Switch Theme:

Typhus' Destroyer Hive  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




40k-noob wrote:
seems to me that you can charge the enemy controlling or close to the gun and in the charge move end up in BTB with the gun and thus strike it at initiative during the fight subphase.

However you cannot declare a charge against the gun as it is not an enemy unit.


This is how i think it works. If you want to enter in to combat with an aegis defense line, then you must charge the unit manning the gun, and pile in next to the gun. The rule for gun emplacements gives you explicit permission to attack the gun in close combat, and so you can, auto-hitting it. however, the only way to get into close combat with the gun is to charge a unit next to said gun. But then comes the issue of whether or not you would have to declare a multi-charge or not, as the gun is a separate unit from the one you are charging.

don_mondo wrote:Or maybe, just maybe, you can only charge it when it is manned by an enemy model, making it an enemy model. Ya think?

This is how it probably SHOULD have been written, as that makes a lot more sense.
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

40k-noob wrote:


However you cannot declare a charge againt the gun as it is not an enemy unit.


Following this logic, you cannot shoot it either, as you cannot target it as it is not an enemy unit. However, there is explicit permission to both shoot and attack these models.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 Lordhat wrote:
40k-noob wrote:


However you cannot declare a charge againt the gun as it is not an enemy unit.


Following this logic, you cannot shoot it either, as you cannot target it as it is not an enemy unit. However, there is explicit permission to both shoot and attack these models.

No. We have EXPLICIT PERMISSION to shoot the gun emplacement, given to us by the Battlefield debris subsection on Pg 105. This subsection also gives us permission to attack it in close combat.

What you do not have sir, is EPLICIT PERMISSION TO CHARGE THE GUN EMPLACEMENT.
If you want to charge the Aegis Gun Emplacement, you need to find a page in the rule book that either;
A) Declares the Aegis Gun Emplacement is in fact an Enemy unit, not a neutral one, or;
B) Find explicit permission to charge the gun emplacement.
If you cannot do either of these things, then you may not charge an Aegis Gun Emplacement.

   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Neronoxx wrote:
And just how are you striking blows if you have not charged? Because as far as i know, in order to enter combat, you must charge.

Charging isn't a requirement of striking blows. It's just the usual method to get models into B2B.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/06 01:21:44


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





San Jose, CA

You cannot declare a charge on the gun emplacement. The only way to attack it is to declare a charge on an enemy unit nearby and then pile into the gun emplacement as well.

But if you are doing that already, why even bother? Just pile into the enemy with Typhus and use his Destroyer Hive to kill both enemies and cultists. That's a better way to increase the Tally.




6th Edition Tournaments: Golden Throne GT 2012 - 1st .....Bay Area Open GT 2013 - Best Tyranids
ATC 2013 - Team Fluffy Bunnies - 1st .....LVO GT 2014 Team Tournament - Best Generals
7th Edition: 2015-16 ITC Best Grey Knights, 2015-16 ITC Best Tyranids
Jy2's 6th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links.....Jy2's 7th Edition Battle Report Thread - Links
 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 grendel083 wrote:
Neronoxx wrote:
And just how are you striking blows if you have not charged? Because as far as i know, in order to enter combat, you must charge.

Charging isn't a requirement of striking blows. It's just the usual method to get models into B2B.

Can you cite a page in the rule book that supports this?
Then if you can, can you cite a page in the rule book that allows typhus to make use of said rule if it is not intrinsic to all units?
jy2 wrote:You cannot declare a charge on the gun emplacement. The only way to attack it is to declare a charge on an enemy unit nearby and then pile into the gun emplacement as well.

But if you are doing that already, why even bother? Just pile into the enemy with Typhus and use his Destroyer Hive to kill both enemies and cultists. That's a better way to increase the Tally.

Most people are taking typhus with a large squad of cultists, charging their own Aegis Gun Emplacement on turn 1, activating the destroyer hive to bump up the tally right off the bat.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Just out of curiosity, for the nay-sayers on being able to charge the weapon, how do you shoot at the weapon? After all in order to shoot you have to target an enemy unit and I think most agree that the weapon is not an enemy unit.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




 Happyjew wrote:
Just out of curiosity, for the nay-sayers on being able to charge the weapon, how do you shoot at the weapon? After all in order to shoot you have to target an enemy unit and I think most agree that the weapon is not an enemy unit.

As i have already cited the rules for this, I'll ask you to read back a little bit. The Gun Emplacement's rules provide an exception to the normal shooting rules, allowing it to be shot. They do not provide an exception to the charge rules. Read the rules for Gun Emplacements and this becomes remarkably clear.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Also, scattering shots are not all that uncommon.

/shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Topic? This thread isn't directed at gun emplacements.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: