Arriving from Reserves" on page 124.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 21:45:31
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
Check page 124, under the section ARRIVING FROM RESERVE.
Arrive from reserve includes the movement you take on the turn you arrive from reserve.
So, at the end of your movement, I check to see if any unit Arrived From Reserve within my range and Line of Sight. Since the movement you do with your reserve units is part of Arriving from Reserve, then as long as the model is currently (after your movement) in range and line of sight, I can shoot.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 22:45:39
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
HawaiiMatt wrote:Check page 124, under the section ARRIVING FROM RESERVE.
Arrive from reserve includes the movement you take on the turn you arrive from reserve.
So, at the end of your movement, I check to see if any unit Arrived From Reserve within my range and Line of Sight. Since the movement you do with your reserve units is part of Arriving from Reserve, then as long as the model is currently (after your movement) in range and line of sight, I can shoot.
-Matt
Feel like I've said that... twice now
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 23:09:30
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
jms40k wrote:HawaiiMatt wrote:Check page 124, under the section ARRIVING FROM RESERVE.
Arrive from reserve includes the movement you take on the turn you arrive from reserve.
So, at the end of your movement, I check to see if any unit Arrived From Reserve within my range and Line of Sight. Since the movement you do with your reserve units is part of Arriving from Reserve, then as long as the model is currently (after your movement) in range and line of sight, I can shoot.
-Matt
Feel like I've said that... twice now
Well you have been right twice now : )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 23:17:44
Subject: Re:Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Rift wrote:I quoted it exactly like it is in the book, as I said pg. 38 if you want to confirm.
Yes you did, but arriving in LOS and range is only one of the criteria for them being a viable target; the others are listed in the shooting section. Two of them are range and LOS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 23:29:43
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Killer Klaivex
Oceanside, CA
|
jms40k wrote:HawaiiMatt wrote:Check page 124, under the section ARRIVING FROM RESERVE.
Arrive from reserve includes the movement you take on the turn you arrive from reserve.
So, at the end of your movement, I check to see if any unit Arrived From Reserve within my range and Line of Sight. Since the movement you do with your reserve units is part of Arriving from Reserve, then as long as the model is currently (after your movement) in range and line of sight, I can shoot.
-Matt
Feel like I've said that... twice now
I think we're both right then. Unless somebody wants to argue that how to move your unit while arriving from reserve, which is under the heading Arriving from reserve, is somehow not part of Arriving from Reserve.
-Matt
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/09 23:58:05
Subject: Re:Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
meh ignore.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/09 23:59:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 17:56:47
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation
|
A similar problem I've just thought of that may have an impact on this discussion is the wording and subsequent FAQ regarding Coteaz's I've Been Expecting You rule. His rule uses similar language regarding the use of "arrive" about when he can shoot. The FAQ goes on to clarify that it's their point of arrival on the board, after scatter if deepstriking, that is used to activate the rule.
I understand it's slightly different since Coteaz gets to shoot immediately while the quad gun must wait until the end of the movement phase but it seems like an interesting parallel between the rules. It also makes me wonder, does Coteaz get to fire at someone if they didn't start out in his range but end up in his range while still arriving from reserves?
For instance, a drop pod with a Tac squad arrives 15" away from Coteaz thus not qualifying for IBEY but the Tac squad then uses its disembark to move towards Coteaz and ends their move 11" away so that they may rapid fire. Does Coteaz get to fire as soon as the squad crosses the 12" mark or did he miss his chance because they arrive 15" away?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 19:24:50
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Plastictrees
|
I know that I'm just some guy on the Internet and nobody has to believe that I have a like Ph.D. in English and have been teaching English at college since 1991, but for whatever it's worth here's the correct version of the grammar issue here.
GWs sentence is grammatically correct, but written in such a way that it's not possible to determine the meaning from the sentence itself.
“At the end of the enemy Movement phase, a weapon with the Interceptor special rule can be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight.”
"that has arrived from reserve" is a restrictive clause modifying the obect-of-the-preposition "unit," and that's the only possible interpretation of that part.
"within its range and line of sight" is a prepositional phrase that either modifies "unit" or "arrived," and it's a defect of English grammar that it's not possible to tell which from the way it's positioned.
Either the sentence is saying
...any one unit that has arrived from reserve.
plus
....any one unit that [is] within its range and line of sight.
or it is saying
....any one unit that has arrived from reserve
plus
...any one unit that arrived within range and line of sight.
The restrictive clause "that has arrived..." must be placed next to the word it modifies, "unit" or else it would break the rules of grammar and create a misplaced modifier error.
Placement of prepositional phrases is more flexible in English, so GW's writers bumped it down to the end of the sentence to avoid misplacing the restrictive clause. But flexibility also makes prepositions subject to ambiguity of this kind. GW Should have rewritten the sentence to make the meaning clear, or split it into two sentences.
I don't think that adding a comma makes any difference. Putting a comma there just makes the prepositional phrase nonrestrictive, which would be grammatically incorrect since the phrase "within its range and line of sight" is restrictive (that is, it is necessary to the meaning of the sentence). A comma still wouldn't tell us whether "within" was meant to modify "unit" or "arrived."
Sorry for the non-answer answer :\
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/12 19:41:47
"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 20:53:22
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Ho-hum)
Curb stomping in the Eye of Terror!
|
Flavius Infernus wrote:I know that I'm just some guy on the Internet and nobody has to believe that I have a like Ph.D. in English and have been teaching English at college since 1991, but for whatever it's worth here's the correct version of the grammar issue here.
GWs sentence is grammatically correct, but written in such a way that it's not possible to determine the meaning from the sentence itself.
“At the end of the enemy Movement phase, a weapon with the Interceptor special rule can be fired at any one unit that has arrived from reserve within its range and line of sight.”
"that has arrived from reserve" is a restrictive clause modifying the obect-of-the-preposition "unit," and that's the only possible interpretation of that part.
"within its range and line of sight" is a prepositional phrase that either modifies "unit" or "arrived," and it's a defect of English grammar that it's not possible to tell which from the way it's positioned.
Either the sentence is saying
...any one unit that has arrived from reserve.
plus
....any one unit that [is] within its range and line of sight.
or it is saying
....any one unit that has arrived from reserve
plus
...any one unit that arrived within range and line of sight.
The restrictive clause "that has arrived..." must be placed next to the word it modifies, "unit" or else it would break the rules of grammar and create a misplaced modifier error.
Placement of prepositional phrases is more flexible in English, so GW's writers bumped it down to the end of the sentence to avoid misplacing the restrictive clause. But flexibility also makes prepositions subject to ambiguity of this kind. GW Should have rewritten the sentence to make the meaning clear, or split it into two sentences.
I don't think that adding a comma makes any difference. Putting a comma there just makes the prepositional phrase nonrestrictive, which would be grammatically incorrect since the phrase "within its range and line of sight" is restrictive (that is, it is necessary to the meaning of the sentence). A comma still wouldn't tell us whether "within" was meant to modify "unit" or "arrived."
Sorry for the non-answer answer :\
er... coin toss or hope for FAQ?
From my Latin background in which I needed to know the technical english language in order to translate... that all makes sense to me.
|
Live Ork, Be Ork. or D'Ork!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 20:56:29
Subject: Did I miss something regarding Interceptor??
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
That, sir, was well said. Thank you for spending the time to type all that out.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/12 20:58:11
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
|