Switch Theme:

I got painboy in my warboss and I got warboss in my painboy  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
A friend just asked me, I play guard and have run independent char once; it was everyone's favorite commissar.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ElaborateLove wrote:Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
Yes.

Doc's Tools say the unit gets FnP. The Warboss, while attached, is considered part of the unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/09/28 05:59:36


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




thank you sir, and what a lovely avatar you have.
   
Made in us
Apprehensive Inquisitorial Apprentice





Any IC that joins the unit with a Painboy will get FNP for as long as he is attached to that unit. The IC will continue to get FNP as long as he doesn't leave the unit and the Painboy is still alive.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/28 06:13:01


From without, the Imperium is assailed by alien monsters from the depths of space, nightmare death-machines and soulless daemons (as well as soulless death-machines and nightmare daemons, and the occasional soulless daemon in a nightmare death machine). 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






In CC doesnt he count as his own unit? I know in shooting he would be a member of the painboyz unit but in CC does the wording change that makes him fight on his own also make him lose the painboy buff?
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

He counts as part of the unit he was joined in, except you are given special permission to single him out in combat.

This is why he takes leadership checks with the rest of the unit and No Retreat! wounds with the rest of the unit as well.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He "counts as" a separate unit in CC, he isnt ACTUALLY a separate unit so would still gain the benefits.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Gwar! wrote:
ElaborateLove wrote:Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
Yes.

Doc's Tools say the unit gets FnP. The Warboss, while attached, is considered part of the unit.


So if everyone in the ork unit get FnP then for blood angels, The Red Thirst would effect an IC that is joined with the unit. but I remember the thread where you stated that the IC does not get TRT from the unit, So which is it?

taken from http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/316153.page#1929745

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

DeathReaper wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ElaborateLove wrote:Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
Yes.

Doc's Tools say the unit gets FnP. The Warboss, while attached, is considered part of the unit.


So if everyone in the ork unit get FnP then for blood angels, The Red Thirst would effect an IC that is joined with the unit. but I remember the thread where you stated that the IC does not get TRT from the unit, So which is it?

taken from http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/316153.page#1929745

That distinction was made in that thread and elsewhere.

FNP is conferred by a wargear item that affects the entire unit.

TRT is a special rule exclusive to that unit that is not conferred to attached ICs.

Now quit bringing up old discussions in new ones that are entirely irrelevant to the old ones.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

SaintHazard wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ElaborateLove wrote:Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
Yes.

Doc's Tools say the unit gets FnP. The Warboss, while attached, is considered part of the unit.


So if everyone in the ork unit get FnP then for blood angels, The Red Thirst would effect an IC that is joined with the unit. but I remember the thread where you stated that the IC does not get TRT from the unit, So which is it?

taken from http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/316153.page#1929745

That distinction was made in that thread and elsewhere.

FNP is conferred by a wargear item that affects the entire unit.

TRT is a special rule exclusive to that unit that is not conferred to attached ICs.

Now quit bringing up old discussions in new ones that are entirely irrelevant to the old ones.


FnP has an effect on the unit, TRT has an effect on the unit, how is it different just cause its wargear?

Edit: P.S. was just asking a question guy...

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/09/28 18:31:37


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







DeathReaper wrote:FnP has an effect on the unit, TRT has an effect on the unit, how is it different just cause its wargear?
If you honestly cannot see the difference, then you have bigger problems quite frankly.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

Reaper - I believe that is because its a unit special rule.
Painboys give the rule to the whole unit, so he is the provider.

The BA example though is a unit in its own right with a special rule that affects only them (much like if a chappy joins death company, he wont get FNP)

However, if a priest joins a tac squad, he provides them FNP with his special rule (as it states so)

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Gwar! wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:FnP has an effect on the unit, TRT has an effect on the unit, how is it different just cause its wargear?
If you honestly cannot see the difference, then you have bigger problems quite frankly.



thank you for the non response, I was just asking a question.

TRT affects a unit, the wargear affects a unit, was all i was saying.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





Alabama

SaintHazard wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ElaborateLove wrote:Real quick question, if a group of orcs has a painboy and a warboss joins the unit does he gain FNP rule also?
Yes.

Doc's Tools say the unit gets FnP. The Warboss, while attached, is considered part of the unit.


So if everyone in the ork unit get FnP then for blood angels, The Red Thirst would effect an IC that is joined with the unit. but I remember the thread where you stated that the IC does not get TRT from the unit, So which is it?

taken from http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/316153.page#1929745

That distinction was made in that thread and elsewhere.

FNP is conferred by a wargear item that affects the entire unit.

TRT is a special rule exclusive to that unit that is not conferred to attached ICs.

Now quit bringing up old discussions in new ones that are entirely irrelevant to the old ones.


I would have to disagree with you that that's irrelevant. If the conclusions for questions about similar situation are different then it's perfectly reasonable to ask for clarification to ensure that they were both valid.

"You're right, we all know you are."

Tomb World Fabulosa 18/2/6 (Supreme conquerors of Dash's dark eldar
   
Made in gb
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego





Canterbury

..I can appreciate that it's easy to assume that someone is deliberately being obtuse or awkward when they ask for a clarification/similar, but if we could please try and maintain a tad more civility it would make things much nicer wouldn't it eh ? Similarly if you wish to raise an issue you feel is connected then it would be prudent to phrase ones request in a polite manner, if only to ensure that simple misunderstandings don't escalate into rash tomfoolery. Ta.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/28 18:41:32


The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king,
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

SamplesoWoopass wrote:I would have to disagree with you that that's irrelevant. If the conclusions for questions about similar situation are different then it's perfectly reasonable to ask for clarification to ensure that they were both valid.

Except that you didn't have to sit through the seven or however many pages in that obnoxious thread. I really don't want that can of worms (which shouldn't be a can of worms in the first place, as the rules are 100% clear) opened again.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Terrifying Wraith





Training sheep, Stocking Urchins.

Yes- It gives FNP to the whole unit.













 
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan





Fareham

A quick clarification to my knowledge:

A unit with a special rule does not pass that on to any characters that join it, unless it states it in said rule. (if my Nid prime joined stealers, thier fleet would be lost, along with any special rules they dont both have, and again, like my last example of death company not giving FNP to characters that join them)

However, certain models will confer abilities (sang. priest, pain boy etc) to the unit, and also any who join it (as it states the rule affects the whole unit)

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

۞ Jack ۞ wrote:A quick clarification to my knowledge:

A unit with a special rule does not pass that on to any characters that join it, unless it states it in said rule. (if my Nid prime joined stealers, thier fleet would be lost, along with any special rules they dont both have, and again, like my last example of death company not giving FNP to characters that join them)

However, certain models will confer abilities (sang. priest, pain boy etc) to the unit, and also any who join it (as it states the rule affects the whole unit)

This is 100% correct.

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





SaintHazard wrote:
Except that you didn't have to sit through the seven or however many pages in that obnoxious thread.


Neither did you.



On topic.

To me the difference between a special rule conferred by a piece of wargear to a unit and the special rule of a unit is clear.

One transfers to any IC as he is part of the unit, and the other doesn't because the special rule doesn't specify that it transfers (rulebook, page 48)

One rule is "given" to the (entire) unit. The other "belongs" to the unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/09/29 08:32:43


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in au
Blood Sacrifice to Khorne




Australia

put it in RL terms (which explains this case a bit more clearly)

If you join a group of soldiers does that make you a soldier? No

If you join a group of soldiers with a really good doctor does that give you access to that doctor? yes....

Blood for the blood God!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Does the doctor have orders to prioritize the lives of the fighting soldiers over the civilian that is tagging along?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







DevianID wrote:Does the doctor have orders to prioritize the lives of the fighting soldiers over the civilian that is tagging along?
Does it matter?

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Louisville, KY

Oh, cool, we're in "fluffrules" territory now?

Do I get to start ranting about how my Orks never lose now?

DQ:80+S+++G++M+B+I+Pw40k10#+D++A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






I'm afraid not. Haven't you read the latest BL novel? Boss snikrot appears on Jerry springer to discuss his race's violent tendencies. According to a poll taken after the show, 90% of orks think that talking is the answer.


Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: