Switch Theme:

Do prows count as part of the hull?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





Howdy YMDC, I've got a question for you.

I was wondering if the prow of a raider (that spiky bit all the way at the front) counts as part of the hull for disembarking, LoS and all other intents and purposes? I have always played it this way, but as I've been building my Wracks a pair of fly-ass rides, I found myself pondering on this for a very good reason. Shock Prows, an upgrade that Raiders can take, are notably longer than the regular prow provided for Raiders. I've taken shock prows on my Wrack carrying Raiders for the purposes of tank-shocking enemy troops into tight formations to make full use of my liquifier guns. If the prow does count as hull, it could be misconstrued as modeling for an advantage as the longer model has a number of advantages over shorter prows, such as having more places to disembark troops or a longer range with the template weapons as they're aimed from the hull of the vehicle. That's why I'm wondering if the prow is in fact part of the hull of the ship, or should it be ignored like the BRB says to do for gun barrels, antenna and decorative banners. Does the fact that it can be upgraded with a piece of wargear factor into the equation?
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






This is similar to the deffrolla argument, in that people wonder if you can "disembark" from the end of the rolla. Our FLGS plays it as a "No you can't", as it's not actually part of the hull of the vehicle.

The key is to be consistent - if you want it to count as the front for disembarking etc, then you must also agree to it being in range for weapons/melta etc.

Please check out my video battle report series! 50 games in 50 weeks!

Part 1: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLF20FCCD695F810C2&feature=edit_ok
Part 2: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL36388662C07B319B&feature=view_all
Part 3: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLrPdNlJMge2eUv55aJag2cMj4znP8YfOT&feature=view_all
Part 4: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxrTKHXULnQ&list=PLrPdNlJMge2cN6_lo1RbXvbvFZbto5wXB

=====Begin Dakka Geek Code=====
DQ: 80+S+++G+++MB+I+Pw40k98#+D+++A++++/cWD-R+++T(G)DM+
======End Dakka Geek Code======
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

This has been debated before, but I'll be darned if I can find the thread...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

I would argue that it'd not decorative, like antennas gun barrels and such. Therefore it's part of the Hull and it takes all the good and bad of that aspect. You measure movements from it deploy using it as the Fran of the vehicle, and enemy's can shoot at it use it for melta and raid fire range and so on.

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Florida

I would say no, just because I can't see a line of DE playing a balancing act running off the prow to disembark.

This is of course strictly from a logic stand point though

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/05 02:29:17


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





DarthSpader wrote:I would argue that it'd not decorative, like antennas gun barrels and such.

Antennas and gun barrels are not hull.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

That's whats I'm saying. Prows are hull, not decorative like antennas gun barrels etc (as those are decorative and not hull). iPad auto correct ftw I guess : /

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Like I said, I know this topic has been brought up before (more specifically the reinforced prow) and IIRC it turned into something like a 5 or 6 page debate. Very interesting read to say the least.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ha ha, I found it, with minimal searching, here's the other thread...
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/379404.page

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/05 03:23:46


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Shas'o Commanding the Hunter Kadre





Richmond, VA

Wargear isn't hull, thus you cannot disembark from it, nor can you disembark from decorative elements. You should always confirm what you and your opponent consider hull before games if there is room for discussion.

Desert Hunters of Vior'la The Purge Iron Hands Adepts of Pestilence Tallaran Desert Raiders Grey Knight Teleport Assault Force
Lt. Coldfire wrote:Seems to me that you should be refereeing and handing out red cards--like a boss.

 Peregrine wrote:
SCREEE I'M A SEAGULL SCREE SCREEEE!!!!!
 
   
Made in us
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





lol, we had this exact debate in my last game.

we rolled off on it, but at the end of the game we decided it wasn't.
Argument was if he wanted to consider it hull for disembark and movement it would logically be hull for shooting and cover.

we both basically agreed it wasn't "hull" it was an upgrade so we didn't count, but ymmv

You love it you slags!
Blood Ravens 1500 pts 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






I've always used the prow as part of the hull. Though I've never used the shock prow on it since I noticed it was visibly longer.

Prows themselves are just part of the model and not really decoration but a shock prow is wargear and kinda falls into the deff rolla arguement.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2011/11/05 05:25:34


 
   
Made in ca
Lethal Lhamean





somewhere in the webway

But the 1/8 inch difference doesn't make that much of an impact does it? So really what's the difference between standard prow and shock prow?

Melevolence wrote:

On a side note: Your profile pic both makes me smile and terrified

 Savageconvoy wrote:
.. Crap your profile picture is disturbing....




 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

I've always played the prow/Deffrolla as part of the Hull. It gives my BW's a huge side arc to shoot at too. I've never had a complaint about it, other than the fact they can't Weapon Destroy a Deffrolla

   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

The problem with using in as part of the hull is that you can shift the model around on the ball-jointed flight stand thereby hiding part of "the hull" by dipping or elevating it as you see fit.

The way I play it, is that it's just decoration.

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Happyjew wrote:This has been debated before, but I'll be darned if I can find the thread...


That's because the scars still haven't healed. It was a .... uh .... "spirited" debate.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Ahh, it was a very, ummm interesting read, I remember that much about it...THose were the good days. 7 page arguments on whether a piece that is what half an inch longer? should count as hull or not...OH GOD!! FLASHBACKS!!!

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator





You know the only way I can think to solve this is to look at instructions to build the Raider and see if those imply if the Prow is required to the construction of the model or not but I will be damned if I can find them since I built my raider.

I have played it as part of the hull so far but this thread has me questioning what I have been doing.

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Saiisil wrote:You know the only way I can think to solve this is to look at instructions to build the Raider and see if those imply if the Prow is required to the construction of the model or not but I will be damned if I can find them since I built my raider.

I have played it as part of the hull so far but this thread has me questioning what I have been doing.


The raider kit comes with a "shock" prow and several normal Prows, Hull no doubt, nothing decorative about it imo, not like its a banner or anything.

Also to the point about angling them on their stand in a game, that is disallowed by the BGB, nowhere is permission given to change a models position on the stand

   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

The raider doesn't come with a shock prow.

It only comes on the ravager spre, though people generally only want it for raiders..

My POV is that if you get to shoot at it i get to measure from it

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Heh kinda funny, I mean it does come with I think 3 prow options than the shock prow.

So the raiders come with 3 with no SP option I guess, dunno they're in boxes upstairs.


   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Yup.

My ravagers get regular prows, as it's unlikely i'll be wanting to plow them into anyone if i can help it.

My raiders on other other hand..

*edit for spelling*

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2011/11/06 05:15:31


The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in sa
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

The way we look at it in our club is this.
Would you allow the prow/deathrolla to be deployed over the deployment line?
If you're measuring to/from it, then it's hull, and fair game for disembarkation.

We found that ignoring them caused too much silliness.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: