Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 03:45:06
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
Ok so this rules question came up today.
GK GM has the rule Grand Strategy which (I'm paraphrasing here because my Codex is in my car) says, "Roll a D3, that many Infantry, Jump Infantry, and Walker Units, but not special characters etc etc gets one of the following roles for the remainder of the game. They all must take the same role.
Now one of the roles says (again paraphrasing), "The unit is treated exactly like a scoring unit and my hold objectives."
Now by this logic and RaW you could make a Dreadnaught a scoring unit. One of the guys at my FLGS argued with me that the Rulebook says that a vehicle can never be a scoring unit, but another guy at my FLGS says that specific trumps general and the Codex rules is a specific rule so the Dreadnaught would become scoring.
Help me out Dakka!
|
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 03:58:42
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The rulebook only mentions the conditions under which a troops choice cannot be scoring (one of those conditions being if it's a vehicle).
It does not say that a vehicle can never be scoring.
The problem is, the GK codex says they may claim objectives "as if they were Troops." And vehicles that are troops cannot claim objectives, so...
RAW, I don't think your GK Dreadnought can't score with Grand Strategy.
My guess is that they intended them to be able to score...but it's just another in the long line of ambiguous Grey Knight nonsense.  If they'd just said "These nominated units count as scoring" it would have been so much simpler. *sigh*
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 03:59:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 04:04:19
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Stone Bonkers Fabricator General
A garden grove on Citadel Station
|
A Walker that scores as if it is troops does not score because it is a walker. Troops walkers cannot score. Grand Strategy makes your normally Heavy/Elite dreads score as if they were troops. Sadly even being troops isn't enough to make a vehicle score.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 04:14:09
ph34r's Forgeworld Phobos blog, current WIP: Iron Warriors and Skaven Tau
+From Iron Cometh Strength+ +From Strength Cometh Will+ +From Will Cometh Faith+ +From Faith Cometh Honor+ +From Honor Cometh Iron+
The Polito form is dead, insect. Are you afraid? What is it you fear? The end of your trivial existence?
When the history of my glory is written, your species shall only be a footnote to my magnificence. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 08:22:26
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
Locally we have ruled that they can, because we think that is what the intention is, but that is, of course a house rule.
It's is one of the (many) things in the C:GK that needs an FAQ
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 08:26:29
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Sanguinis wrote:Now one of the roles says (again paraphrasing), "The unit is treated exactly like a scoring unit and my hold objectives."
Why not quote properly instead of paraphrasing (since your version is considerably biased)? "The nominated units can claim objectives as if they were troops". Vehicles that are troops cannot claim objectives. If it had said that they were scoring units then it would have worked on dreadnaughts. Compare this to the ravenwing entry in C: DA which does make vehicles scoring: "they always operate as completely independent scoring units of one model".
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2011/05/01 08:28:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 11:20:12
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
Simple answer:
Dreadknight is not a vehicle. It is neither a Walker.
It is a monstrous creature.
Grand Strategy cannot effect vehicles and Walkers either way.
/Thread.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 11:25:53
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia
|
Apart from the inconvenient point that the rules for Grand Strategy specifically include Walkers...
|
If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it. item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 12:12:00
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Jaon wrote:Simple answer: Dreadknight is not a vehicle. It is neither a Walker. It is a monstrous creature. Grand Strategy cannot effect vehicles and Walkers either way. /Thread. OP asked about Dreadnaughts not dreadknights. And Grand Strategy does affect Walkers although it doesn't affect other vehicles.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/01 12:13:15
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 12:34:12
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
Though it seems that a dreadknight with personal teleporter can benefit from grand strategy while one without can not.
I bet dreadknights were infantry and at some point during development changed to monsterous creature without anyone checking for rule conflicts...
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 13:53:03
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Jidmah wrote:Though it seems that a dreadknight with personal teleporter can benefit from grand strategy while one without can not.
I bet dreadknights were infantry and at some point during development changed to monsterous creature without anyone checking for rule conflicts...
Where are you getting this from? Grand Strategy covers Monstrous Creatures.
|
“Do not ask me to approach the battle meekly, to creep through the shadows, or to quietly slip on my foes in the dark. I am Rogal Dorn, Imperial Fist, Space Marine, Emperor’s Champion. Let my enemies cower at my advance and tremble at the sight of me.”
-Rogal Dorn
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 14:23:09
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Corrode wrote:Jidmah wrote:Though it seems that a dreadknight with personal teleporter can benefit from grand strategy while one without can not.
I bet dreadknights were infantry and at some point during development changed to monsterous creature without anyone checking for rule conflicts...
Where are you getting this from? Grand Strategy covers Monstrous Creatures.
"Infantry, Jump Infantry, Monstrous Creature or Walker"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 14:25:26
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
There seems to be a lot of misinformation floating around here, so I'll just throw this up:
GK Codex pg.22
Grand Strategy: At the start of the game, before forces are deployed, the Grand Master can assign special battlefield roles to units under his command. Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creature or walker units in your army (but not models with the Independent Character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchmen Warbands or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 14:37:13
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
This happens every time I actually belive someone quoting rules, instead of checking myself. Should teach me.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 15:37:17
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
bushido wrote:There seems to be a lot of misinformation floating around here, so I'll just throw this up:
GK Codex pg.22
Grand Strategy: At the start of the game, before forces are deployed, the Grand Master can assign special battlefield roles to units under his command. Roll a D3 and choose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creature or walker units in your army (but not models with the Independent Character special rule, Inquisitorial Henchmen Warbands or Grand Master Mordrak's unit of Ghost Knights).
The REAL
/thread
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 18:30:48
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Why? It doesn't answer the OP's question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 18:38:42
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
You know, posting "/thread" is now more important than posting content...
That said, you already posted the correct answer to the OPs question ten posts ago
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 18:38:57
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 22:41:41
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Crafty Bray Shaman
NOVA
|
I had this discussion the other day. The main point is this: the rule says "as if they were troops". The conditional phrase means that the dreadnought is STILL NOT A TROOP. Therefore it is not a vehicle that is a troop (which is the only type of vehicle specifically disallowed by the BRB), so it can score.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/01 23:03:12
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
If: Walkers under Grand Strategy can claim objectives as if they were troops.
And: Troops that are vehicles cannot claim objectives.
Then: A walker under Grand Strategy cannot claim objectives.
I'd expect it to be clarified that they can (and would never prevent my GK opponent from doing so in an actual game) but it's easy to argue that GK dreads can't score.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/01 23:03:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 02:22:14
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Yes RaW the Ddreanought can't score, and feel free to play that house rule. However the rule is pretty clear and we all know how it would go at FaQ, but I don't for a second believe GW would waste the ink on FaQing this answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 02:54:57
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Has anyone bothered to wonder why indeed it would specifically call out walkers if walkers didn't count?
What would the purpose be of saying "walkers" in that paragraph? There is no other benefit to that particular rule aside from making things scoring. They specifically call out walkers.
Why would they waste the ink?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 03:54:43
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Because they expect you to give Walkers a different role? All of the others work fine for Walkers.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 04:04:20
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Making units scoring isn't the only effect of Grand Strategy. Walkers are mentioned before they even explain the special rules you can give the nominated units. Not exactly a waste of ink.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 04:42:57
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
FlingitNow wrote:Yes RaW the Ddreanought can't score, and feel free to play that house rule. However the rule is pretty clear and we all know how it would go at FaQ, but I don't for a second believe GW would waste the ink on FaQing this answer.
Wouldn't a "pretty clear" rule follow the RaW?
I asked this question last monght and the discussion didn't last long, partly because I posted the correct wording for the rule in the OP, and used the rule wording itself to present my side of it, rather than unsupported opinion. I'm a little surprised by the resistance here.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 07:11:48
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker
United States of America
|
I apologize for not quoting it right I guess next time I'm gonna have to remember to have my Codex on me. I was not attempting to change the wording to support the answer I wanted. I was trying to get an answer and changing the wording to give the answer I want would be pointless and then I wouldn't have had to ask the question in the first place.
Now, about the question. I understand it says, "they may score as if they are troops", and I understand that the rulebook says that, "troops that are vehicles can not score", however this is not turning the dreadnaught into a troop it is merely making the Dreadnaught score as if it were a troop. That is the key phrasing, I understand what the rulebook says but I also understand that it does not turn the Dreadnaught into a troop it says may score as if it were a troop. I think the intention was to use the "as if it were a troop" as an example. If they intended for Dreadnaughts not to score they could have said something along the lines of "The unit becomes a troop choice this game." If they had used that wording then the Dreadnaught could not score because it would be in violation of the rulebook.
Believe me when I say I do not intend to ever use this rule on my Dreadnaught. If anything outflanking Dreadnaughts is more fun. I am merely wondering for my own purposes and for the purposes of those who use 3 Psyrifleman Dreadnaughts that could potentially, on the roll of a 5-6 for Grand Strategy, have 3 scoring Dreadnaughts (which would scare me). I am unbiased as to the answer I just want a concrete answer.
FlingitNow wrote:
Yes RaW the Ddreanought can't score, and feel free to play that house rule. However the rule is pretty clear and we all know how it would go at FaQ, but I don't for a second believe GW would waste the ink on FaQing this answer.
I don't believe FaQing this answer would be a waste of ink at all! I think if anything it would be a good thing to FaQ, along with the other 600 questions that arose from this very poorly written and completely garbled mess of a Codex.
Edited twice for spelling.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/05/02 07:13:45
The God Emperor Guides my blade! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 07:47:43
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Kyvik wrote:Has anyone bothered to wonder why indeed it would specifically call out walkers if walkers didn't count? What would the purpose be of saying "walkers" in that paragraph? There is no other benefit to that particular rule aside from making things scoring. They specifically call out walkers.
There are four effects to choose from. Just because walkers are in the included list does not mean that every one of those effects works for them. Have you even read the rule? Automatically Appended Next Post: somerandomdude wrote:I asked this question last monght and the discussion didn't last long, partly because I posted the correct wording for the rule in the OP, and used the rule wording itself to present my side of it, rather than unsupported opinion. I'm a little surprised by the resistance here.
I'm not. There are plenty of people posting that have clearly not read the actual rule. Automatically Appended Next Post: FlingitNow wrote:Yes RaW the Ddreanought can't score, and feel free to play that house rule. However the rule is pretty clear and we all know how it would go at FaQ, but I don't for a second believe GW would waste the ink on FaQing this answer.
Yes, the rule is perfectly clear. It claims objectives like a troop and troop vehicles don't. If they hadn't specifically wanted to exclude walkers from using GM to become scoring (whilst letting them use the other options) they could have just put "becomes scoring". As usual, you are letting your belief in what you think the rules ought to say override what they actually do say.
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2011/05/02 08:04:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 07:59:17
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
"Scoring as if they are troops"
is the same as
"this dread is scoring the same way as an identical dread bought in a troops slot"
A dread bought in a troops slot can not claim objectives. The rule does not use "slots" as those are only relevant when actually making the list, and can't be changed once you start rolling for grand strategy.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 10:09:50
Subject: Re:Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Conundrum! The dreadnought is afaik the only 'walker' this applies to (DKnight being an MC). The rule goes out of the way to mention that walkers can also be made to hold objectives etc. However, the rules also say that troops-vehicles can't claim objectives. So - if they 'can't claim', why are they mentioned in the rule in the first place? P:
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 10:20:02
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
Its written fine. The nominated units can claim objectives as if they were troops.
The key word is as its not saying that it makes them troops choices its saying they can capture OBJ like troops can.
They can claim objectives. It says that in the RAW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 10:41:18
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk
|
InquisitorVaron wrote:Its written fine. The nominated units can claim objectives as if they were troops.
The key word is as its not saying that it makes them troops choices its saying they can capture OBJ like troops can.
They are still vehicles, and troop vehicles can not claim objectives.
They can claim objectives. It says that in the RAW.
The rule does not say this, this is blatant misquoting and false. It says(exact quote):
"The nominated units may claim objectives as if they were Troops."( pg. 22, GK codex)
"There are a few exceptions, however, when a unit of Troops does not count as scoring: If it is a vehicle. [...]"( pg. 90, BRB)
If a (venerable) dreadnought were Troops, it would still not count as scoring, because it is a vehicle. So it is not scoring either when chosen for Unyielding Anvil.
Restating your opinion without any rules backup does not make you more right.
|
7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/02 11:06:29
Subject: Grey Knight Dreadnaughts scoring?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
1. Rules in an army-specific Codex may override rules in the main rulebook.
References: Main Rulebook pages 62, 74, 97
2. Grand Strategy special rule, page 22 of Grey Knight rulebook
"...chose that many infantry, jump infantry, monstrous creature, or walker units in your army..."
3. Unyielding Anvil sub-rule, page 22 of Grey Knight rulebook
"The nominated units can claim objectives as if they were troops"
4. Dreadnoughts & Venerable Dreadnoughts, page 35 of Grey Knight rulebook
Unit type: Vehicle, Walker
5. Common Sense
The -only- Walker unit type in the ENTIRE codex are the Dreadnought and the Venerable Dreadnought. Don't you think it would be stupid to include that line in the special rules of the Grand Master only to have it go to waste and be of no use?
The Dreadknight is a Monstrous Creature, the only one in the codex.
|
|
 |
 |
|