Switch Theme:

A flyer must move a set distance, but cant?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Magnolia, TX

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Johnnytorrance wrote:
That sounds silly.

You move 28" but a blob of green skins is in your way...

What is causing you to crash?

The rules.


Another example of massive GW suckitude.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/14 05:16:32


Captain Killhammer McFighterson stared down at the surface of Earth from his high vantage point on the bridge of Starship Facemelter. Something ominous was looming on the surface. He could see a great shadow looming just underneath the waters of the Gulf of Mexico, slowly spreading northward. "That can't be good..." he muttered to himself while rubbing the super manly stubble on his chin with one hand. "But... on the other hand..." he looked at his shiny new bionic murder-arm. "This could be the perfect chance for that promotion." A perfect roundhouse kick slammed the ship's throttle into full gear. Soon orange jets of superheated plasma were visible from the space-windshield as Facemelter reentered the atmosphere at breakneck speed. 
   
Made in us
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions





The Midwest

Edit, a revision:

So here's this:
"A Zooming Flyer can move over intervening units and impassable terrain exactly as a Skimmer"

That ONLY applies to when the zooming flyer is moving. ONLY treated as a skimmer when when moving over intervening units. A very specific instance of when to treat a zooming flyer as a skimmer.

The portions cited about skimmers ending movement do not apply to a zooming flyer, because it doesn't give that condition. It does not say that zooming flyers are treated as skimmers when ending movements, so the "bump" does not apply, and the flyer crashes per the rules since he cannot end his movement over models.

It's like this: I'm going to move my stunned Flyer. SKIMMER ABILITY ON, moving over intervening models, terrain, etc...SKIMMER ABILITY OFF. Oops, now my base is over enemy models, skimmer rules do not apply, and I crash.

That said, it needs a specific FAQ.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/14 15:00:52


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





col_impact wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
col_impact wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
They do t resolve at the same time, as they conflict. You can only resolve one.


They both trigger at end of movement. As the active player you resolve them in the order you choose. The Sequencing rule directly handles cases like this one.

You can't invoke Basic versus Advanced anyway since both rules in question are being called at the level of Zooming Flyers.

No, they aren't. One is a Skimmer rule, one is a Zooming Flyer rule. Which one is more specific to Zooming Flyers?

And they're definitely conflicting - if you resolve one, you can't resolve the other. This is because if you "slide", you weren't forced to end your move short. If you crash, you weren't forced to end your your move (because you've finished it).


You are getting confused. See my edited post above.

I'm not confused at all. You have t actually answered my question, even in your edit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
col_impact wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
col_impact wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
They do t resolve at the same time, as they conflict. You can only resolve one.


They both trigger at end of movement. As the active player you resolve them in the order you choose. The Sequencing rule directly handles cases like this one.

You can't invoke Basic versus Advanced anyway since both rules in question are being called at the level of Zooming Flyers.

No, they aren't. One is a Skimmer rule, one is a Zooming Flyer rule. Which one is more specific to Zooming Flyers?

And they're definitely conflicting - if you resolve one, you can't resolve the other. This is because if you "slide", you weren't forced to end your move short. If you crash, you weren't forced to end your your move (because you've finished it).


You are getting confused. See my edited post above.

I'm not confused at all. You have t actually answered my question, even in your edit.


Work out step by step what you think happens. I did in my post and everything works. Not sure where you are seeing any issues.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 House Griffith wrote:
Edit, a revision:

So here's this:
"A Zooming Flyer can move over intervening units and impassable terrain exactly as a Skimmer"

That ONLY applies to when the zooming flyer is moving. ONLY treated as a skimmer when when moving over intervening units. A very specific instance of when to treat a zooming flyer as a skimmer.

The portions cited about skimmers ending movement do not apply to a zooming flyer, because it doesn't give that condition. It does not say that zooming flyers are treated as skimmers when ending movements, so the "bump" does not apply, and the flyer crashes per the rules since he cannot end his movement over models.

It's like this: I'm going to move my stunned Flyer. SKIMMER ABILITY ON, moving over intervening models, terrain, etc...SKIMMER ABILITY OFF. Oops, now my base is over enemy models, skimmer rules do not apply, and I crash.

That said, it needs a specific FAQ.


Work it out step by step like I did. A wreck happens when you are forced to move less than 18" and not just being placed over enemy models. The rules say only that you can't place it over enemy models, not that a wreck happens. The Zooming Flyer rule that "moves over intervening units and impassable terrain exactly as a skimmer" is what places it less than 18" and when it's placed via that rule then the wreck is triggered (because you were forced to place it less than 18").

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/14 19:41:30


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: