Switch Theme:

Do smoke launchers affect LOS?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






MD. Baltimore Area

Hey I had this question come up in a game. A Rhino uses its smoke launchers, and therefore cotton wool is placed around the vehicle. Then a unit fired through the cotton wool and the unit next to the Rhino gets a cover save. Note that without the "smoke" the unit would have been fully visible. Is the cotton just a marker and ignored or does it affect LOS?

40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Entirely ignored. It is simply to mark what effect the vehicle has in place on it.
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Technically I guess they shouldn't get a save - but if putting cotton wool around the vehicle hides them, technically they are hidden and thus can't be shot at.

That begs the next question though, how big was the bit of cotton wool you used?!?

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut






London UK

yeah,
the wool is just a marker, it's ignored... or else i could cover the table in wool and your guys can't see anything.

the official GW marker is a small green token...

Panic...

   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






MD. Baltimore Area

Ignored is what I thought as well.

The smoke was about 2" wide placed around the rhino to cover a disembarked squad.

40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






That is just flat out cheating; the above post.

The BRB says to place some cotton as a marker to indicate that the vehicle has popped smoke, it does not state that anything else on the table is in any way effected by the smoke.

And to put said "smoke" 2" out from the vehicle specifically to cover a squad is just blatant tom-foolery.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Kel's right.

The smoke gives the vehicle a cover save.

It doesn't affect anything else on the board in any way.

To give disembarking or nearby troops a cover save as well is... well, cheating is a strong word, but it's certainly misinterpreting a set of very clear and concise rules - intentionally or no.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: