Switch Theme:

Am I reading these rules correctly? (FoC Discussion)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
The whole of the rules given within the Heralds box show us that each detachment may take 4 hearalds for a single HQ slot in each detachment.

You have two HQ slots so that equals 8 heralds per detachment.

Each detachment may take 4 heralds. Period. This selection (of 4 heralds) takes up a single HQ slot. Period.

If you take 5 heralds in a detachment, have you taken up to 4? If you take 2 HQ slots of Heralds, does that take up a single HQ slot?

I find it curiously hypocritical that you're arguing this, but you argued the opposite when it comes to SM Relics.

edit: I think you're misreading it as "Each detachment may take up to 4 heralds that take up a single HQ slot." I'd still argue this was limited to 4 heralds (as it says single HQ slot) but it'd be closer to your interpretation anyway. And demonstrably not what it actually says.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/06/10 18:23:24


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





problem is half of you are quoting the faq that says you can't, other half are quoting the book which is trumped by the faq.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





emmagine wrote:
problem is half of you are quoting the faq that says you can't, other half are quoting the book which is trumped by the faq.
What about the FAQ changes the fact the its up to 4 heralds per detachment
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 CrownAxe wrote:
emmagine wrote:
problem is half of you are quoting the faq that says you can't, other half are quoting the book which is trumped by the faq.
What about the FAQ changes the fact the its up to 4 heralds per detachment


Was wondering the same thing myself. All I see is that the FAQ drops the word "Primary". Was there something else?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Ah OK - no longer the argument over 4-1 in allies, as well, bonus


Yes, as the seemingly sole proponent of the "None-Allies" argument before the FAQ, I was also glad to see this rules change.

I'll still argue that you can take no Heralds in an Unbound list, though. But let's not do that again

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Awfeel wrote:
The shop owner of the FLGS and I have been back and forth over and over about how the new detachments system works.

Imo its in plain english and reads exactly so that you can and should be able to abuse the gak out of it.

Whats stopping anyone from running 10 Libs and 10 Barebones Tac Squads and rolling on deamonology to get posession or sacrifice and using deamons from said spells to make more daemons ?

Essentially abusing the psychic phase to tip the points values and have leverage in the game?

--------

I reckon you are able to take 2 HQ / 2 Troops over and over if you wanted and still be within the limits of a bound army, as well as having access to 3 of each slot PER chart as you do this.



The shop owner seems to think that I am wrong in some fashion.


Not only can you do that, but you can also just take an HQ/2 Troop FOC of Daemons as well. Each detachment has to be from the same faction, but you can have different detachments be different factions. So if you really want to exploit Daemons, just take an FOC of Daemons in addition to your Librarians. You don't even need to use an Ally Detachment for this.

The 7th Edition FAQ is out!
Pink Horrors can summon.
Daemon Factory is legal! 
   
Made in au
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





Perth

If you were to really exploit the hell out of it take daemons as "allies" 4 heralds 1 troop rinse repeat as often as you want, saves 1 on the troop tax. and can give your CSM a nice boost on psychic dice.

but thats a digression for another thread i think.

this FOC system is beautifully abuseable but that doesnt mean you should be a douche and do it

CSM 20,000 Pts
Daemons 4,000 (ish)
WoC over 10,000
6000+ Pts


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: