Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 03:30:37
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
So, once again, I was reading through my Ork kodeks, and I noticed something in the Stormboyz section on page 47. Notably, the Rokkit Pack rule.
It says in one sentence that the Rokkit packs count as jump packs. Then, it goes on to say, in a separate sentence, that everytime the Stormboyz use their rokkit packs to move or fall back, they roll a d6. On a 1, one of them dies. But in any case, you can add the result of that d6 to their movement that turn.
So does that mean, since Stormboyz are Jump Infantry, and Jump Infantry moves 12", that Stormboyz move 12+d6" when using their rokkit packs? 'cause that could mean that Stormboyz would have a possible 30" assault range. Whoa.
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 03:59:32
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You're correct on the movement... not sure where you're getting 30" assault range, though.
18" with the pack, and then 6" assault is only 24.They don't get to run and assault because they are not infantry, and so don't benefit from the Waaagh! rule.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 04:17:10
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Ah, huh. Okay then, no Waaagh!!. So still only 24", but then, they can shoot too.
There any other units that can assault 24", and shoot beforehand? Plus, with Zagstrukk, that' a few Str. 9 Power weapon attacks, too.
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 04:20:29
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
Yea in the errata they remove the waaagh from stormboyz. Still, 24 inch assault range is nothing to scoff at. I'm either remembering it incorrectly, but I believe if you add zagstrukk, the unit HAS to deep strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 04:25:57
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
Leeds, UK
|
yeah you have to Deepstrike, costing you d3 boys, so probably best to take 20 of em to make sure you have the numbers, but also you can assault the turn they arrive, nasty if it works.
another question, is Zagstrukk an upgrade for a stormboy like the Nob or an upgrade on his own, so you would have 20+ zagstrukk? im not clear with this in the codex.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/17 04:27:45
' ' 7000pts 18-6-15
2k 2-0-0
urrr, boss, we'z needin even more dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 04:34:04
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre
|
It states that "Instead of a nob" so yes only zag with no nob buddy in the group. He is the nob. He is also an upgrade like a nob, so out of 20 guys, 1 of the 20 becomes the nob/zag.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/06/17 04:34:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 06:00:36
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
And you only lose the d3 if you assault the turn you Deepstrike. You could just plop them in the backfield or no-man's-land, then assault the next turn.
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 06:47:22
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot
Leeds, UK
|
Oh i misread that, saying that i don't know why you wouldn't assault if in range tbh.
|
' ' 7000pts 18-6-15
2k 2-0-0
urrr, boss, we'z needin even more dakka! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 07:15:15
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
juraigamer wrote:Yea in the errata they remove the waaagh from stormboyz. Still, 24 inch assault range is nothing to scoff at. I'm either remembering it incorrectly, but I believe if you add zagstrukk, the unit HAS to deep strike.
It never had any effect on them anyway - theyre not Infantry, and Waaagh! only affects Infantry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 09:53:40
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Anvildude wrote:So, once again, I was reading through my Ork kodeks, and I noticed something in the Stormboyz section on page 47. Notably, the Rokkit Pack rule.
It says in one sentence that the Rokkit packs count as jump packs. Then, it goes on to say, in a separate sentence, that everytime the Stormboyz use their rokkit packs to move or fall back, they roll a d6. On a 1, one of them dies. But in any case, you can add the result of that d6 to their movement that turn.
So does that mean, since Stormboyz are Jump Infantry, and Jump Infantry moves 12", that Stormboyz move 12+d6" when using their rokkit packs? 'cause that could mean that Stormboyz would have a possible 30" assault range. Whoa.
Yep, a 24" threat range is damn nasty!
Anvildude wrote:And you only lose the d3 if you assault the turn you Deepstrike. You could just plop them in the backfield or no-man's-land, then assault the next turn.
Why would you? I know you lose d3 stormboyz, but if you are playing orks correctly 3 stormboyz should be insignificant! You get a S9 PK that attacks at initiative 4 when it charges, you want that thing to be killing from the minute it hits the board
|
DR:80S---G+MB---I+Pw40k08#+D+A+/fWD???R+T(M)DM+
My P&M Log: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/433120.page
Atma01 wrote:
And that is why you hear people yelling FOR THE EMPEROR rather than FOR LOGICAL AND QUANTIFIABLE BASED DECISIONS FOR THE BETTERMENT OF THE MAJORITY!
Phototoxin wrote:Kids go in , they waste tonnes of money on marnus calgar and his landraider, the slaneshi-like GW revel at this lust and short term profit margin pleasure. Meanwhile father time and cunning lord tzeentch whisper 'our games are better AND cheaper' and then players leave for mantic and warmahordes.
daveNYC wrote:The Craftworld guys, who are such stick-in-the-muds that they manage to make the Ultramarines look like an Ibiza nightclub that spiked its Red Bull with LSD. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 15:51:08
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Liche Priest Hierophant
|
Just sayin', if youz squeamish, you don't have to charge. You could also use them more taktically if you want.
|
GENERATION 8: The first time you see this, copy and paste it into your sig and add 1 to the number after generation. Consider it a social experiment.
If yer an Ork, why dont ya WAAAGH!!
M.A.V.- if you liked ChromeHounds, drop by the site and give it a go. Or check out my M.A.V. Oneshots videos on YouTube! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 16:11:48
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
In order to use Zag and get the assault off you have to DS near your target. Not something easily accomplished with a mob large enough to soak up looses to the DS and still remain effective. So you risk scattering away then stand there with a big "SHOOT ME" or "PIE PLATE GO HERE" sign or scatter into your target and risk loosing the entire unit on the mishap table.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 16:27:59
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot
|
Wouldn't you be able to use the d6 extra movement after you ds in? The ds would count as using the packs, then plus d6...
That's a 12" possible assault range after ds.
|
Victory is not the most important outcome. Enjoyment and excitement is the best outcome, victory is sweeter when it was fun. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 16:32:25
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No; the D6 is as you move, and the rules for DS on page 95 state you may not move any further that turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/06/17 17:02:54
Subject: Curious thought about Stormboyz
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:No; the D6 is as you move, and the rules for DS on page 95 state you may not move any further that turn.
They also cannot assault the turn they deepstrike; and even if they could(Via Zagstruk), they do not use their Rokkit packs to Assault move(Jump pack rules state that assaulting Jump pack units "walk" the final 6" charge).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
|