Switch Theme:

Dias of Destruction  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




The codex says that it is treated exactly like a raider, so I want to know if I could give it flicker field and Night Shields.
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





The Dark City

yakface wrote:

P1. Except where noted otherwise, the Dias of Destruction is 'treated exactly like a Raider'.
P2. None of the exceptions for the Dias of Destruction mention that it cannot take vehicle upgrades.
P3. Raiders can take Vehicle Upgrades.

C1. The Dias of Destruction can therefore take vehicle upgrades.


That right there is the logical argument that proves the Dias of Destruction can take vehicle upgrades. Anyone arguing to the contrary is adding additional restrictions to the rules that do not exist. When something is treated 'exactly like' something else that means it behaves exactly identical in every way except where specifically noted otherwise.

And the fact that the rules reference page 44 does not mean that is the ONLY place that rules for Raiders exist (that would be a logical fallacy), it simply means that is one page we know we need to reference for Raiders (but not necessarily the only one).

The fact is, the Dias of Destruction is treated exactly like a Raider (except where noted otherwise) when building a list, when playing the game and even after the game when looking at mission objectives/VPs, etc. There is no exception listed saying that it cannot purchase vehicle upgrades and a Raider can, therefore so can the Dias.



Just think of if you had students from classroom A who were allowed to purchase lunch from the Cafeteria. Then you have students from classroom B who are treated 'exactly like' students from classroom A except that they get out of school a half hour later.

Can the students from classroom B purchase lunch from the Cafeteria? The answer is unequivocally YES, because the students from classroom B are treated 'exactly like' the students from Classroom A. Since the students from Classroom A can purchase lunch from the Cafeteria, logic dictates that means so can the students from Classroom B.




Found here: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/30/322286.page

“You dare challenge me, monkeigh? I, the harvester of souls, the ambassador of pain? Let me educate you; I need a new plaything.” – Archon Dax’Sszeth Xelkireth, Kabal of the Dread Shadow
Index Xenos: Kabal of the Dread Shadow
WIP Blog: Kabal of the Dread Shadow
The Dark City: The Only Dark Eldar Exclusive Forum 
   
Made in us
Spawn of Chaos




Thank you!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yes take a look at the whole thread:

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/322286.page

Interesting read.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: