Switch Theme:

How do you play it: Vehicles Destroyed During Deployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
When a vehicle can not move fully onto the table from reserves, what happens?
Option A
Option B
Option C
Something Else (explain in a post)

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!




i put something else as i think your options are badly worded

things that are longer/wider then 6"(because if something was 7"long but only 5" wide i'd bring it on sideways) then they would move on as much as was possible

but if something was immobilised by difficult terrain that was FLUSH with the board edge then i believe it would be immobilised outside of the field of play and not enter at all

Chibi Bodge-Battle wrote:
Bedtime Horlicks malty drink: ON
Comfy Slippers: ON
and relax...
Only Slightly Crazy wrote: GO CROGGY GO!
Underhand wrote:
The answer is never the Devildog.




 
   
Made in at
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Fenris

move the baneblade 6 inch and at the end of its move you can still turn it sideways?

doesnt work for the mono thou...

This message was edited 6827 times. Last update was at 2010/10/30 20:35:13

ON THE BATTLEFIELD THERE IS BUT ONE COMMANDEMENT...
"THOU SHALT KILL"


Metal Gear Rex Blog

Metal Gear Rex Showcase

Space Wolves Storm Wolf 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

I say since you can't target something OFF the board if I am not ON the board more than 50% I get a Cover save!!

   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




General_Chaos wrote:I say since you can't target something OFF the board if I am not ON the board more than 50% I get a Cover save!!


This is not the thread to argue the rules in, it's merely seeing how people play.

In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






'B'

Title is a bit funny - having one 'sides' position stated as fact but, eh.

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

Rephistorch wrote:This is not the thread to argue the rules in, it's merely seeing how people play.
Oh it's not... just watch

   
Made in us
Angry Chaos Agitator





I'd like it to be C, but B is the fairest/most RAW interpretation and the one we'd play it by in an average encounter.

All models are partially-on-the-table at some point during their move from reserves onto the board. They don't teleport 6" forwards when they run on, they move through adjacent spaces.

There's no text to support Rule A, but of course people can house rule anything that feels good to their group.
   
Made in us
Charging Dragon Prince




Chicago, IL, U.S.A.

I pick 'A'. Kill it. If you don't like it, don't keep your gigantic tank in reserves. No other unit is allowed to be half-off of a table edge. Just because a baneblade is expensive doesn't make it any more exempt from that rule. If a unit is passed the table edge it is removed from play.

Retroactively applied infallability is its own reward. I wish I knew this years ago.

I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

With the sole exception of people voting "Other", is there any reason whatsoever for anyone voting A/B/C to post their justification for their vote, in addition to simply voting? I'd think that after 22 pages any argument that could have been made would be made.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/23 06:13:26


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




Ouze wrote:With the sole exception of people voting "Other", is there any reason whatsoever for anyone voting A/B/C to post their justification for their vote, in addition to simply voting? I'd think that after 22 pages any argument that could have been made would be made.



Well, I hadn't heard this one before:

Guitardian wrote:
I pick 'A'. Kill it. If you don't like it, don't keep your gigantic tank in reserves. No other unit is allowed to be half-off of a table edge. Just because a baneblade is expensive doesn't make it any more exempt from that rule. If a unit is passed the table edge it is removed from play.


Considering some instances where it's required to move models in from the board edge, this seems unreasonable to me. But, hey, I'm sure allowances can be made... or not.

In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Charging Dragon Prince




Chicago, IL, U.S.A.

That's different and you know it. They come onto the table measuring from the table edge, they don't come in from half-way across their base.

Retroactively applied infallability is its own reward. I wish I knew this years ago.

I am Red/White
Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today!
<small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>

I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




NO, they come on measuring from the front of their base at the edge of the board. At some point they ARE part on the board.
Its just a good job that the rules dont actually support your position Guitardian.

Additionally: Baneblades (and other superheavies) can be used in Speahead, but suffer a hit if deployed. Your interpretation would be that you either have it destroyed or suffer a hit. Hardly fair now is it?
You also didnt address that the Monolith suffers the same problems.
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

B.

I'm given permission (actually, obligation) to put my model down on the table after I finish the movement when I arrive from reserves. I'm NOT given permission to take it out of play, return it to reserves, treat it as casualty, or anything like it. Because I'm not given permission to do that, I may not do that.

As for shooting on it, use true line of sight and normal shooting rules. I'm not aware of anywhere where it says I'm not allowed to target anything off the board - in fact, on or off the board isn't detailed at all, so I see no rules conflict (unless you try to charge it, in which case you can't wrap around the tank very much).

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

Mahtamori wrote:I'm not aware of anywhere where it says I'm not allowed to target anything off the board - in fact, on or off the board isn't detailed at all, so I see no rules conflict (unless you try to charge it, in which case you can't wrap around the tank very much).


Well, this sounds like a refreshing new way to play! I look forward to, in my next game, having a whirlwind battery off the board in reserve shooting onto the board. After all, there is nothing on page 94 (reserves) which says I can't do that. Of course, I have to be careful, because he can also destroy my units in reserve! As a matter of fact, if he put them close enough to my side, my opponent's units in reserve (off the board) will assault my off-board reserve units! And if he does that, I can't stop him, because nothing in the rulebook says he can't do that.

In the first paragraph, you presume a restrictive ruleset - unless it specifically says you can, you can't. In the second paragraph, you presume a permissive ruleset - you can do anything not explicitly forbidden by the rules. Which is it?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/23 11:17:59


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in se
Wicked Warp Spider






Ios

You are intentionally misinterpreting what I write. Just because the rules do not provide a penalty for if a model is off the table, they also do not provide a means to get there outside of the vehicle failing to move on to the table when arriving from reserves - it's not a matter of choice.

I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

You're apparently seriously arguing that you're allowed to target things that are not on the board. Yes, I'm intentionally misrepresenting what you wrote, because what you theorize - that unless the rules expressly forbid it, you can do it - completely breaks the game.

 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Ouze wrote:You're apparently seriously arguing that you're allowed to target things that are not on the board. Yes, I'm intentionally misrepresenting what you wrote, because what you theorize - that unless the rules expressly forbid it, you can do it - completely breaks the game.

There's a major difference between "It doesn't say I can't so I can" and "I can and it doesn't say I can't".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/23 13:27:11


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

This ain't Air Bud.

If it doesn't say you may, you may not.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman




Lol, poll is horribly skewed. Learn to write a non bias poll.

People don't event think about the complications. Oh look, my tank is .01" on the board. It is now immune to blast weapons.

There would also be no way to setup an outflank defense. There will always be that tiny space for you to come on and go straight to assault.

I especially like it when the original poster came in and declared that he was right and the controversy was over because a majority out of like 90 people agreed with him...

Great statistical proof there.


Anyways, I am pretty sure the rule says to move the model onto the table. NOT move part of the model onto the table.

Therefore I went with what the rules say and voted A.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/23 13:47:49


Affordable Commission Painting Without Compromise

Blog: http://beyestudio.blogspot.com/
Site: http://bioniceyestudios.webs.com/  
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






CptZach wrote:Lol, poll is horribly skewed. Learn to write a non bias poll.

I especially like it when the original poster came in and declared that he was right and the controversy was over because a majority out of like 90 people agreed with him...

Great statistical proof there.

He did?
...where?
I went with what the rules say and voted A.

The rules say that the vehicle "is destroyed"? ...where?

Some of these posts honestly just seem... nonsensical.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/09/23 14:19:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

I like how in CptZach's version of the rules, you can add qualifiers where none previously existed.

Tell you what, from now on, when YOU'RE shooting, you need to be able to draw LOS and range on my ENTIRE unit of infantry, because I felt like adding a qualifier there. And from now on, your templates and blast markers have to ENTIRELY cover the base of an infantry model for it to count as a hit. And while we're at it, you can't assault unless your base is ENTIRELY in contact with my base - so basically, if you can't stack your bases on top of mine, you can't assault me, ever. And your 24" range on your storm bolter needs to ENTIRELY cover whatever you're shooting at, so if the model you're shooting at isn't 24" long and right up against your base, you can't shoot them.

...wanna stop adding arbitrary qualifiers now? 'Cause I can sit here and do this all day.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

Gorkamorka wrote:There's a major difference between "It doesn't say I can't so I can" and "I can and it doesn't say I can't".


Yes, that is what I am trying to point out, with Mahtamori's post 3 or 4 back (so not sure why you're quoting me). He states that the vehicle cannot be destroyed because no rule dictates that he must. No rule = not allowed. He then immediately says that he can't find any rules saying he's not allowed to target anything off the board. No rule forbidding = allowed.

If we decide to go with the latter rule, then the game quickly becomes unplayable. Specifically, if as Mahtamori says, "I'm not aware of anywhere where it says I'm not allowed to target anything off the board - in fact, on or off the board isn't detailed at all, so I see no rules conflict that rather clearly means that if you can shoot things of the board, conversely, you can shoot stuff that's in reserve - right? I read page 94, twice - nothing says things in reserve cannot fire. So, if I have something long range in reserve, like whatever that ridiculous IG death missile is - no reason I can't fire it while it's still in reserve on the first turn, right? See how ludicrous this interpretation immediately becomes?


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




Gorkamorka wrote:
CptZach wrote:Lol, poll is horribly skewed. Learn to write a non bias poll.

I especially like it when the original poster came in and declared that he was right and the controversy was over because a majority out of like 90 people agreed with him...

Great statistical proof there.

He did?
...where?


Thanks, I was pretty sure I didn't come out and say that I was right in this thread. While I'm sure what I believe can be inferred by some of my posts I haven't actually said which option I have selected, and I haven't bragged that what I think may or may not be "in the lead".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/23 14:29:01


In regards to landraiders:
Joey wrote:
... that unit of badass assault troops which could all be wiped out by a single ordinance template is instead nuts deep in the enemy bowels and is pumping firey vengeance into their enemy's gunline.
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





I say B. You can even justify it. The vehicle hasn't literally moved on, it has been dropped, teleported, magically appeared out of thin air . . . whatever. And because it is so close to the base of operations it doesn't scatter =D

Done, done, and done . . .

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






Ouze wrote:
Yes, that is what I am trying to point out, with Mahtamori's post 3 or 4 back (so not sure why you're quoting me). He states that the vehicle cannot be destroyed because no rule dictates that he must. No rule = not allowed. He then immediately says that he can't find any rules saying he's not allowed to target anything off the board. No rule forbidding = allowed.

If we decide to go with the latter rule, then the game quickly becomes unplayable. Specifically, if as Mahtamori says, "I'm not aware of anywhere where it says I'm not allowed to target anything off the board - in fact, on or off the board isn't detailed at all, so I see no rules conflict that rather clearly means that if you can shoot things of the board, conversely, you can shoot stuff that's in reserve - right? I read page 94, twice - nothing says things in reserve cannot fire. So, if I have something long range in reserve, like whatever that ridiculous IG death missile is - no reason I can't fire it while it's still in reserve on the first turn, right? See how ludicrous this interpretation immediately becomes?


I really don't want to start the argument up in this thread again... suffice it to say that he's right (if a bit unspecific) and there's nothing preventing you from measuring to his partially on the board tank that is perfectly in play after arriving from reserves.
There's plenty preventing you from measuring from your units that have not been deployed, are still in reserves, have no defined off-board position, and have not "become available" via arriving.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/23 14:26:45


 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





If you don't want to restart the argument, then what is the point of your post?

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Off-topic, I'm having some serious issues not imagining The Janitor writing all of Gorkamorka's posts.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

Or, frankly, any comments in this thread at all other then "other" as proscribed by the poll. Not that I'm hellbent on preventing anyone from expressing themselves, which is kind of the whole point of Dakka - but I don't see how this could possibly end any differently then the last one did - as a slow moving trainwreck.

 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in gb
Stealthy Kroot Stalker





But Ouze . . . slow moving trainwrecks are fun =D

But I understand your point, that any interpretaion in the first 3 could be correct . . . but really B is the most true ruleswise.

Oshova

3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP



DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

B for all the reasons everyone posted about choosing A, C, and most of the posts regarding Other.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: