Switch Theme:

Valkyrie and blast template  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

If a blast weapon scores a hit on the wing of a Valkryie, and there is a unit of Infantry on the ground directly under the Valkyrie's wing, are all the models in the area of the template hit, or just the Valkyrie's wing and any models not directly under the wing? This came up last night in a game and I didn't know exactly how this was played as I am new to using the Valkyrie and normally units aren't "under" vehicles.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A) It is blast marker, not template. Templates are the flamer shaped ones

B) Yes, RAW EVERY model under the blast marker is hit, regardless of any obstruction above it.
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

nosferatu1001 wrote:A) It is blast marker, not template. Templates are the flamer shaped ones


Tomato. Tom-ah-to.

B) Yes, RAW EVERY model under the blast marker is hit, regardless of any obstruction above it.


Not exactly true. See the rules for ruins.

Which is why I ask the question, as the Valkyrie is physically on another "level" than the troops on the ground as it is technically up in the air.

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it is a valid distinction. T here are no rules for Blast Templates.

Ruins are not usual, which is why they are an EXCEPTION to the normal rules - which is stated in the ruin rules.

They are not on another level, despite the models being below. THere is no exception for Valkyries therefore you follow the normal rules, meaning ALL models under the Blast Marker are hit.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lord_Mortis wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:A) It is blast marker, not template. Templates are the flamer shaped ones


Tomato. Tom-ah-to.

B) Yes, RAW EVERY model under the blast marker is hit, regardless of any obstruction above it.


Not exactly true. See the rules for ruins.

Which is why I ask the question, as the Valkyrie is physically on another "level" than the troops on the ground as it is technically up in the air.
1) No, they are VERY DIFFERENT THINGS. GW even acknowledges this with it's Tyranid errata.

2) Ruins are the exception.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

nosferatu1001 wrote:They are not on another level, despite the models being below. THere is no exception for Valkyries therefore you follow the normal rules, meaning ALL models under the Blast Marker are hit.


So then a blast template that hits the wing of a Valkyrie that has its base on a 6" high hill but also covers models in a unit under the Valkyrie's wing that are not on the same hill are also hit? And this is the case even if the hill is 2 feet high? The effect of the blast template are infinitely downward?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/10 12:49:59


   
Made in gb
Been Around the Block




Yes...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, because the rules for blast markers are in essence 2D.
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

Well that is just slowed!

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, they are an abstraction, like the whole of 40k. Like most abstractions edge cases are weird.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lord_Mortis wrote:Well that is just slowed!
So is custard. I don't see your point?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

just me but for situations like that we use a house rule were a blast template weapon is as high as it is round. stand the template on edge, or use a second one to get a "sphere" area of effect.(centered on the point of impact, such as the valk wing, etc) anything touching or inside this area is hit. rarley comes up, but since explosions tend to be "somewhat" spherical, then it would make sense the blast is as high as it is wide. this is just a house rule we use for odd situations like the valk or other flyers, but it may provide some aid?

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Crazed Spirit of the Defiler





Nashville/Hendersonville, TN

DarthSpader wrote:just me but for situations like that we use a house rule were a blast template weapon is as high as it is round. stand the template on edge, or use a second one to get a "sphere" area of effect.(centered on the point of impact, such as the valk wing, etc) anything touching or inside this area is hit. rarley comes up, but since explosions tend to be "somewhat" spherical, then it would make sense the blast is as high as it is wide. this is just a house rule we use for odd situations like the valk or other flyers, but it may provide some aid?


I was thinking the exact same thing the other morning after I posted this. It only makes sense that if the area of affect is defined horizontally by the area of the blast template then it should also be defined laterally by the area of the template as well. So if a skimmer is hovering near the ground by a unit of troops, then the troops stand a good chance of getting hit as well, but if the skimmer is 24" up on a cliff then the only way the troops at the bottom of the cliff should be affected is if the blast template scattered so that the center hole misses the skimmer completely but scatters on top of the unit of troops at the bottom of the cliff.

   
Made in au
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight





Gwar! wrote:
Lord_Mortis wrote:Well that is just slowed!
So is custard. I don't see your point?


I am deeply insulted by this.
   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator





The multiple "levels" thing (under, etc.) only applies to ruins.

Not hills. Not flying vehicles.

Anyway, it doesn't need to make sense. Wings of flying things are pretty frail, a huge mini-nuke slamming down on it would likely tear it apart and slam into the guys underneath.

Or maybe the wing would rip off and the ship would land on the guys underneath and explode.

For simplicity sake and balance reasons, valks are not a moving roof.

   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

TheBloodGod wrote:
Anyway, it doesn't need to make sense. Wings of flying things are pretty frail, a huge mini-nuke slamming down on it would likely tear it apart and slam into the guys underneath.

