Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 10:47:54
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Okay, hope this is the right section.
Can dedicated transports be selected by themselves?
Ultimately, can I select an Ork Trukk by itself? It's listed as a dedicated transport in the Troops section, so could I take one as a troops selection?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 10:52:16
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
No. What you can do is you can take a transport, and NOT mount any unit in it. ie, rain down empty drop pods.
But you still have to buy the original unit.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 10:56:29
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. You CANNOT select a DT by itself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 13:44:50
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Be careful with that, though. To buy a trukk, the mob that purchased it must be able to fit inside, leaving you with a 12 ork mob not inside a transport, which is pretty worthless.
-cgmckenzie
|
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 13:48:42
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Wait, so if i take a 6 man unit (12 man unit) of Grotesques, can they not fit into a 10 man Raider?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 14:02:28
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Are you really asking if 12-models (or take-up-spaces-as-12-models) can fit inside a transport with a 10-man transport capacity?
Really?
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 14:15:01
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Unhealthy Competition With Other Legions
York, North Yorkshire, England
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Wait, so if i take a 6 man unit (12 man unit) of Grotesques, can they not fit into a 10 man Raider?
In simple terms NO. 12 men cannot fit in a space designed for 10. You would only be able to take 5.
|
| Imperial Guard-1000pts | Eldar-1000pts | Space Wolves-1000ptsWIP|
--------------------------------------------
| High Elves-1500pts | Dwarfs-1500ptsWIP|
--------------------------------------------
| Trollbloods-35ptsWIP|
--------------------------------------------
http://projectpictor.blogspot.co.uk/ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 14:50:10
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
No. There is nothing saying you cannot buy like that, for example buying a Razorback (6) for a ten-man tac squad.
Considerations:
You cannot mount the squad in the transport
You cannot deploy the transport with ANY unit inside
You can only buy 1 DT per unit. EVER.
|
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 15:05:16
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Sam__theRelentless wrote:No. There is nothing saying you cannot buy like that, for example buying a Razorback (6) for a ten-man tac squad.
Space Marines are the exception (and maybe one or two other armies). Everyone else does have a restriction on buying DT.
Example: Eldar Guardians. "A Guardian squad including 12 models or less may be mounted in a Wave Serpent (see entry)."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 15:13:39
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Indeed, but that is a specific detail counteracting a general rule. Codex takes preference over rulebook.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 15:14:19
~1200
DT:90-S+G++M---B--I+Pw40k10+D+A+/mWD372R+T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 16:00:17
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
It may be a specific rule, but its one that every army other than Space Marines have.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 16:59:52
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord
|
Basically it works for the Space Marines in specific , because they are such special snowflakes.
Everyone else has rules that don't allow this kind of shenanigans..
And people wonder why Marines are disliked by non-marine players sometimes...
|
The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 17:01:34
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
Sam__theRelentless wrote:No. There is nothing saying you cannot buy like that, for example buying a Razorback (6) for a ten-man tac squad.
Considerations:
You cannot mount the squad in the transport
You cannot deploy the transport with ANY unit inside
You can only buy 1 DT per unit. EVER.
this is true.its actually a MEQ faq,you can buy more modals than fits and leacve them outside,and simply use it to transport an IC
marines are the exception because they can combat squad to fit.
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 19:28:59
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
The example I brought up was specific to the trukk question he asked earlier. Other armies may be useful on foot, but 12 boyz is not one of those.
-cgmckenzie
|
1500 pts
3000 pts
4-5k+pts
======Begin Dakka Geek Code======
DS:80-S+G++M+++B+IPw40k10#++D++A+++/hWD387R+++T(D)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code====== |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 22:24:03
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
I worded it wrong!
I meant to say can i buy a 12 man unit a 10 person transport and just have the Transport run around?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 22:29:28
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Bloodhorror wrote:I worded it wrong!
I meant to say can i buy a 12 man unit a 10 person transport and just have the Transport run around?
Read the rules on Page 91 for DE.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 22:41:34
Subject: Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Bloodhorror wrote:I worded it wrong!
I meant to say can i buy a 12 man unit a 10 person transport and just have the Transport run around?
And the answer is... It depends on the codex and the unit entry.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 23:03:50
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
if the transport has a rule saying thast the squad must be embarked at deployment,then no because they would not be able to.
otherwise yes,as in 20 boys for a trukk or 10 man non combating squad squad in a razorback
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/04 23:23:31
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Deadshot wrote:if the transport has a rule saying thast the squad must be embarked at deployment,then no because they would not be able to.
otherwise yes,as in 20 boys for a trukk or 10 man non combating squad squad in a razorback
It's a good idea to read the rest of the thread before replying.
20-Boy Ork Mobs can not buy trucks.
It's nothing to do with rules requiring squads to be embarked. It's to do with whether or not the unit entry limits transports based on squad size... which most (if not all) non-Marine codexes do.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/08/04 23:23:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 00:11:40
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Courageous Space Marine Captain
|
i didnt know that.i thought it was take a trukk but dont get in untill there are 10 left
|
I'm celebrating 8 years on Dakka Dakka!
I started an Instagram! Follow me at Deadshot Miniatures!
DR:90+S++G+++M+B+IPw40k08#-D+++A+++/cwd363R+++T(Ot)DM+
Check out my Deathwatch story, Aftermath in the fiction section!
Credit to Castiel for banner. Thanks Cas!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2011/08/05 02:47:24
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports question
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
You would have known that if you read the thread, there's several posts saying exactly that...
|
|
 |
 |
|