Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/09 15:51:01
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
I have a quick question, and I wanted to make sure I had the ruling right in regards to Asteroids (using the tokens in the core box).
If my ship flies on to an Asteroid, I don't stop and move myself back until I'm touching the asteroid right?
While on/moving through an asteroid, I roll a red damage die and take a hit based on what I roll, including hits and crits?
While on an asteroid, I cannot shoot at other ships, but can be shot at right?
If I start my movement on an asteroid, and say due to another ship being too close, I overlap their base and push back on to the asteroid, do I have to make another damage roll, and can I shoot at other ships, or does it still count as if I'm on the asteroid (I am assuming yes it counts as if I'm on the asteroid here).
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/09 15:53:38
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Chapter Master with Wings
|
You don't stop as with a ship, if you overlap, you stay where you land. You roll a red and take the result, and you also lose your action and cannot shoot at anything for the turn.
If your movement template (NOT the base) traverses the asteroid but your ship ends up not touching it on stopping, you do everything as per above, but you can continue to shoot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/09 16:05:58
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
Excellent, I played it right with my dad, but we played it wrong last Friday at the store. Though with the GF9 asteroids, and the HAF asteroids, I can see this being an issue... Though if the HAF pegs are removable, you can just remove the rock and place your ship on the plastic cut out until it's off.
Any answers to my last, albeit strange scenario?
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/09 16:07:41
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Chapter Master with Wings
|
That is precisely why I ordered the H and F ones, and exactly how they work, they are the only ones that would possibly be legal for tournament play, and the only ones with varied base sizes that I saw -
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 08:01:59
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
I had the following scenario come up the other night, and not sure if I played it right.
Had Luke with Swarm Tactics and Biggs come under heavy fire. Biggs drew the face up "Your PR is 0" card. Does Swarm Tactics override this?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 13:09:32
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
Swarm Tactics: Until the end of this phase, TREAT the chosen ship as if its pilot skill were equal to your pilot skill Damaged Cockpit: After the round in which you receive this card, TREAT your pilot skill value as "0" Rulebook, page 20: If one card ability forbids an effect, while another ability allows it, the effect is forbidden. I'd say from that the chosen ship's Pilot Skill would be treated as a 0. If it continues to be disputed, roll for it as per page 13. But i would say you wouldn't be allowed to use Swarm Tactics to boost that ship's Pilot Skill. So from the way I'm reading this, since you have a negative effect that says your pilot skill is 0, it would forbid the effect of treating your PS as the Swarm Tactics PS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/18 13:19:17
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 15:30:56
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Chapter Master with Wings
|
Correct, if 2 rules or buffs conflict, it is the crappier option of the 2 for the defender or beneficiary that wins.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 15:35:36
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Out of interest, how do tournaments work?
Do you bring a Rebel army and an Imperial army, then then alternate every round?
Do you just bring 1 list (Rebs or Imps) and then you might end up playing a skirmish against your own side, according to tournament draw?
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 15:48:09
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
Yes, bring your army and face off against whoever is drawn against you regardless of faction. Initiative is determined by a coin flip IIRC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/07/18 15:53:18
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
Yes and no. The tournament rules say, "Players determine initiative. Initiative goes to the player with the lowest squad point total. If both players are tied with the same squad point total, initiative goes to the player who wins a coin toss." So if you and your opponent are playing 100 points and you both have squads that are 100 points then you flip a coin, but if your opponent has 1 point less, he technically goes first.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/07/18 15:53:32
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/17 23:18:07
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
Been wondering if I got this right. Dutch is passing a TL onto a Green Squadron mook with Deadeye and Cluster Missiles.
Mook spends Focus to launch missile. Now the card text tells you to perform the attack twice. You roll 3 red die, the defender rolls his green die, repeat. If you choose to spend your TL on the first set, does that carry over to the second set?
Secondly, if hypothetically your first set blows Soontir up, can your second set be used to take a crack at his Sabre wingman (whose also in range)?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/18 00:27:17
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Evil_Toast wrote:If you choose to spend your TL on the first set, does that carry over to the second set?
No. It is two separate attacks, any bonuses that apply to a single attack do not carry over to the second one. This is why you get six attack dice instead of four like most other missiles, because it's split up into two attacks.
(One important exception here is that the marksmanship skill gives you a bonus when attacking this turn instead of to a single attack, so it will apply to both attacks.)
Secondly, if hypothetically your first set blows Soontir up, can your second set be used to take a crack at his Sabre wingman (whose also in range)?
No. You perform the same attack (including target) twice. If the first one kills the target the second is lost. If you're concerned about wasting shots make sure to fire your missiles early before this becomes a problem.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/18 00:27:57
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 13:35:35
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
Another question. Push the Limit. It says perform an action, then perform another action in your bar etc etc. According to the rules, you cannot perform the same action twice a round. So Boost+Boost is wrong, but Boost+Focus/Evade/Barrel Roll is fine. But been reading some stuff where the get Soontir to double Boost. Am I missing something here?
P.S. Maybe this thread can get the sticky treatment too oh great and benevolent Mod powers that rule over our worthless Dakka lives?[/brown nosing]
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/23 13:37:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 13:45:19
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Old Sourpuss
|
Evil_Toast wrote:Another question. Push the Limit. It says perform an action, then perform another action in your bar etc etc. According to the rules, you cannot perform the same action twice a round. So Boost+Boost is wrong, but Boost+Focus/Evade/Barrel Roll is fine. But been reading some stuff where the get Soontir to double Boost. Am I missing something here?
You cannot perform the same action twice in a round, so double boost is out of the question. Can you link to someone doing a double boost with Soontir?
|
DR:80+S++G+M+B+I+Pwmhd11#++D++A++++/sWD-R++++T(S)DM+

Ask me about Brushfire or Endless: Fantasy Tactics |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 13:53:13
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
Need to remember which site first. Was a slow Friday at work and browsed quite a bit. Glad to know I was doing it right though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 16:04:03
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
Pittsburgh, PA
|
For the Gunner, does that only trigger if you don't roll any "hit" results, or also if your opponent evades all of your hits?
|
Eldar shenanigans are the best shenanigans!
DQ:90S++G+M--B+IPw40k09#+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 16:23:58
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
Both situations cause Gunner/Crewman Luke to kick in, at least the way I read it.
You also might find this interesting, if you fire a missile/torpedo and cause Gunner to kick in, the FAQ says you can target a different ship.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 16:56:15
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
Pittsburgh, PA
|
Can you target a different ship if it isn't triggered by a missile/torpedo? I'm looking at trying Krassis Trelix with an HLC and Gunner. Oh, and the cannon counts as a secondary weapon, right? Or is that just bombs, torpedoes, and missiles?
|
Eldar shenanigans are the best shenanigans!
DQ:90S++G+M--B+IPw40k09#+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 17:04:38
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Raw SDF-1 Recruit
Durban-South Africa. Like schwow man!
|
The HLC is a Secondary Weapon, Gunner only allows a Primary Weapon attack. And yes, if you miss with the Laser Cannon, Gunner gets to make his attack against the same or different target of your choosing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/23 17:21:14
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
Pittsburgh, PA
|
Ok great, thanks! I was asking to make sure the cannon was secondary just to check if Trelix's ability would apply to it, glad it does. I've only ever played games so far with the core box.
|
Eldar shenanigans are the best shenanigans!
DQ:90S++G+M--B+IPw40k09#+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 01:29:45
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
If a Y wing scores a hit on a tie fighter, but the fighter evades the hit, does it suffer the effect of the ion shot? Or must the ion round actually hit and not be evaded by the defense dice in order to slow down the tie.
This came up in a game tonight. We played it as if the fighter evaded the shot and didn't suffer he ion results, it seemed to make the Y wing and ion cannon a little underwhelming.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 02:48:04
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
TheLionOfTheForest wrote:If a Y wing scores a hit on a tie fighter, but the fighter evades the hit, does it suffer the effect of the ion shot? Or must the ion round actually hit and not be evaded by the defense dice in order to slow down the tie.
This came up in a game tonight. We played it as if the fighter evaded the shot and didn't suffer he ion results, it seemed to make the Y wing and ion cannon a little underwhelming.
The way things are worded, it does seem that you need to have an unevaded hit to suffer ion results (makes sense that you can't really be effected by the ion if you manage to dodge the shot)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 02:56:24
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
TheLionOfTheForest wrote:If a Y wing scores a hit on a tie fighter, but the fighter evades the hit, does it suffer the effect of the ion shot? Or must the ion round actually hit and not be evaded by the defense dice in order to slow down the tie.
A "hit" is defined as rolling a {explosion} symbol that is not canceled by defense dice or other abilities. Until the defender responds to your attack you just have some red dice with results on them, not hits. So in the case of the ion cannon you roll your attack, and if the target would suffer 1+ damage it suffers 1 damage and an ion token instead.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 04:41:28
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
2nd Lieutenant
San Jose, California
|
Evil_Toast wrote:Another question. Push the Limit. It says perform an action, then perform another action in your bar etc etc. According to the rules, you cannot perform the same action twice a round. So Boost+Boost is wrong, but Boost+Focus/Evade/Barrel Roll is fine. But been reading some stuff where the get Soontir to double Boost. Am I missing something here?
P.S. Maybe this thread can get the sticky treatment too oh great and benevolent Mod powers that rule over our worthless Dakka lives?[/brown nosing]
Soontir Fel can't double boost because you can't do the same action twice in one turn. However, due to his pilot ability, Fel can get 2 Focus tokens in one turn using PTL as long as he takes a Focus as one of the two actions he gets via PTL. He gets a stress for using PTL and, because of his pilot ability, a Focus token as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/31 04:42:05
Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 05:19:50
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
|
Thank for the clarification of the ion cannon hit rule. I'm guessing to make the ion cannon more effective there would have to be more Y wings in the fight, my opponent had only a single Y and it got to shoot twice but I managed to evade both rounds.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/08/31 05:20:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/08/31 22:13:41
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Blood Angel Chapter Master with Wings
|
Yup the above are correct... a hit has to actually occur unsaved to be a hit. This is noteworthy for gunner as well btw, as it means if the target dodges everything, even if you hit, that you get to activate the card.
This also means as the defender against a ship with gunner, you may not want to use that evade if it only costs you one hit... if you use it, you may take 3-4 hits instead with no evade.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/05 13:08:54
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For cluster missiles, does it allow you to attack separate targets or do both attacks get resolved against the same target?
|
DT:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k00+D++A(WTF)/areWD100R+++++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/05 13:27:05
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Major
In a van down by the river
|
ironicsilence wrote:For cluster missiles, does it allow you to attack separate targets or do both attacks get resolved against the same target?
Both attacks go against the same target as per the FAQ: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/ffg_content/x-wing/support/faq/X-Wing-FAQ.pdf
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/05 13:29:12
Subject: X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
oh man, FAQs?! Guess I'll start reading! Thanks!
|
DT:80S+++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k00+D++A(WTF)/areWD100R+++++T(T)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/09/05 13:46:53
Subject: Re:X-Wing - Rules YMDC/Help thread
|
 |
Major
In a van down by the river
|
We should probably get Tom to put that in the X-Wing resources post too; just noticed it was absent.
|
|
 |
 |
|