Or maybe the wing would rip off and the ship would land on the guys underneath and explode.



So if the shell fails to penetrate the valkyrie, shouldn't the guys below be protected?

 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






This is one of the reasons why I dont count wings... see the whole "wings are not hull" argument. This is also why I argued that the valk is almost unplayable, as if you didnt have the flying stand then there would be no question that you can not stand on or under a wing, just like you could not be under a tank tread.

For blast weapons, IMHO the best solution would be to simply use the oval base as the extent of the vehicle. This way you have simple borders and questions like this wont come up.
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Champaign, IL

Devian, if you don't count wings, I could theoretically hide behind a skinny building and fire two lascannons at you without you being able to return fire. I'm okay with that if you are.

Look at your comment. Back to mine. Back to yours NOW BACK TO MINE. Sadly, it isn't mine. But if you stopped trolling and started posting legitimate crap it could LOOK like mine. Look down, back up, where are you? You're scrolling through comments, finding the ones that your comment could look like. Back at mine, what is it? It's a highly effective counter-troll. Look again, MY COMMENT IS NOW DIAMONDS.

Anything is possible when you think before you comment or post.

I'm on a computer. 
   
Made in us
Boosting Black Templar Biker




California

DarthSpader wrote:just me but for situations like that we use a house rule were a blast template weapon is as high as it is round. stand the template on edge, or use a second one to get a "sphere" area of effect.(centered on the point of impact, such as the valk wing, etc) anything touching or inside this area is hit. rarley comes up, but since explosions tend to be "somewhat" spherical, then it would make sense the blast is as high as it is wide. this is just a house rule we use for odd situations like the valk or other flyers, but it may provide some aid?
Gravity. More shrapnel would go down than up which is why I would hesitate to use the spherical approach. The rules give you a pretty easy to follow and simple solution which may not always make sense for a given situation, but will always be consistant.
   
Made in gb
Flashy Flashgitz





Devon, England

zeshin wrote:
DarthSpader wrote:just me but for situations like that we use a house rule were a blast template weapon is as high as it is round. stand the template on edge, or use a second one to get a "sphere" area of effect.(centered on the point of impact, such as the valk wing, etc) anything touching or inside this area is hit. rarley comes up, but since explosions tend to be "somewhat" spherical, then it would make sense the blast is as high as it is wide. this is just a house rule we use for odd situations like the valk or other flyers, but it may provide some aid?
Gravity. More shrapnel would go down than up which is why I would hesitate to use the spherical approach. The rules give you a pretty easy to follow and simple solution which may not always make sense for a given situation, but will always be consistant.


Not really important, but: Once the shrapnel is moving slowly enough for gravity to be a factor, it isn't functional shrapnel anymore!

"Hello? You'll have to speak up, I'm wearing a towel." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Lord_Mortis wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:A) It is blast marker, not template. Templates are the flamer shaped ones


Tomato. Tom-ah-to.

B) Yes, RAW EVERY model under the blast marker is hit, regardless of any obstruction above it.


Not exactly true. See the rules for ruins.

Which is why I ask the question, as the Valkyrie is physically on another "level" than the troops on the ground as it is technically up in the air.


This is correct, either the valk or the troops are hit in this 3D scenario or at least thats the way we play it, the template hits in a plane.

An interesting side note, we don't cound the wings as part of the hull based on the airforce deffinition of a plane. So you have to hit the hull not the wing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/16 17:13:28


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

tgf wrote:An interesting side note, we don't cound the wings as part of the hull based on the airforce deffinition of a plane. So you have to hit the hull not the wing.
An interesting side note, the word you are looking for with an aircraft is "fuselage"; so nothing can ever hit your Valks?

Also, there are no "levels" outside of ruins.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Indeed. RaW you can't ever shoot a Valkyrie/Vendetta, nor can you Disembark without a hill.

Yay for GW!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Gwar! wrote:Indeed. RaW you can't ever shoot a Valkyrie/Vendetta, nor can you Disembark without a hill.

Yay for GW!


Can't you grav-shoot deploy?

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Xca|iber wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Indeed. RaW you can't ever shoot a Valkyrie/Vendetta, nor can you Disembark without a hill.

Yay for GW!


Can't you grav-shoot deploy?
Thats a SPESHUL Deployment!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Gwar! wrote:
Xca|iber wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Indeed. RaW you can't ever shoot a Valkyrie/Vendetta, nor can you Disembark without a hill.

Yay for GW!


Can't you grav-shoot deploy?
Thats a SPESHUL Deployment!
same as moving a monolith having to DS to move on from reserve ... wait wrong thread.

Any way If You don't count the wings on a Valkyrie good luck shooting my Eldar skimmers. There's sweet FA* on the viper and most of the front of the other skimmers is 'wing'.(*Fanny Adams)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/16 19:34:01


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: