Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 01:17:21
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
USR do transfer unless specifically stated i.e feel no pain death company models
SR do not transfer unless specifically stated, ie Mark of Death or Hyperspace Hunter etc (faq set aside for RC)
|
1 Tactical Sergeant Finished |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 01:20:28
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Chris Lysander wrote:USR do transfer unless specifically stated i.e feel no pain death company models
SR do not transfer unless specifically stated, ie Mark of Death or Hyperspace Hunter etc ( faq set aside for RC)
For special rules it depends on the rule.
1. A model with this special rule...: Only the model benefits from the rule. (example FNP)
2. A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule...: As long as one model has the rule, every model in the unit benefits. (example Stealth)
3. A unit that consists entirely of models with this special rule...: The special rule applies to the whole unit as long as every model has it. (example Fleet)
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 03:16:03
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Chris Lysander wrote:USR do transfer unless specifically stated i.e feel no pain death company models
SR do not transfer unless specifically stated, ie Mark of Death or Hyperspace Hunter etc ( faq set aside for RC)
There is no distinction between Special Rules and Universal Special Rules. The are all Special Rules, and do not transfer from unit to IC (or vice versa) unless stated in the rule itself. Happyjew has outlined the main ways in which this is stated outright.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 03:34:05
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The issue I have is this is an older codex, so I can't be sure what the meaning behind the terminology use might mean, in connection to 6th edition rules. That leaves this squarely in the 'I have no clue' category, because they do use the word unit within the special rule itself but don't make it clear if they intended for it to work with Independent Characters. The exact term they use is DeathMark unit, so you can see part of the problem there. I have no clue if they are talking about the unit as a whole, in which case an independent character is included. They could easily be using the name of the unit to mean models that start within the unit, in which case the independent character clearly is not but a Royal Court member would be. This all comes back to the 'unit type' section, that stupid bloody page that should of been 'model type,' and the fact it is very likely they have duel terms for the word unit and could be using either one in this situation.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/06/28 03:49:21
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 03:46:46
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
I'm not honestly sure how someone could read the independent character rules and then still come to the conclusion that Imotekh does not count as a part of the unit. The rules are rather clear.
I still stand by my statement that this is not a very good combo however; given he effectively negates their ability to deepstrike if you join them together in reserves (and/or cannot deploy with them at all and would need to be on the board relatively close to where you deepstrike them in in order to join them), and at str 8 the lightning will wound on a 2+ versus virtually everything anyway.
Whomever said that the 'Hunters from Hyperspace' special rule is not a 'Universal' special rule is technically correct, though that is a semantic difference at best.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 03:47:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 04:11:13
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Necron Codex pg 36 Hunters from Hyperspace When a deathmark unit deploys, choose a non-vehicle enemy unit on the battlefield (even a unit in a transport) to be there prey - place a counter next to the chosen unit to serve as a reminder. Any deathmark UNIT that shoots at, or strikes a blow against, a unit marked in this fashion will score a wound on a roll of 2+. RB pg 39 Independent Character While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for ALL RULES purposes, though he still follows rules for characters. HE GETS THE SPECIAL RULE... This argument is so done
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 07:03:27
Necrons
Tau |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 05:15:02
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
KonTheory wrote:Necron Codex pg 36
Hunters from Hyperspace
When a deathmark unit deploys, choose a non-vehicle enemy unit on the battlefield (even a unit in a transport) to be there prey - place a counter next to the chosen unit to serve as a reminder. Any deathmark UNIT that shoots at, or strikes a blow against, a unit marked in this fashion will score a wound on a roll of 2+.
RB pg 39
Independent Character
While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for ALL SPECIAL RULES purposes, though he still follows rules for characters.
HE GETS THE SPECIAL RULE...
This argument is so done
Well yeah, of course the argument is done when you misquote the rules and ignore other parts you don't like. The quote from page 39 is "While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows rules for characters."
The word special isn't used at all.
And you're ignoring the section on the same page "Special Rules" where it says "Unless specified in the rule itself (as in the Stubborn special rule), the unit's special rules are not conferred upon the Independent Character, and " vice versa.
So any attached IC's absolutely don't receive the "Hunters from Hyperspace" rule, so the question becomes "Is 'the Deathmark unit' sufficient to include attached IC's?" I'm inclined to agree with your conclusion, but you weaken your argument when you doctor quotes and don't deal with sections that may cast doubt on your conclusions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 05:39:29
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
I'm of the opinion that a non-Deathmark model attached doesn't benefit from the rule - as mentioned above, special rules need to state they transfer. The ones that do simply say "unit". For the rule not to transfer to ICs is the only reason for the term "Deathmark unit" to be used. I would think that GW somehow thought that all the players would then pull out their crystal balls and see that that was somehow supposed to make it apply to Royal Court members, otherwise there would be no reason to use "Deathmark unit" at all and simply say "model with this rule" instead...
Oh. And one more thing. I appreciate the confusion for us hoary old vets, but please please please drill this next bit into your heads:
There is no such thing as "universal" special rules any more.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 07:03:15
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
Ok yes, I added special.. my mistake, wasn't my intent to botch that Automatically Appended Next Post: fixed it.. but still.. a rule is a rule.. special or not
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 07:03:45
Necrons
Tau |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 11:13:40
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
True, it is a rule. And of course, an IC is a member of the unit for all rules purposes (point 1).
*BUT* we're also told that special rules don't transfer to joined ICs unless specified. (point 2) This, by its very definition, is also a rule.
If you give the attached IC a rule that doesn't state it transfers, you've broken point 2 in trying to apply point 1. Not only is point 2 more specific, but if you have an IC as a member without special rules transferring, *they are still a member of that unit*, having the unit's special rules isn't a prerequisite, so nothing is broken. This is why the special rules each state "model" or "unit".
To reverse it, if you're saying an attached IC picks up all properties of a unit it joins, that means it must also:
1) pick up the profile of that unit as well, since characteristics are rules
2) lose its own special rules as well as unit type, since the unit didn't have them and the IC is now a member.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 11:14:30
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 12:21:31
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine
|
While I do believe any IC will benefit from the rule, the Lord of Storms special rule is not a shooting attack FROM Imhotek based on the definition of shooting attacks in the BRB and the rule in the codex, so the lightning strike gains no benefit (so no 2+ to wound WK and WL).
Furthermore, if it WAS a shooting attack from Imhotek, the first model/unit hit by the lightning strike would HAVE to be the target the rest of the Deathmarks shoot at, because a unit has to fire at the same target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 13:06:15
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The rule doesnt transfer; the effect of it does
An IC without stealth joining a unit WITH stealth does not gain the stealth rule, just the benefit of it
Hunters is a rule that affects the whole DM unit; the IC is a member of the unit, and so is affected by it. He never gains the rule
Same as Painboy with Warboss
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 15:38:01
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:The rule doesnt transfer; the effect of it does
An IC without stealth joining a unit WITH stealth does not gain the stealth rule, just the benefit of it
Hunters is a rule that affects the whole DM unit; the IC is a member of the unit, and so is affected by it. He never gains the rule
Same as Painboy with Warboss
This is all true, because the rules state "unit". The issue is that this rule states "Deathmark unit"... and it's then FAQed to make it clear this applies to Royal Court attached characters, but makes no mention of ICs.
If it's genuinely supposed to apply to ICs as well:
1) why does the rule not simply just say "unit", as Stealth, Hunters and FNP (and all the rest) do?
2) why did the FAQ specify the Royal Court in particular?
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/28 16:50:38
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Super Ready wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:The rule doesnt transfer; the effect of it does
An IC without stealth joining a unit WITH stealth does not gain the stealth rule, just the benefit of it
Hunters is a rule that affects the whole DM unit; the IC is a member of the unit, and so is affected by it. He never gains the rule
Same as Painboy with Warboss
This is all true, because the rules state "unit". The issue is that this rule states "Deathmark unit"... and it's then FAQed to make it clear this applies to Royal Court attached characters, but makes no mention of ICs.
If it's genuinely supposed to apply to ICs as well:
1) why does the rule not simply just say "unit", as Stealth, Hunters and FNP (and all the rest) do?
2) why did the FAQ specify the Royal Court in particular?
I would believe the reason it is written differently is because it was written for 5e, and how they formatted the books back then, instead of 6e.
How dose it specify for the RC? Dose it say the RC counts as part of the unit for all accounts like IC, but lacks the part where they can leave like an IC, or is it written too different for us to make that connection?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/28 16:51:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 06:12:21
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Gnawing Giant Rat
|
It is stated "Deathmarks unit" in the event the player has multiple Deathmark units in play.
Each unit of Deathmarks, ic's included can share thier hunted targets with any other Deathmarks unit. Wounding any of them on 2+. Automatically Appended Next Post: They could of just ad easily wrote Deathmarks model and accomplished the exact same thing and excluded ice, rc
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/29 06:16:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 07:39:24
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
Slayith - that does make sense, but it's made clear from the FAQ that RC characters (at least) are supposed to be included.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 13:50:01
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
And? the IC is a member of the Deathmark Unit, as he IS a normal member of the unit for ALL rules purposes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 15:31:57
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Nos, does the rule specify it affects attached ICs? If not it doesn't work.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 17:09:27
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
So a painboy doesnt give the whole unit, including the IC, FNP?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 17:14:25
Subject: Re:Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Technically stubborn doesn't specify it affects IC's and yet it does include IC's.
Edit: Contractions make the sentence.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/06/29 21:36:26
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/29 17:19:57
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:Nos, does the rule specify it affects attached ICs? If not it doesn't work.
Affected != Conferred. The latter is what page 39 states.
The IC rules specify the rule is not *conferred* to the IC. Which it doesnt have to be for the IC to *benefit* from the rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/30 07:57:57
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
|
not sure if this is mentioned (kinda skimmed the last few pages), but a RC member attached to a squad does not count as a member of that squad for everything. if all the deathmarks die, and only the RC guy is left up, no RP rolls for the deathmarks. only an EL roll for the court member. and as soon as the last deathmark goes away, all the RP counters go with him.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/30 09:34:00
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
But thats because that is specified as such in the rules for EL.
It has nothing to do with the topic of this thread.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/06/30 13:17:43
Subject: Imotehk with Deathmarks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Super Ready wrote:
1) why does the rule not simply just say "unit", as Stealth, Hunters and FNP (and all the rest) do?
Because it was not only intended for the unit that "marked" the target to benefit from that mark. If you had more than one unit of Deathmarks in your army, each could mark a target and the other Deathmark unit could benefit from that mark. The specificity of the "Deathmark" modifier is required here.
2) why did the FAQ specify the Royal Court in particular?
Because, unlike the BRB rules that specifically address how to treat an IC that has joined a unit, the Necron book doesn't speak to this at all for the RC. Are they part of the unit or not? The Necron book says that they're still part of the RC after all. Since the RC are not ICs, the rules in the BRB concerning ICs do not apply to them, as such they lie in a grey area as far as rules transfer goes. Space Wolves have a similar issue with the Wolf Guard Pack Leaders that needed a fairly lengthy FAQ response to clarify.
|
|
 |
 |
|