Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/21 18:10:13
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
If you have Vulkan He'stan in your army and a Land Raider Redeemer, do the flamestorm cannons count as twin-linked? I know this sounds like a stupid question as it is not a 'flamer' but one of my friends said that it was all flamer template weapons that get effected by this and therefore it is twin-linked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/21 18:12:53
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
No, it is not all template weapons. The rules lists all the weapons affected.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/21 20:59:17
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/21 22:02:33
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Deadshot Weapon Moderati
|
ONLY flamers and heavy flamers. It clearly says those words in the rules
|
"Innocence Proves Nothing... Except That You've Done Nothing Wrong"
Welcome to the Daemonhunters, the ranks of the exalted Ordo Malleus and their cannon fod....er, I mean, loyal allies. Remember...the only ones who need fear the righteous might of the Ordo Malleus are the Daemonic.
quote: Dashofpepper: ...sad rivulet of demon prince tears. He ponders for a moment, then lashes the demon hunters into him. He assaults them, kills a terminator or two....and then demon hunters being demon hunters....they proceed to wtfpwn him. Second player leaves the table... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 13:34:39
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 13:36:31
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Thinking of Joining a Davinite Loge
|
Reread the entry for Vulkan. It lists all the affected weapons.
|
Jidmah wrote:That's why I keep my enemies close and my AOBR rulebook closer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 13:38:56
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Huh, is it that time again...
::sets watch::
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 14:58:45
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
If it said all (teardrop) template weapons you would be right. However, it doesn't... so...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 15:10:42
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
The other posters were speaking in the context of flamer-type weapons.
Ask your opponent to see his codex if you don't own one yourself. Vulkan's rules very clearly state which weapons are affected.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 16:45:27
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Cheexsta wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
The other posters were speaking in the context of flamer-type weapons.
Ask your opponent to see his codex if you don't own one yourself. Vulkan's rules very clearly state which weapons are affected.
I know the rules state flamers and heavy flamers, as I said above in my first post, but a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons and that is why I was asking this, and no I don't own a Land Raider Redeemer
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 17:26:37
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
So by that logic the CSM power "Wind of Chaos" is also a flamer as it uses the template as well?
Same for the Doom Siren?
i'm sure there are other non-flamer in other armies that use the template as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 17:51:44
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Cheexsta wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
The other posters were speaking in the context of flamer-type weapons.
Ask your opponent to see his codex if you don't own one yourself. Vulkan's rules very clearly state which weapons are affected.
but a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons
Umm, no it doesn't?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 17:54:41
Subject: Re:Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
How about the Flamer/Melta part in a Combi-weapon?
I'd say it's twin-linked...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 17:56:33
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Cheexsta wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬ What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
The other posters were speaking in the context of flamer-type weapons. Ask your opponent to see his codex if you don't own one yourself. Vulkan's rules very clearly state which weapons are affected. I know the rules state flamers and heavy flamers, as I said above in my first post, but a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons and that is why I was asking this, and no I don't own a Land Raider Redeemer No the proper term for the weapons are "Template" weapons, not "Flamer Template"; I cannot find any rules in the brb for "Flamer Template" weapons. Flamer is a Specific weapon, just Like Boltgun. Just because a Flamestorm has the Same range(Template) does not make it the same weapon. Thanks, My blood is now all angried up. Stop making junk up just to try and finagle some justification why a specific weapon not on a list of specific weapons get the benefit. Motorhead: Yes the Flamer/Melta parts of Combi weapons do get T-L; because they can fire the specified weapons(once).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/24 17:58:08
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 19:17:42
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Cheexsta wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Valkyrie wrote:No, it is explicitly clear that Vulkan only affects Flamers and Heavy Flamers ¬¬
What about Meltaguns, Multi Meltas and Thunder Hammers?
The other posters were speaking in the context of flamer-type weapons.
Ask your opponent to see his codex if you don't own one yourself. Vulkan's rules very clearly state which weapons are affected.
I know the rules state flamers and heavy flamers, as I said above in my first post, but a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons and that is why I was asking this, and no I don't own a Land Raider Redeemer
No the proper term for the weapons are "Template" weapons, not "Flamer Template"; I cannot find any rules in the brb for "Flamer Template" weapons.
Flamer is a Specific weapon, just Like Boltgun. Just because a Flamestorm has the Same range(Template) does not make it the same weapon.
Thanks, My blood is now all angried up. Stop making junk up just to try and finagle some justification why a specific weapon not on a list of specific weapons get the benefit.
Motorhead: Yes the Flamer/Melta parts of Combi weapons do get T-L; because they can fire the specified weapons(once).
I'm not making Junk up? I'm simply asking a question about what my friend said?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 19:34:42
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons This would be making junk up; a Flamer is a Flamer, just like a Heavy Flamer is a Heavy Flamer, and a Meltagun is a Meltagun. There is a list of Specific weapons; that is what benefits, nothing more, nothing less. There is no such thing as a Flamer Template; there is only a Template Weapon, which is any weapon with a range of "template". Also by the time you made the above statement, the question had been fully answered; you then made a wildly inaccurate statement with no basis on rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/24 19:36:50
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 19:37:52
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:a 'flamer' can be anything that uses the mostly known as 'flamer template' weapons
This would be making junk up; a Flamer is a Flamer, just like a Heavy Flamer is a Heavy Flamer, and a Meltagun is a Meltagun.
There is a list of Specific weapons; that is what benefits, nothing more, nothing less.
There is no such thing as a Flamer Template; there is only a Template Weapon, which is any weapon with a range of "template".
But i am not the one that is saying this, I am simply telling you what my friend is telling my and this is why he believes they should get the benefit, I even stated in my OP that i agree with what you are saying, I just have little experience with SM and did not know [/b]EXACTLY[b] what the rules mentioned
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/24 19:42:23
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Well, now you have a reply for him. Edit: you know what, since your friend is pulling that kind of garbage with the Flamer; I will add something not entirely related so you do not get cheated: Special issue ammunition only, ONLY, works in boltguns, or the Boltgun Portions of Combi-weapons; they will not work on bolt Pistols, Storm Bolters(even though fluff-wise they use the same ammo), nor Heavy bolters(the Scouts HB can fire a hellfire Shell, but only for Scouts).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/24 19:47:58
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 05:47:01
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Well, now you have a reply for him.
Edit: you know what, since your friend is pulling that kind of garbage with the Flamer; I will add something not entirely related so you do not get cheated:
Special issue ammunition only, ONLY, works in boltguns, or the Boltgun Portions of Combi-weapons; they will not work on bolt Pistols, Storm Bolters(even though fluff-wise they use the same ammo), nor Heavy bolters(the Scouts HB can fire a hellfire Shell, but only for Scouts).
To be fair I have caught him cheating a few times with his Tyranids, he has placed Hive Tyrants in Mycetic Spores and not always taken Instinctive Behaviour, and I knew that anyway, but thanks for telling me :L
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 06:18:07
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Maryland
|
GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:Well, now you have a reply for him.
Edit: you know what, since your friend is pulling that kind of garbage with the Flamer; I will add something not entirely related so you do not get cheated:
Special issue ammunition only, ONLY, works in boltguns, or the Boltgun Portions of Combi-weapons; they will not work on bolt Pistols, Storm Bolters(even though fluff-wise they use the same ammo), nor Heavy bolters(the Scouts HB can fire a hellfire Shell, but only for Scouts).
To be fair I have caught him cheating a few times with his Tyranids, he has placed Hive Tyrants in Mycetic Spores and not always taken Instinctive Behaviour, and I knew that anyway, but thanks for telling me :L
Jeeze... are you sure you want to keep playing with him?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 07:54:39
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
infinite_array wrote:GoDz BuZzSaW wrote:Kommissar Kel wrote:Well, now you have a reply for him.
Edit: you know what, since your friend is pulling that kind of garbage with the Flamer; I will add something not entirely related so you do not get cheated:
Special issue ammunition only, ONLY, works in boltguns, or the Boltgun Portions of Combi-weapons; they will not work on bolt Pistols, Storm Bolters(even though fluff-wise they use the same ammo), nor Heavy bolters(the Scouts HB can fire a hellfire Shell, but only for Scouts).
To be fair I have caught him cheating a few times with his Tyranids, he has placed Hive Tyrants in Mycetic Spores and not always taken Instinctive Behaviour, and I knew that anyway, but thanks for telling me :L
Jeeze... are you sure you want to keep playing with him?
I had to play him in the GW leage we are doing, and I did lose because of it, he is one of those people who won't back down and thinks he's always right, even the GW staff can't get him to change his ways
And after his nids he was talking about the TL flamestorm cannon and that's why I wanted confirmation to check
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 15:15:00
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
i have a friedn who does this kind of thing. he will read the rules and interpret them his way and unless you can PROOVE he is wrong completely, he will keep on going.
My most recent arguement was he said that SMs dont take any wounds for after winning an assault because it is not listed under ATSKNF or Fearless. Took me half an hour to point him atthe No Retreat entry in the rulebook. /sigh.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 15:18:19
Subject: Re:Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
motorhead1945 wrote:How about the Flamer/Melta part in a Combi-weapon?
I'd say it's twin-linked...
yes, its Twinlinked because its still on Vulkan's list.
a Combi-weapon is a Bolter and another named weapon. this named weapon simply has the one shot rule.
a Combi-flamer is still fired as a Flamer, and as such is TL by Vulkan. same for a Combi-melta.
the Flamestorm cannons are not on Vulkans list(regardless of how the fluff would make sense) so they do not benifit.
besides, you will be wounding on 2s most of the time. do you really need to reroll to wound?
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 15:38:23
Subject: Re:Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Grey Templar wrote:besides, you will be wounding on 2s most of the time. do you really need to reroll to wound?
If you have seen my rolling, then of course :L
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 16:00:27
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Praxiss wrote:My most recent arguement was he said that SMs dont take any wounds for after winning an assault because it is not listed under ATSKNF or Fearless. Took me half an hour to point him atthe No Retreat entry in the rulebook. /sigh.
No one ever takes wounds after Winning a close combat.
So your friend was absolutely correct.
SM will, however, take wounds under "no retreat" if they lose the combat, and then get caught with the Sweeping advance.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/25 16:38:26
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Kommissar Kel wrote:Praxiss wrote:My most recent arguement was he said that SMs dont take any wounds for after winning an assault because it is not listed under ATSKNF or Fearless. Took me half an hour to point him atthe No Retreat entry in the rulebook. /sigh.
No one ever takes wounds after Winning a close combat.
So your friend was absolutely correct.
SM will, however, take wounds under "no retreat" if they lose the combat, and then get caught with the Sweeping advance.
I think what he means here is after he wins the combat against the SM player and him saying that they dont take wounds for winning.
But yes, it is worded oddly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 03:36:01
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
What about the Avatar? Is he immune to a Flamestorm cannon?
Vulcan and the Avatar have the exact same wording; only that the Avatar has a FAQ entry saying that flamers and Meltas mean all flame and melta based weaponry he is immune to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 03:57:56
Subject: Re:Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
No, the Avatar is not immune to the Flamestorm cannon,
unless the FAQ says something.
the main problem with making him immune would be that you would have to let Vulkan twinlink it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 04:57:09
Subject: Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Aeon wrote:What about the Avatar? Is he immune to a Flamestorm cannon?
Vulcan and the Avatar have the exact same wording; only that the Avatar has a FAQ entry saying that flamers and Meltas mean all flame and melta based weaponry he is immune to.
unfortunately "flame based weaponry" doesn't mean anything is Rules terms(Thanks again for nothing GW).
melta weapons would be anything that has the Melta rule.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/05/27 07:41:55
Subject: Re:Salamanders Flamestorm Cannon
|
 |
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan
|
Grey Templar wrote:No, the Avatar is not immune to the Flamestorm cannon,
unless the FAQ says something.
the main problem with making him immune would be that you would have to let Vulkan twinlink it.
He's been FAQ'd to be immune to flamestorm cannons, infernus pistols (which was redundant) and some other stuff.
EDIT: Whoops, looks like I confused Inferno Cannons with Flamestorm Cannons. The Avatar can still be wounded by FSCs. Silly if you ask me, but them's the rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/05/27 07:47:46
For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. |
|
 |
 |
|