Switch Theme:

ba vanguard and stormraven  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




california

Vanguard heroic intervention, does it work coming off of a stormraven?

currently run
my eldar at 2000 pts
chaos space marine at 3000+ pts
working on dark eldar aiming for 2k
Had a 1k Tau and a 2k Ork and 3k BA. 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






As in the Storm Raven Deepstrikes in carrying the Vanguard, the Vanguard disembark and then attempt to assault?

No.

Storm raven assault ramps rule clearly forbids it.

Any time the Storm raven moves(provided it did not deepstrike in that turn) and disembarks any troops however, those troops can get out and then assault do to Assault ramps(same as with all land raider variants).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If the Stormraven Deep strikes and the VV's have Jump packs, they should be able too through the declaration of Heroic Intervention?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




According to my understanding, if the Stormraven moves flat out and the vanguards disembark using the "skies of blood" special rule, they enter play using the deep strike rules, and heroic intervention will apply.

猛顔  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






DeathReaper wrote:If the Stormraven Deep strikes and the VV's have Jump packs, they should be able too through the declaration of Heroic Intervention?


Doesn't matter as they will still be exiting the storm Raven, and it's assault ramps deny any assaults during the turn the Storm Raven Deepstrikes. The VV are not deepstriking under their own power they are disembarking from the Storm Raven.

Takerukau; that is a good question, let me double check all the relevant rules.

Edit: the skies of blood rule expressly forbids any assaults, they could possibly be able to assault through the Deepstrike rules(although technically they do not count as deepstriking, you simply use those rules); but their HI rules say nothing of being able to assault when they are disembarked via Skies of blood.

You have a Specific denial of assaults, and no specific allowance; therefore you cannot assault.

Also they are certainly not Arriving from reserves via deepstrike; so they do not even have any permission from any other "using the Deepstrike rules" variation.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/04/15 00:15:52


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation




california

Kommissar Kel wrote:
Edit: the skies of blood rule expressly forbids any assaults, they could possibly be able to assault through the Deepstrike rules(although technically they do not count as deepstriking, you simply use those rules); but their HI rules say nothing of being able to assault when they are disembarked via Skies of blood.


that answered it, thanx. i was thinking just that, but there was always a chance i miss read the rules on heroic intervention or skies of blood.

currently run
my eldar at 2000 pts
chaos space marine at 3000+ pts
working on dark eldar aiming for 2k
Had a 1k Tau and a 2k Ork and 3k BA. 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




"If a jump pack equipped Vanguard Veteran Squad arrives from Reserve by Deep Strike, the player can elect for the squad to perform a Heroic Intervention."

So it doesn't really matter if it counts as deep striking from a Storm Raven, since you are not arriving from reserve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 03:43:25


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

overkongen wrote:"If a jump pack equipped Vanguard Veteran Squad arrives from Reserve by Deep Strike, the player can elect for the squad to perform a Heroic Intervention."

So it doesn't really matter if it counts as deep striking from a Storm Raven, since you are not arriving from reserve.


Yes you are in reserve. The VV's are in reserve inside the StormRaven, but since HI allows assault and the SR restricts them, you can't assault. But not because they were not in reserve (Didn't have my book in front of me before so I could not read the assault ramps rule)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I'm actually inclined to disagree with Kel for once.

If they are disembarking via Skies of Blood, it's a definite no. I agree on that.

If the SR just Deep Struck, however, I think they could do it. They'd have to declare the Heroic Intervention at the moment the SR was placed, of course, before rolling to scatter it. The prohibition under the SR's assault ramps rule is a paranthetical aside- it looks like just a reminder that units DSing can't normally assault. And the main DS rules say the same thing, but specifically exempt units which have a special rule allowing them to assault the turn they Deep Strike.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I kind of thought the same way Mann, but I am on the fence with this one. since units that arrive from reserve can not usually assault the same turn. but the Heroic Intervention allows an assault after Deep strike.

The two rules contradict each other. since assault ramps allow assaults after the SR moves, but not after the raven itself has deep struck. But that is only because deep striking units are normally disallowed from assaulting.

the Assault ramps rule could have been written better, if the intended for HI to work they could have said: Troops embarked on a vehicle with assault ramps count as having deep struck as well.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I think Heroic Intervention trumps, as it's more specific.


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Yea it does seem like HI is more specific, as It seems that assault ramps are just restating that deep strikers can not assault on the turn they arrive. they give permission to assault after a move, but re-restrict assaulting after a deep strike, which Heroic Intervention overrides.

I think I am on this side of the fence now.

Though badly worded rules are badly worded.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/04/15 04:33:51


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: