Switch Theme:

How do you play it: Vehicles Destroyed During Deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
When a vehicle can not move fully onto the table from reserves, what happens?
Option A
Option B
Option C
Something Else (explain in a post)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




This is a poll in reference to the following thread: Difficult terrain....Destroys Vehicle?. I feel that this thread has been argued Ad Nauseam, and I would just like to get the actual opinions of the dakka crowd.

Please do not debate in this thread, only share your opinion. To join the 600+ post debate, go to the linked thread above.

Question: When a vehicle can not move fully onto the table from reserves, what happens?

Here is some prerequisite knowledge needed to answer the question:
Baneblades and Monoliths are measurably more than 6" long.
Baneblades and Monoliths can only move up to 6".
Monoliths can deepstrike, but Baneblades are not able to.

Option A:
The vehicle is destroyed.

You agree with all of the following: baneblades are never allowed to enter from reserve, monoliths must deepstrike, and a failed difficult terrain test will destroy your vehicle if it stops partially off of the board.

Option B:
The vehicle remains where it is, possibly using wobbly model syndrome to mark it's actual location if it is in danger of falling. It functions just like a normal vehicle, and, as long as it's not immobilized, it can keep moving onto the board in the next movement phase.

You agree with all of the following: baneblades are allowed to enter from reserves, monoliths are also allowed to enter from reserves (not just by deepstrike), and a failed difficult terrain test will leave your vehicle immobilized while being partially off of the board edge.

Option C:
The vehicle is moved fully onto the table, even if it exceeds the vehicle's movement speed.

You agree with all of the following: baneblades and monoliths are moved more than 6" when entering from reserves; the minimum required distance to get them on the board edge.

You agree with one of the following:
Difficult terrain is ignored when moving onto the board.
-or-
If immobilized by difficult terrain, you still place the vehicle at the minimum distance to be fully on the board.

Something Else:
Please explain what you think would or should happen. Let us know what you agree with, and what you disagree with.

(Edited for clarity)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/09/22 21:10:47


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





I'll take "D";

Vehicles not deployed fully counts as "Destroyed". Monoliths and Baneblades are given special permission to move fully onto the board because GW cannot write good, clear rules if their lives depended on it.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

...does this really need a second thread?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







SaintHazard wrote:...does this really need a second thread?
No, it doesn't.

That being said, I'll follow the rules. Option B.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Same.

Following the rules has the benefit of consistency and doesnt favour any one side.
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

I'll follow the rules and say "C".

You ignore rules that may prevent a unit from moving onto the board when entering from reserves.

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

SlaveToDorkness wrote:I'll follow the rules and say "C".

You ignore rules that may prevent a unit from moving onto the board when entering from reserves.

So you really mean "B," right?

What you're saying here is that it's NOT destroyed.

What you're NOT saying (i.e. missing) is that once it's .0000000000000000001mm on the board, it's on the board.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 15:33:03


DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

No, I mean C. Because you move fully onto the board because you don't roll for the Dangerous Terrain.


"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

SlaveToDorkness wrote:No, I mean C. Because you move fully onto the board because you don't roll for the Dangerous Terrain.


So in the instances where you can't move fully onto the board, even without a Dangerous Terrain test, such as a Necron Monolith or a Baneblade, you break the rules and allow them more than their maximum 6" movement?

I thought you said you were following the rules?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




SlaveToDorkness wrote:No, I mean C. Because you move fully onto the board because you don't roll for the Dangerous Terrain.



Incorrect. You only ignore a special rule of that unit. Dangerous Terrain tests are a very very, very general rule. They dont even qualify as a universal Special Rule, they are just a general one. SO you dont ignore it.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
SlaveToDorkness wrote:No, I mean C. Because you move fully onto the board because you don't roll for the Dangerous Terrain.



Incorrect. You only ignore a special rule of that unit. Dangerous Terrain tests are a very very, very general rule. They dont even qualify as a universal Special Rule, they are just a general one. SO you dont ignore it.


Exactly right. Only the unit's own special rules that would prevent it from moving on are ignored.

But I have to vote D because I don't think it's answered in the rules. While there is nothing preventing a model from hanging off the edge of the table, there is also nothing ALLOWING it. And dn't we generally say that if you want to do something, you have to prove you can. So show me a line that specifically states that t amodel can be half off the table. Can't, it doesn't exist.

So, to me, there is no answer to this question. D.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 16:50:54


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Kid_Kyoto






Probably work

Hooray for rules!

Voted B.

Assume all my mathhammer comes from here: https://github.com/daed/mathhammer 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Don - the same as there arent specific rules allowing you to deploy into woods. You can do it because you are given general permission to deploy anywhere in your zone that isnt impassable (etc)

Same here: you are given permission to move onto, and "onto" has not been restricted. Thus, using the power of maths, logic and the English language, and possibly a nija attack panda or 2, being partially or fully on both satisfy the requirement.

So B is following the rules. People may not like it, but...well that really isnt a rules argument


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I just want to know who voted for "destroyed", given that this never appears in the rules apart from when you move off the table due to falling back, and 1/3rd of mishap results....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 18:06:10


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yes nos, and half off the table is not in my zone nor is is ON the table. It's just as much off as it is on, so it's neither. There is no specific or general or any statement whatsoever saying that a model may be partially off the table. Period. Nothing. Yes, on the table is not defined. I agree. But if a model is wholly on the table, then there's no argument. If if partially on the table, there is an argument. Just as you can say it's on the table, I can say it's off the table if even a millimeter is hangng off the edge. And we all know that models off table are generally unable to affect the game.

So no, IMO, B does not follow the rules. IMO, there is no answer per the rules.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But the rules dont care about half off, they only care about you bringing it on. So you have a rule stating you must bring it on, partially ON is still ON (ref: that damn ruler) because English tells you this, and so you have satisfied the only rule that matters.

In addition partially off /= off. The language doesnt work that way. IF you are partially supported (definition of on) you cannot be unsupported (definition of off)
   
Made in gb
Swift Swooping Hawk






The question was...
"When a vehicle can not move fully onto the table from reserves, what happens?"

don_mondo wrote:half off the table is not in my zone

Is irrelevant, deploying your forces in your deployment zone is different from moving onto the table from reserves

don_mondo wrote:half off the table is not ... ON the table.

Well it is...
If your half off you are also half on, if your half on you are still on. Albeit not fully, but being fully on is not what the rules say. The rules say move on, partially on is still on.

WLD: 221 / 6 / 5

5 Dragons 2011: 2nd Overall

DT:80+S++G++M+B+I+Pw40k96++D++A++/mR+++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




Alright, guys/gals, everyone makes a few good points in their favor. I don't really want the argument spilling into this thread.

What I really want is to see how most people play/interpret this rule. I do believe this thread can be a useful observational tool separate from the rules debate.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/22 18:40:12


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Then you shouldn't have asked for people who voted other to expalin why..................... But I'll shut up now.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Oh look, option B is winning by a landslide.
























Can we go home now?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




don_mondo wrote:Then you shouldn't have asked for people who voted other to expalin why..................... But I'll shut up now.


Ha-ha, I know. I felt that I should let people explain their own version of how they think it works, but I don't want people arguing with them and telling them they are wrong. That is what the other thread is for. This thread is just to see how people play (or think they should play) the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 18:53:13


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






SaintHazard wrote:Oh look, option B is winning by a landslide. Can we go home now?

~35 votes and only 2 (~5%) unexplained votes for the "I can take your vehicle away despite the rule saying nothing of the sort just because I think so. Also monoliths and baneblades are automatically destroyed for trying to use a valid deployment method" camp.
I wonder who they're from?

I voted B, because it's the RAW and both entirely playable and fair. No house rules required, though C looks reasonable and I'd agree to it if asked.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/22 19:00:12


 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

C is the easiest way to play it, and it's what my gaming group does.

B makes sense, but adding more Wobbly Model annoyance is the last thing I'm looking for.

don_mondo wrote:Then you shouldn't have asked for people who voted other to expalin why..................... But I'll shut up now.


Why? Vote, give your reason, and let other people give their reason.

How is that a difficult concept?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 19:02:08


Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in south-central England.

People, please don't spam the thread.

Thank you.

I'm writing a load of fiction. My latest story starts here... This is the index of all the stories...

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I take option B, because that's less of a hassle.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






I said other, so here's my explanation:

Use Option B. House rule that the vehicle MUST move fully onto the table at its next opportunity, if able. Also, the model must move as far on to the table as possible (for vehicles moving into clear terrain that are simply longer than their maximum move, e.g Baneblade).

I only say this because I personally feel that having a model sit only like 2" on the table is a bit against the spirit of the game, if the model could finish moving fully on. (e.g. sticking your baneblade 1mm on the table to prevent it from getting assaulted).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 20:09:07


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Xca|iber wrote:I said other, so here's my explanation:

Use Option B. House rule that the vehicle MUST move fully onto the table at its next opportunity, if able. Also, the model must move as far on to the table as possible (for vehicles moving into clear terrain that are simply longer than their maximum move, e.g Baneblade).

I only say this because I personally feel that having a model sit only like 2" on the table is a bit against the spirit of the game, if the model could finish moving fully on. (e.g. sticking your baneblade 1mm on the table to prevent it from getting assaulted).
That doesn't prevent it being assaulted at all...

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






Sacramento, CA

Chose B.

I haven't read the other thread or even thought there were other ways of going about it. B follows the rules, without house rules, and is simple.

Blood Wardens - 1500 Points (41% Painted)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






Gwar! wrote:
Xca|iber wrote:I said other, so here's my explanation:

Use Option B. House rule that the vehicle MUST move fully onto the table at its next opportunity, if able. Also, the model must move as far on to the table as possible (for vehicles moving into clear terrain that are simply longer than their maximum move, e.g Baneblade).

I only say this because I personally feel that having a model sit only like 2" on the table is a bit against the spirit of the game, if the model could finish moving fully on. (e.g. sticking your baneblade 1mm on the table to prevent it from getting assaulted).
That doesn't prevent it being assaulted at all...


I meant to keep it out of assault range for an extra turn (or more). If it's fully on the board, attackers need to travel at least 6" less distance to assault, as the vehicle would be >6" further forward than it otherwise would be.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/22 20:27:34


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Xca|iber wrote:I meant to keep it out of assault range for an extra turn (or more). If it's fully on the board, attackers need to travel at least 6" less distance to assault, as the vehicle would be >6" further forward than it otherwise would be.
It's no different to putting a vehicle right up to your back edge or sideways along the back edge.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






This is what I meant. Obviously, the difference isn't that huge for something smaller, but for a baneblade this (imho) makes a difference:


Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: