Switch Theme:

Deep striking open topped, skimmer, fast transports.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Been theorycrafting with the new dark eldar codex, and I could use some clarification on the rules for deep striking raiders and ravagers;

-Does a fast skimmer count as moving 6 in, 12 in, or >12 in when it deep strikes?
-If it counts as 6 in, can it still fire all of its weapons, including its occupants if it is open topped? If it counts as moving 12 in, can it still fire one weapon, and if so can a ravager fire all of its weapons because of its special rule? (It can fire all weapons at cruising speed)
-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault? (Instinctively I'd say no but I am curious because if you give a raider retro fire jets it specifically says that units cannot disembark, but if you have Duke Sliscus it says that raiders can deep strike and it doesn't make a clarification about disembarking troops)

Thanks!
-Jeff

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/09 20:54:01


 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

michelj wrote:Been theorycrafting with the new dark eldar codex, and I could use some clarification on the rules for deep striking raiders and ravagers;

-Does a fast skimmer count as moving 6 in, 12 in, or >12 in when it deep strikes?


Cruising speed. Regardless of what kind of vehicle it is, it moves at cruising speed.

michelj wrote:-If it counts as 6 in, can it still fire all of its weapons, including its occupants if it is open topped? If it counts as moving 12 in, can it still fire one weapon, and if so can a ravager fire all of its weapons because of its special rule? (It can fire all weapons at cruising speed)


Whatever it (or its passengers) would be able to fire at Cruising Speed. In short, 1 weapon and all defensive weapons, with no passengers firing. And, I would imagine that the Ravager would be able to fire all of its lances/disintegrators.

michelj wrote:-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault?


No and no.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/11/09 20:58:03


WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ravagers can fire all their weapons after deepstriking.

And yes, cruising speed = 1 regular + all defensive - yet the Ravager and other heavy choices have special rules in the codex.

Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) -  
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






puma713 wrote:
michelj wrote:-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault?

No and no.

Yes and No.

"these units may not move any further other than to disembark from a deep striking transport vehicle" P95

"however these units may not launch an assault." P95
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Scott-S6 wrote:
puma713 wrote:
michelj wrote:-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault?

No and no.

Yes and No.

"these units may not move any further other than to disembark from a deep striking transport vehicle" P95

"however these units may not launch an assault." P95


Pg. 95 of which book?

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

puma713 wrote:
Scott-S6 wrote:
puma713 wrote:
michelj wrote:-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault?

No and no.

Yes and No.

"these units may not move any further other than to disembark from a deep striking transport vehicle" P95

"however these units may not launch an assault." P95


Pg. 95 of which book?


Probably the BRB. Not all the rules are in everyones codex's after all.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Little AoBR book or the fullsize book.

The page numbers for rules are the same in both.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




The old Raiders didn't let you disembark after Deepstrike, do the new one allow it?
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

As I said before. . .

No and no.

Raiders cannot deep strike and disembark troops. pg. 63, Dark Eldar Codex.

However, if you take Duke Sliscus, all your raiders get the Deep Strike ability and then yes, you'd be able to.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





So if I took Duke Sliscus and deployed a raider via deep strike, the squad inside can disembark that turn. Can they shoot? But they still can't charge even though the raider is open topped? Thanks,
-Jeff
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

If you give them Retrofire Jets, yes they can deep strike, but you can't disembark, per Retrofire Jets rules, pg. 63 Dark Eldar Codex. I'm assuming the Retrofire Jets special rule supercedes the Deepstrike rule in BRB that says you can disembark but not move anymore then that.

Edit: I think thats right, ya.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 02:53:28


“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
Made in us
Roarin' Runtherd




I'm not aware of any rules that prohibit general firing on the turn you disembark from a vehicle. You are considered to have moved, however, and that will affect heavy and rapid fire weapons.

**Edit** And the rule that lets you assault out of an open-topped vehicle doesn't exempt you from the rule that prohibits assaults when you deep strike. So no assaulting out of a deep striking raider.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 07:23:22


 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Ignore, I can't read.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/11/10 07:52:10


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





puma713 wrote:As I said before. . .

No and no.

Raiders cannot deep strike and disembark troops. pg. 63, Dark Eldar Codex.

However, if you take Duke Sliscus, all your raiders get the Deep Strike ability and then yes, you'd be able to.


How does Duke Sliscus stop you from entering your deepstrike at cruising speed, which disallows all crew from firing/disembarking?

Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) -  
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

Magnalon wrote:
How does Duke Sliscus stop you from entering your deepstrike at cruising speed, which disallows all crew from firing/disembarking?


Because you can disembark from a vehicle moving at cruising speed?

The reason that you can't disembark from raiders normally is because the Retrofire jets specifically mention that you cannot disembark after deep striking. Duke Sliscus merely gives them the ability to deep strike, but makes no mention of disembarking or retrofire jets. Hence, you can disembark after you deep strike.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

he doesn't, however cruising speed doesn't stop you from getting out of transports. They dont need retrofire jets if you have the Duke

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It doesnt, however the Dukes ability does not restrict you from disembarking in the sme way the Raider upgrade does.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Oh ok. Since it's not an assault vehicle, they can't assault, but a squad of Trueborn could get out and fire assault weapons? Sounds fun.

Armies | Orks (2000 - Magna-Waaagh!) - | Blood Angels (1500 - Sylvania Company) - | Dark Eldar - (1500 - Kabal of the Golden Sorrow) - | Salamanders (1000 - Vulkan Ravens) - | Chaos (1500 - Wisdom and Wrath) -  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nothing to do with not being an assault vehicle, you are instead prohibited from assaulting from a deepstriking vehicle regardless of the type of vehicle. They add an EXTRA restriction for the normal upgrade where you cant even disembark, which is something you CAN do normally.

[in fact without the DS prohibition they could assault, as the vehicles are open topped]

Yes, truborn could get out and fire with assault or rapid fire weapons, just as any other unit could, but ONLY when using the Dukes special upgrade which ignores the Retrojets restrictions.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I agree, the Duke would allow you to Deep Strike and immediately disembark the passengers so they can shoot.

With that said, I think that army would be absolutely horrible. You get very little benefit for Deep Striking this way over rolling on normally from Reserves and you stand a very real chance of losing one or more Raiders to Deep Strike mishap considering their sizable model footprint. And if you're trying to Deep Strike close enough to get out and rapid fire then you're definitely close enough to start losing units to mishaps...especially if you're trying to saturate an area with a few Deep Striking Raiders.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Does it let Venoms DS? They could feasibly drop in, disembark, blaster / etc a vehicle from behind, termicide style.

One day i didnt bring my precious^H^H^H^H^H^H DE codex in with me...gah
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


nosferatu1001 wrote:Does it let Venoms DS? They could feasibly drop in, disembark, blaster / etc a vehicle from behind, termicide style.

One day i didnt bring my precious^H^H^H^H^H^H DE codex in with me...gah



Yep, Raiders, Ravagers and Venoms.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Correct me if I'm wrong but don't you not risk the mishap table because raiders are vehicles and everything just gets out of their way? Or is that a special rule for drop pods?

It seems silly to me that if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers stay on board, they cannot shoot, but if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers disembark, they can shoot... and assault. So apparently, shooting from a vehicle moving at cruising speed is too difficult for the denizens of the 41st millennium, but if they decide to jump off and assault as well, it somehow makes shooting possible. I guess it makes sense, since once they are off the vehicle its easier for them to aim, but it still always seemed weird to me...
-Jeff
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Special rule for drop pods and spore pods only - and you get out of THEIR way, not the other way around.

It's a balance thing, mainly.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

michelj wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong but don't you not risk the mishap table because raiders are vehicles and everything just gets out of their way? Or is that a special rule for drop pods?



Well, actually, the pod stops short if it scatters onto enemy models instead of units moving out of it's way........................... And yes, it's a special rule for drop pods.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






michelj wrote:It seems silly to me that if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers stay on board, they cannot shoot, but if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers disembark, they can shoot... and assault. So apparently, shooting from a vehicle moving at cruising speed is too difficult for the denizens of the 41st millennium, but if they decide to jump off and assault as well, it somehow makes shooting possible. I guess it makes sense, since once they are off the vehicle its easier for them to aim, but it still always seemed weird to me...
-Jeff


It is, as with all things in 40K Rules, an abstraction.

Your Vehicle moving a Cruising Speed is not just rocketing forward at full throttle then slamming on the brakes(while your unit is embarked anyways); but it would be too difficult to keep track of how fast each vehicle had moved in the previous turn, and then checking to see what movement speeds are available in this turn(Stationary last means stationary or Combat this, Combat last means Stationary, Combat or Cruising this, Cruising Last means Combat, Cruising, or Flat out this, etc) So instead the rules somewhat assume that when you are moving at cruising and your unit remains embarked the vehicle is still moving at cuising and the unit cannot fire. If you vehicle moved at cruising and your unit diembarks, the vehicle slowed down enough at the end of the move for the unit to get out, that slowing down lets the unit fire as they disembark(and if the vehicle is open-topped they are firing as they Leap over the sides and are charging at the enemy).

As for the whole Firing while moving fast; look at the difference between riding in a van(closed top) and riding in the bed of a pick-up truck(open topped) When traveling slow you can stand up in either and move around without much problem, you get above about 15 MPH and all of a sudden you cannot stand nor move so well in the van, and you just might(or rather probably) fall out of the pick-up.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Warning From Magnus? Not Listening!





New Jersey, USA

Hi Jeff,

I don't play Dark Eldar, but a lot of the questions you have are actually answered in the BRB.

michelj wrote:
-Does a fast skimmer count as moving 6 in, 12 in, or >12 in when it deep strikes?

All vehicles arriving from Deep Strike count as moving at Cruising Speed.

michelj wrote:-If it counts as 6 in, can it still fire all of its weapons, including its occupants if it is open topped? If it counts as moving 12 in, can it still fire one weapon, and if so can a ravager fire all of its weapons because of its special rule? (It can fire all weapons at cruising speed)

Since it counts as having moved at Cruising Speed, like all Fast Vehicles, they can fire one weapon normally. If the Dark Eldar codex allows them to fire more, then the codex rule takes precedence over the rule in the BRB.

michelj wrote:-Can a unit embarked on a raider disembark the turn that the raider has been deployed via deep strike? Can they assault? (Instinctively I'd say no but I am curious because if you give a raider retro fire jets it specifically says that units cannot disembark, but if you have Duke Sliscus it says that raiders can deep strike and it doesn't make a clarification about disembarking troops)

Any unit can disembark from any vehicle, provided that the vehicle did not move faster than Cruising Speed. However, if the vehicle had arrived via Deep Strike, regardless if the vehicle is Open-topped, an Assault Vehicle or neither, disembarked models can not assault, unless there is a Codex rule that supersedes this restriction. That being said, your initial instincts were correct. I don't know what Retro Jets or Duke Sliscus confers to your list, but if it doesn't say anything specific regarding a situation where rules in a Codex contradict the rules in the BRB, I would presume that unless it specifically says something is allowed (by a rule in a codex), then assume that the original BRB rule takes effect.

Hope that helps. Good luck!

"This One Is Rurouni... Once Again, This One Will Drift..."
"Rushing towards danger without hesitation isn't recklessness, but bravery... And avoiding danger when there's a chance for victory isn't precaution, but cowardice..."
"I can only go forward." 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Inside a pretty, pretty pain cave... won't you come inside?

Deepstriking a Raider doesn't seem that great an option, at least not compared to a Landraider. *cough* You have fast vehicles with long range weapons, no real need other than if you're playing defensively.

 
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

nosferatu1001 wrote:
It's a balance thing, mainly.


This.

WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in us
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot




Mesa, AZ

michelj wrote:Correct me if I'm wrong but don't you not risk the mishap table because raiders are vehicles and everything just gets out of their way? Or is that a special rule for drop pods?

It seems silly to me that if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers stay on board, they cannot shoot, but if an open topped vehicle moves at cruising speed and the passengers disembark, they can shoot... and assault. So apparently, shooting from a vehicle moving at cruising speed is too difficult for the denizens of the 41st millennium, but if they decide to jump off and assault as well, it somehow makes shooting possible. I guess it makes sense, since once they are off the vehicle its easier for them to aim, but it still always seemed weird to me...
-Jeff


IIRC, you can fire one main weapon and all defensive weapons when moving at cruising speed. So, as long as the embarked passengers weapons are S 4 or less, they can shoot. And, open-topped vehicles dont have fire points, so everybody can shoot. So, a Deep Striking Raider can shoot its Dark Lance, and all passengers with Splinter Rifles/Cannons can shoot as well.

I think.

“What can be asserted without proof can be dismissed without proof.”

"All their wars are merry, and all their songs are sad." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: