Switch Theme:

Eternity Cryptek Chronometron + deep striking..  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The Hive Mind





DevianID wrote:So Rigeld, dice are referred to as d6, reinforced by your quote. I thought we agreed on that. Where did you get the bit about dice being d6 rolls? That was not in my position.

That's my point.

Chrono allows you to re-roll a d6 roll. A d6 roll is not part of a 2d6 roll (it's made up of 2 rolled dice). You cannot re-roll part of the 2d6 roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Rigeld, the 2 rolled dice are d6. Each is a d6 roll that gets summed with the other.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





False. A d6 roll is something in its own right - its not a part of a 2d6 roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






To roll 2d6 you first roll two 1d6, then you sum them together.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DevianID wrote:To roll 2d6 you first roll two 1d6, then you sum them together.

Yes. (technically it's roll two dice and add them together, but dice and d6 are synonymous).

Now you just need to understand that a 1d6 roll (which is what a Chrono allows you to re-roll) is NOT the same as the 1d6 that you roll to add into a 2d6 roll.

There's your misunderstanding. You're equating the two with no basis in the rules.

1d6 roll != 1d6

The "roll" means it's the end result - the whole enchilada - what determines your fate. And that's what the Chrono allows you to re-roll.

I'm not sure how else to word this - but I've been saying the same thing for 10 pages.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/25 03:49:13


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





DevianID wrote:To roll 2d6 you first roll two 1d6, then you sum them together.

And that is the crux of the issue you're equating a d6 roll with an individual die and that's not what the rules state: a xd6 roll is defined as rolling x number of dice and summing the results of the dice rolled (page 2 of the BRB). Thus a d6 roll is one die rolled and the summed result is the result of the die. A 2d6 roll is two dice rolled summing the results of the two dice. A 3d6 roll is three dice rolled summing the results of the three dice.

A xd6 roll is NOT the summing or x number of d6 rolls. All though a d6 roll only uses one die it is not a substitution for a die itself. Thus, a 2d6 roll is NOT composed of two d6 rolls summing the result of the two rolls it's the summing of two dice rolled together. Page two is clear on this.

Chronom allows the reroll of a d6 roll not an individual d6 (dice).





* edited for spelling

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/02/26 16:39:54


If you game in North Alabama check us out!

Rocket City Gamers 
   
Made in au
Member of the Malleus




Not every shadow, but any shadow

never mind

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/02/26 09:16:43


 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






TheGreatAvatar wrote:
DevianID wrote:To roll 2d6 you first roll two 1d6, then you sum them together.

And that is the crux of the issue you're equating a d6 roll with an individual die and that's not what the rules state: a xd6 roll is defined as rolling x number of dice and summing the results of the dice rolled (page 2 of the BRB). Thus a d6 roll is one die rolled and the summed result is the result of the die. A 2d6 roll is two dice rolled summing the results of the two dice. A 3d6 roll is three dice rolled summing the results of the three dice.

A xd6 roll is NOT the summing or x number of d6 rolls. All though a d6 roll only uses one die it is not a substitution for a die itself. Thus, a 2d6 roll is NOT composed of two d6 rolls summing the result of the two rolls it's the summing of two dice rolled together. Page two is clear on this.

Chronom allows the reroll of a d6 roll not an individual d6 (dice).





* edited for spelling


Very interesting argument that was never FAQ. Has Dakka FAQ on here not clarified it? Unable to load it on my phone, but from what I remember historically gw was the European version of dnd. There are randomization rolls and d3 rolls. I believe when they said 2d6 it is actually supposed to say d12 on 2d6 is not considered 2 dice but a combination of 2 dice rolled. This is coming from a fellow necron player, and since 3rd edition it has always been worded 2d6 iirc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/04/17 09:39:15


Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+

2500++ (Wraithwing)

I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: