Switch Theme:

Am I reading these rules correctly? (FoC Discussion)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Why not just take Chaos Marines & Chaos Sorcerers and only perils on 6s?

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Well to bring it back to FOC from the psychics perils. Yes the FOC is that flexible. I was looking at the Strike Force Ultra Formation and noticed it include the SM Chapter Tactics and wonder why since it was not the primary detatchment.

That lead me to two realization when I checked Battleforged and Unbound. First is that in a Battleforged Army you are _not _required_ to use a CAD. Second you could use a Formation as your Primary. So you could use HammerFall Strike as your Primary, thus needing Chapter Tactics,
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator






Dallas, TX

 SlaveToDorkness wrote:
Why not just take Chaos Marines & Chaos Sorcerers and only perils on 6s?


Because only Daemons don't perils on any double.

Psykers with the Daemon special rule can manifest Malefic powers as they would any other psychic power, but they cannot generate Sanctic powers at all.
All other Psykers that attempt to manifest Malefic powers suffer Perils of the Warp on a Psychic test that includes any double, whether the Psychic test was successful or not.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

Huh, I thought it was non-Chaos. Guess I was thinking DPs anyway.

That's dumb. Sorcerers should be able to summon better than Libbys.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator






Dallas, TX

Agreed, but that's not how it's written.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
Chaos Daemons codex Page 94: "Each Primary(FAQ deletes this word) detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models:"

4 only per detachment, Per the codex.


You didn't read the rest of the text though.

It says this: Chaos Daemons codex Page 94: "Each Primary(FAQ deletes this word) detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models:"

Then it lists the Heralds, then it says this:

"This selection uses a single HQ slot from the Force Organization chart, but the Heralds are otherwise treated as separate units"

So the whole thing tells you that you may have 4 per HQ slot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:18:54


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator






Dallas, TX

No, it says you may have up to 4 heralds total, and that they only take up one slot. You can still only have 4 total per detachment.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 spycer wrote:
No, it says you may have up to 4 heralds total, and that they only take up one slot. You can still only have 4 total per detachment.

It does not say that you may only have 4 heralds in a single detachment.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator






Dallas, TX

"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 spycer wrote:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.

that is not the whole of the rule though. and nowhere in that statement does it say "Only"


"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"

is not the same as

Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 16:51:22


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
 spycer wrote:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.

that is not the whole of the rule though. and nowhere in that statement does it say "Only"


"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"

is not the same as

Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.

If you include a 5th Herald, where are you getting permission?
I see permission for 4, I don't see permission for more than 4.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:03:08


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.


There is your permission for a 2nd HQ, that is NOT permission to exceed four heralds.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.

If you select 5 heralds for your detachment, have you selected up to 4?
Because the rule doesn't say up to 4 per HQ slot - it says per detachment, which includes all HQ slots in that detachment.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





 DeathReaper wrote:
 spycer wrote:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.


that is not the whole of the rule though. and nowhere in that statement does it say "Only"


"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"

is not the same as

Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.


I don't know if you intended this, but the way this sentence is written makes it seem like each detachment may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos and nothing else. I don't think you meant this, but it came off like this when I read it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:10:14


In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 don_mondo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.


There is your permission for a 2nd HQ, that is NOT permission to exceed four heralds.


It does not say that you are limited to ONLY 4 heralds.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Lobomalo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 spycer wrote:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.


Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.


I don't know if you intended this, but the way this sentence is written makes it seem like each detachment may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos and nothing else. I don't think you meant this, but it came off like this when I read it.

Please do not quote only part of my post, changing the context is disingenuous.

rigeld2 wrote:

If you select 5 heralds for your detachment, have you selected up to 4?
Because the rule doesn't say up to 4 per HQ slot - it says per detachment, which includes all HQ slots in that detachment.


Actually that is exactly what the rules say if you read all of the rules.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:10:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.


There is your permission for a 2nd HQ, that is NOT permission to exceed four heralds.


It does not say that you are limited to ONLY 4 heralds.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Lobomalo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 spycer wrote:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos" Sure sounds like it does to me.


Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.


I don't know if you intended this, but the way this sentence is written makes it seem like each detachment may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos and nothing else. I don't think you meant this, but it came off like this when I read it.

Please do not quote only part of my post changing the context is disingenuous.


Apologies, I will correct this.

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The permission is from the force org chart.

I can make 2 HQ selections.

the four heralds use 1 HQ selection, I can make one more HQ selection.

there is the permission.


There is your permission for a 2nd HQ, that is NOT permission to exceed four heralds.


It does not say that you are limited to ONLY 4 heralds.


Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Lobomalo wrote:
Apologies, I will correct this.


No problem thank you for the correction.

now look at what I wrote.

What I said was :

that is not the whole of the rule though. and nowhere in that statement does it say "Only"


"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"

is not the same as

Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.

The part in quotes is the actual rule. the line [Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.] is something others were asserting that the codex said, which it does not. it does not mention only in the codex at all.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:14:11


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:

 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.


No, according to posts in this thread, it says four per detachment. That is not the same as four per HQ slot. Now if the quote stating up to four per detachment is incorrect, please post the correct rule so we can move on.

Ahhh, found it on the first page, Thanks Kel.

Chaos Daemons codex Page 94: "Each Primary(FAQ deletes this word) detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models:"

Up to four per detachment. Not per HQ slot. Doesn't matter how many HQ slots you take, you are still limited to "up to four heralds" in a single detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:20:32


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





 DeathReaper wrote:
 Lobomalo wrote:
Apologies, I will correct this.


No problem thank you for the correction.

now look at what I wrote.

What I said was :

that is not the whole of the rule though. and nowhere in that statement does it say "Only"


"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos"

is not the same as

Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.

The part in quotes is the actual rule. the line [Each detachment in your army may only include up to four Heralds of Chaos.] is something others were asserting that the codex said, which it does not. it does not mention only in the codex at all.



Ahh I see what I did wrong, I was assuming your point was the second one, my mistake.

Just ignore me now

In the works

Warhammer 40k. Enjoy it or go play something else. Life is too short to complain.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I have posted the rule stating up to four per detachment is incorrect.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/599624.page#6919682

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.

No, using the FAQ it says:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from ... This selection uses a single HQ slot..."

So you may include up to 4. This selection (the selection of up to 4) uses a single HQ slot.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:
I have posted the rule stating up to four per detachment is incorrect.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/599624.page#6919682


Wow, you linked us back to this thread. Where you have not provided a rules quote that contradicts the one Kel posted that says "up to four per detachment". I ask again, provide a rules quote that contradicts the "up to four per detachment".

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.

No, using the FAQ it says:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from ... This selection uses a single HQ slot..."

So you may include up to 4. This selection (the selection of up to 4) uses a single HQ slot.
You can not just read a part of the rule and call it done, you have to read everything.
 don_mondo wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
I have posted the rule stating up to four per detachment is incorrect.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/599624.page#6919682


Wow, you linked us back to this thread. Where you have not provided a rules quote that contradicts the one Kel posted that says "up to four per detachment". I ask again, provide a rules quote that contradicts the "up to four per detachment".

I did provide the rules quotes, I guess you missed it...

It says this: Chaos Daemons codex Page 94: "Each Primary(FAQ deletes this word) detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from the following models:"

Then it lists the Heralds, then it says this:

"This selection uses a single HQ slot from the Force Organization chart, but the Heralds are otherwise treated as separate units"

So the whole thing tells you that you may have 4 per HQ slot.

"This selection uses a single HQ slot from the Force Organization chart" is referring to the four heralds you picked. which you are allowed to have four of in a single HQ slot.

The whole thing is saying that each detachment may take 4 hearalds for a single HQ slot.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:28:17


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

No, it tells you that you can have up to four and then tells you that they only take a single slot. Nowhere does it say you can take more than four by putting the additional heralds into a second HQ slot. All the HQ slot statement does is tell you how much of your force org they take up, it is NOT granting permission for a second set of four heralds. Like I said before, where is your permission to take more than four?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 17:32:50


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.

No, using the FAQ it says:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from ... This selection uses a single HQ slot..."

So you may include up to 4. This selection (the selection of up to 4) uses a single HQ slot.

You can not just read a part of the rule and call it done, you have to read everything.

What did I leave out? The names of the Heralds? The irrelevant rest of the sentence that says " ... from the force organization chart, but the Heralds are otherwise treated as separate units"?
You may include up to 4. This selection uses a single HQ slot.

Read all the rules. Cite what I left out or apologize please.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
Nope, it doesn't. It says up to 4. So you can have 1, 2, 3 or 4. But 5 or more is more than, not up to, so is not allowed. Number of HQ slots does not matter, key is UP TO FOUR.

it says up to four as a single HQ slot.

No, using the FAQ it says:
"Each detachment in your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen in any combination from ... This selection uses a single HQ slot..."

So you may include up to 4. This selection (the selection of up to 4) uses a single HQ slot.

You can not just read a part of the rule and call it done, you have to read everything.

What did I leave out? The names of the Heralds? The irrelevant rest of the sentence that says " ... from the force organization chart, but the Heralds are otherwise treated as separate units"?
You may include up to 4. This selection uses a single HQ slot.

Read all the rules. Cite what I left out or apologize please.

Yes sorry, what I meant to say is that you interpreted it incorrectly.

The whole of the rules given within the Heralds box show us that each detachment may take 4 hearalds for a single HQ slot in each detachment.

You have two HQ slots so that equals 8 heralds per detachment.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





It says you can have 4 heralds in a single detachment. Period. You can't even take a 5th one in the 2nd HQ slot. You can only take 4 because thats what the rule says.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 DeathReaper wrote:


The whole of the rules given within the Heralds box show us that each detachment may take 4 hearalds for a single HQ slot in each detachment.

You have two HQ slots so that equals 8 heralds per detachment.


First line yes.

Second line no. Nowhere does it give permission to exceed the "up to four per DETACHMENT". Detachment, not HQ sot. Two slots, 10 slots, it wouldn't matter. You are still limited to "up to four" in a single detachment. If you take a second HQ slot of Heralds, have you exceeded four? Yes. Therefor, can't do it.

But I almost admire the way you are sticking to your guns.... Almost.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: