Switch Theme:

Cupped hands vs teclis.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut



england

Have recently had this come up not sure what to do in future.

Slann miscasts rolls a double one so want to pass it over, teclis is in sight so roll for cupped hands and successfully pass it over, now does teclis take the miscast or with his special rule does he ignore it

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He takes the miscast as he ignores only the first miscast HE makes. He didnt make this miscast, the slann did...
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

Agreed with Nos.

The FAQ mentions that the Slann rolls on the miscast table, then once the result is determined passes that onto the other caster. This is important because you are passing the results of the miscast over.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Scribe of Dhunia






It's as Nos said. The wording for it is that he ignores the first miscast he makes, but since he didn't make this one, he can't use his rule to ignore it.
   
Made in ca
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought




Victoria B.C.

Sorry to take this a little off subject but you get to use infernal puppet if you have it (WoC army) and would you roll it when the slaan miscasts or after he passes it on?

Overview of the WoC army book.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/388667.page#3171854
Ralin Givens is the chaos to my warriors. Ra Ra Ra go team awesome I mean chaos
Tzack Vahr Zhen's unholy followers.
all hail Howie Mandel deal or no deal it dosnt matter tzeentch wins
Khorne flakes part of a good breakfast when you plan to kill maim and burn all!!!

Do you have enough Priests do you?
 
   
Made in us
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior




Since you are passing on the result, I would say you have to use the Puppet first. The Puppet modifies the dice roll for the miscast result, where as Cupped Hands pass along the result. By the time you can use Cupped Hands, the window for the Puppet has closed.

I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
 
   
Made in ca
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought




Victoria B.C.

Ok thanks

Overview of the WoC army book.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/388667.page#3171854
Ralin Givens is the chaos to my warriors. Ra Ra Ra go team awesome I mean chaos
Tzack Vahr Zhen's unholy followers.
all hail Howie Mandel deal or no deal it dosnt matter tzeentch wins
Khorne flakes part of a good breakfast when you plan to kill maim and burn all!!!

Do you have enough Priests do you?
 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

the slann player chooses the order in which cupped hand and infernal puppet take place, and remember you can roll on infernal puppet but decide not to apply the result, and you can use it on you own miscasts
   
Made in ca
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought




Victoria B.C.

Dont you use puppet then the slaan tests cupped hands and then shenanigans happen and you can use on all miscasts good times.

Overview of the WoC army book.
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/388667.page#3171854
Ralin Givens is the chaos to my warriors. Ra Ra Ra go team awesome I mean chaos
Tzack Vahr Zhen's unholy followers.
all hail Howie Mandel deal or no deal it dosnt matter tzeentch wins
Khorne flakes part of a good breakfast when you plan to kill maim and burn all!!!

Do you have enough Priests do you?
 
   
Made in us
Killer Klaivex




Oceanside, CA

cowpow16 wrote:Dont you use puppet then the slaan tests cupped hands and then shenanigans happen and you can use on all miscasts good times.

It's all the same really.
If the slaan chooses, he'll make the puppet go 1st.
If you determine the final miscast, then pass, the puppet goes 1st.

There isn't a good reason for the Slaan player to pass the miscast and then let the chaos player make it less harmful. Either interpretation favors the Slaan letting/making the puppet go 1st.

-Matt

 thedarkavenger wrote:

So. I got a game with this list in. First game in at least 3-4 months.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You have to pass the miscast *result* over - if it can be modified furhter it isnt a result.
   
Made in us
Terrifying Wraith




Houston

+1 puppet first

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/07/05 14:56:24


Fantasy: 4000 - WoC, 1500 - VC, 1500 - Beastmen
40k: 2000 - White Scars
Hordes: 5/100 - Circle of Orboros
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





puppet would go first before cupped.

puppet modifies the roll on the table, then the slann player decides to cup.

if the slann players cups, there is no roll on the table to change with puppet because the effect is being moved not the roll.
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





I seem to recall there being something in the BRB or a FAQ which says whatever players turn it is decides the order which effects like these take place.

If that is the case then wouldn't it be possible to have puppet happen after cupped hands?

Also a result is a result regardless if it passes onto another model. The Slann rolls on the miscast table and after seeing the result decides to pass it on to the chaos sorc who then uses the puppet to modify the result.

nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed.
 
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

I seem to recall there being something in the BRB or a FAQ which says whatever players turn it is decides the order which effects like these take place.


It'd be rather difficult for the Slann to miscast during the Chaos players turn.

I think the Hellcannon can cause a miscast, but I am not sure on the wording of it, and if the Slann can pass that miscast over. In most cases, the Slann can decide what goes first, which usually means the puppet goes before cupped hands.


2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






As a Lizardmen player and a very large user of the Cupped hands, the rules state that the Slann resolves the miscast results, rerolling the results if they wish (if they took that discipline) and once the results are determined they hand off the results, there are no further rolls. The results are the results regardless.

Crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of the Eldar! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The hell cannon causes every wizard to miscast, result of "3" from memory.

You are handing off "the" result; if you modify after it is not "the" result.
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

I agree with your interpretation of the language Nos, but we all know GW's use of the English language is subpar at best.

Here is the FAQ Infreak was talking about

Q. There are several items that can affect miscasts, such as Cupped Hands of the Old Ones, Soul of Stone and Infernal Puppet. If more than one (or multiples of the same item) are present, in what order should the effects be applied? (p102)
A. The player whose turn is taking place chooses.

So in most cases (ie. the Slann naturally miscasts), the Lizardman player decides the order. In the rare case where a Hellcannon causes the miscast, the Chaos player may decide the order in which it goes.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






This is quite simple actually....let me break it down

1) You always roll on the miscast table in the main rule book with cupped hands
2) The Slann player determines the results of the miscast first, by their means available to them
3) Once determined they are handed off, there are zero further rolls and zero further items used


If you read the description of miscast items, or items that affect miscasts, they only come into play when the wizard who miscasts uses the item. So, if the Slann miscasts only the Slann gets to roll, and once determined the results are handed off on a 2+.

Crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of the Eldar! 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl






Southern New Hampshire

Crom wrote:If you read the description of miscast items, or items that affect miscasts, they only come into play when the wizard who miscasts uses the item. So, if the Slann miscasts only the Slann gets to roll, and once determined the results are handed off on a 2+.


...except the Infernal Puppet, which has become central to this discussion.

She/Her

"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln

Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.


DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Manfred von Drakken wrote:
Crom wrote:If you read the description of miscast items, or items that affect miscasts, they only come into play when the wizard who miscasts uses the item. So, if the Slann miscasts only the Slann gets to roll, and once determined the results are handed off on a 2+.


...except the Infernal Puppet, which has become central to this discussion.


Again the Cupped Hands states the Slann decides the roll and passes the results, results cannot be modified further. The Slann can modify the miscast all they want but once it is determined it is determined. So, if the other player had an infernal puppet they would have to use it before the Cupped hands roll took place, because modifying it further wouldn't be passing results. It states in the FAQ the Slann chooses what order the items go in as well.

I guess the Infernal Puppet item does state that any miscast can be affected. The OP is talking about Teclis's ability to ignore the first miscast every magic phase, but since Teclis isn't casting the spell that ability does not apply.

Crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of the Eldar! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I think the crux of the argument comes down to the definition of the "result".

Your lizards miscast, you roll a '3'. Is the '3' the result (owing to the fact that there may be other modifiers), or is "Dimensional Cascade" the result? That I suppose is where you'll have to agree/disagree with your opponent. If you pass off the '3', then the Chaos Player might well argue they want a '4' instead.

(Incidentally, I can't recall if there's even a difference between a 3 and a 4 on the table, but bear with my meaning.)
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

It wasn't the OP that asked about the WoC item. Its important to note that the Slann passes the results of the miscast over, as that bypasses Teclis' ability to ignore the effects of the first miscast he makes. He isn't making the miscast, so he still suffers due to cupped hands.

The next question by Cowpow was in regards to how Cupped Hands and Infernal Puppet interact. The FAQ makes this one easy. The player whose turn it is, decides the order. So if the Hellcannon causes the Slann to miscast, then Cupped Hands could go before Puppet if the WoC player decided to do so. If the Slann miscasts during his own phase (much more likely) then the Lizardman player decides the order in which the items are resolved.

Can't argue with an FAQ that spells it out that clearly.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Well the Cupped Hands rules clearly state you must resolve the miscast roll first, then pass it, but if it is not the Slann's turn the other player decides the order. I mean the Slann can take an ability to reroll on the miscast chart, so even after the miscast chart is modified by another item, the Slann could just reroll it, then pass it off. I would have to agree with Lehnsher about the interpretation of the FAQ, whoever turn it is decides the order


Crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of the Eldar! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lehnsherr - except as a one use only item, the WoC player cannot "know" that the LM player has Cupped Hands, and nothing allows you to ask if they do.
   
Made in ca
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





Mississauga

Lehnsherr - except as a one use only item, the WoC player cannot "know" that the LM player has Cupped Hands, and nothing allows you to ask if they do.


True. The WoC player could ask though after the Hellcannon mishap "Would you (meaning the LM player) like to modify the miscast before I use puppet?"

At which point the LM player would have to declare their use of Cupped Hands. If they say no, then the WoC player uses Puppet, and then the LM player elects to use Cupped Hands, I think they have broken both the spirit of the game, and the rule outlined in the FAQ.

I also agree with the idea that its ridiculous for a WoC player to have to ask a LM player every time the HC causes a mishap that question. It seems its just better for the game as a whole for the LM player to abide by the FAQ and declare use of the Cupped Hands in those cases.

2,500 - Discipline. Duty. Unyielding Will.
2,000 - He alone has the Emperor's soul in his blood.
2,500 - Order. Unity. Obedience.

 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

In my mind it goes like this:
1. Cannon causes miscast.
2. Players declare the use of miscast modifying gear.
3. Player who's turn it is decides the order of resolving them.
4. Duh, see what happens.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





Hm...well, as of now, I'm going to agree with Nosferatu on this. Here it is:

The current player chooses what order items resolve in. However, that only applies to items/abilities that could potentially go in any order, such as Soul of Stone and the Infernal Puppet. The Cupped Hands of the Old Ones, by necessity, must be used (or not) after these other items, since it does something different, and that something occurs after the something these other rules takes effect. Yes-yes?

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Warpsolution wrote:Hm...well, as of now, I'm going to agree with Nosferatu on this. Here it is:

The current player chooses what order items resolve in. However, that only applies to items/abilities that could potentially go in any order, such as Soul of Stone and the Infernal Puppet. The Cupped Hands of the Old Ones, by necessity, must be used (or not) after these other items, since it does something different, and that something occurs after the something these other rules takes effect. Yes-yes?


I would agree since the cupped hands passes the result, but in the FAQ it says the player who has the current turn decides.

Crush your enemies, see them driven before you and hear the lamentations of the Eldar! 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





Ah, but that's the thing, isn't it? The Cupped Hands affect one aspect of the game. The Puppet/Soul of Stone/etc. affect another.

If your opponent breaks from combat on your turn, you can't decide that the Battle Standard's Hold Your Ground! rule takes effect after the break test is resolved. That's not how it works.

I realize that the FaQ mentions those three item/abilities all in one shot, and then says "you pick the order", but here's the bottom line: You do pick the order. Within the preset order of the game. GW offered an example, and it was an incorrect one.

 
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: